How do I possibly get to Power Armor MK2?

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
Xterminator
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter

How do I possibly get to Power Armor MK2?

Post by Xterminator »

So I already have power armor Mk1, but I really don't know how I can possibly get enough alien artifacts required to even research MK2, sense it takes 450 alien science packs... I'm still somewhat new to the game, so maybe I'm missing something, or some technique, but I don't see I can kill all these huge bases with any of the current technology I have.

Here is a picture of my map, so you can see what I'm talking about:
http://imgur.com/fDL6Gr1
And a picture of my current Power Armor set up:
http://imgur.com/6OxukRW

So is there some special technique, or power armor setup that would make it possible to even approach those bases, or am I just screwed? lol
Thanks!
Image Image Image

bulldog98
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter

Re: How do I possibly get to Power Armor MK2?

Post by bulldog98 »

Get your self an fusion reactor, they are way better than the solar panels.

And upgrade the batteries.

Also I suggest getting rid of the night vision and only attack biters at day.

And get yourself Capsules and an high follower robot count.

Turtle
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter

Post by Turtle »

bulldog98 wrote:Also I suggest getting rid of the night vision and only attack biters at day.
That's a personal laser defense, not night vision.

Bleda
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter

Post by Bleda »

exactly. build a fusion reactor (hope you have enough artifacts for that) and as many mk2 energy shields as possible. Get a combat shotgun and piercing shotgun rounds. Get your follower robot count up to level 3 or 4 and build a factory for destroyer capsules. they are strong against the big biters. poison capsules are strong against worms.