change nickname

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
Post Reply
realm174
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2016 12:32 pm
Contact:

change nickname

Post by realm174 »

Hello all,

not too sure which category to put this in.. Technical Help, but it's not preventing me from playing the game, Gameplay Help, but it's not affecting gameplay... so feel free to move where appropriate.

I am attempting to change my nickname in game. Already changed on steam, already changed on Factorio.com, however, in Factorio, previously saved games still have my old nickname, and new games have my new nickname. Any way to fix the old save game to show my new nickname? I've tried loading the game, go into options (my new nickname already shows there) saved game, quit factorio, reload, and old nick still shows.. Any idea?

thanks!

daniel34
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2761
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2014 7:30 am
Contact:

Re: change nickname

Post by daniel34 »

You can change the name displayed ingame for a specific save using this console command, replace yourname with your desired name:

Code: Select all

/c game.player.name = "yourname"
Important: This will disable achievements. Also, if you never used a console command on that savegame before you'll need to enter it twice (the first time it only displays a warning).
quick links: log file | graphical issues | wiki

realm174
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2016 12:32 pm
Contact:

Re: change nickname

Post by realm174 »

Worked perfectly, thanks!!

yukinyaa
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 5:14 pm
Contact:

Re: change nickname

Post by yukinyaa »

This does not work anymore since LuaPlayer::name is readonly.
Is there a another way?

Xorimuth
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 343
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2019 9:39 pm
Contact:

Re: change nickname

Post by Xorimuth »

yukinyaa wrote:
Wed Nov 24, 2021 8:17 am
This does not work anymore since LuaPlayer::name is readonly.
Is there a another way?
viewtopic.php?p=480321#p480321 suggests /swap-players

Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Help”