Use the status of electricity as input for logics

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
Post Reply
Eru_Ascar
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 11:04 pm
Contact:

Use the status of electricity as input for logics

Post by Eru_Ascar »

Hi,

I want to use the electricity (power) as an input for the logics.

So I want to turn on a backup system when electricity production is below a certain percentage. But I do not get the electricity to show up as input for the calculators....

Any sugestions are apreciated!

Thank you a lot!

Best regards, Eru

Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 8346
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Use the status of electricity as input for logics

Post by Loewchen »

Use the charge of an accumulator as input.

Zavian
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1642
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: Use the status of electricity as input for logics

Post by Zavian »

You can connect accumulators to the circuit network. Then you can turn on backup generators (and/or turn off sections of factory) when ever your accumulators drop too low.

Serenity
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1003
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 6:16 am
Contact:

Re: Use the status of electricity as input for logics

Post by Serenity »

Make you sure you use an SR-latch for that so you get a hysteresis. Otherwise everything will flicker on and off

https://wiki.factorio.com/Tutorial:Circ ... er_version

For steam backup power specifically I don't use a power switch like in that example though. But just switch on the water pumps instead

Eru_Ascar
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 11:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Use the status of electricity as input for logics

Post by Eru_Ascar »

Hi!

A late "Happy New Year" to you all!

Thank you a lot! That helps me a lot!

Best regards, Eru-Ascar

DFPercush
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2020 4:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Use the status of electricity as input for logics

Post by DFPercush »

Necro posting because this came up in search results. There is a way to detect power instantly (within a couple of frames), without waiting for accumulators to charge. If you use a basic counter circuit (by hooking up an arithmetic combinator's output to its own input along with a constant 1 on the same wire), you can delay that signal through another arithmetic combinator which multiplies by -1. As long as power is applied to the counter, it will stay 1 ahead. However, when it stops counting due to power loss, the signal will remain at a fixed value, and the second combinator will have a chance to catch up and negate it. Those two signals, positive and frame-lagged negative, must be fed on separate colored wires (to avoid oscillation) into a final logic combi which detects [anything > 0]. You can also use [everything <= 0] if you need to detect the off state as well.

Example blueprint string:

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

Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Help”