Simple circuit problem

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
Karelipoeg
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter

Simple circuit problem

Post by Karelipoeg »

Hey,

I'm kinda new to circuits.
The situation: There are 2 chests with inserter between them facing from left to right.
What I want to happen: When the chest on the left has certain amount of resources in it (400 on the picture), the inserter takes the extra resources and puts them to the other chest.
What I tried: I connected the chest on the left with a red wire to the inserter, and selected condition as " > 400 ".
The problem: The inserter does not start working, unless I choose the certain type of item to count within the condition. The thing is that this chest will have various resources mixed.
The question: How can I make the inserter work while there is more than a certain number of resources in the chest, regardless of the resource type?

Thanks for help!
Attachments
2017-12-21.png
2017-12-21.png (500.76 KiB) Viewed 1803 times

impetus maximus
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Re: Simple circuit problem

Post by impetus maximus »

wire the chest on the left to the input of an arithmetic combinator.
input each + 0, output E or whatever signal you want.
this will total the items and give you a signal to use.

wire the output to the inserter enable if E or your signal is > 400.

Engimage
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Post by Engimage »

Alternatively if your chest contains various resources but only one at a time (say this is universal design for a buffer) than you can use *(Any) > 400 which will trigger whenever any resource in a chest is > 400 (as opposed to a total number of mixed resources)

Karelipoeg
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter

Post by Karelipoeg »