Train Network Help "No Path"

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
tbahr4
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter

Train Network Help "No Path"

Post by tbahr4 »

Hi! I'm new to this train network stuff and I need some help with using two trains on one track. I understand that train stops need to be on the right, but I can't understand the concept of signals. So, I get the "no path" error.

So, whenever the train starts moving to A2/B2, I want it to go to the top-half of the of the tracks. When it returns, I want it to return through the bottom of the track without interfering with the other train.
Thanks for the help!

timothy_johnson
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter

Re: Train Network Help "No Path"

Post by timothy_johnson »

The chain signal and the regular rail signal look at the tracks ahead differently. The regular signal just checks to see if there is a train before the next signal, whether that next signal be a chain or regular signal. The chain signal checks to see if there is a train before the next signal OR if the next signal is red. In either case, the chain signal will be red. If the chain signal checks ahead and there are multiple paths, then it will be green if they are all open, blue if at least one is closed, and red if they are all closed. Generally, you want chain signals in and before intersections and regular signals everywhere else.

As for your design, if you put a chain signal before any junction and a regular signal immediately after any junction, it should fix the problem.

EDIT: Also, I assume you have engines on the trains facing both directions. Trains don't automatically reverse in Factorio.

twepy
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter

Post by twepy »

To start with the basics. Signals have two functions, keeping trains from colliding and a less obvious function it dictates the drive direction on a block.
RailwayBasics.png
RailwayBasics.png (213.61 KiB) Viewed 19428 times