How can i detect an inserter or pump is working ?

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
Post Reply
erolerme
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 11:51 pm
Contact:

How can i detect an inserter or pump is working ?

Post by erolerme »

I want to use circuit network. I have some ideas. But how can i detect a machine working or not. Pump and inserter is primary for now. Thank you..

User avatar
DaveMcW
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3700
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:06 am
Contact:

Re: How can i detect an inserter or pump is working ?

Post by DaveMcW »

You can't. Maybe in 0.13 next week.

erolerme
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 11:51 pm
Contact:

Re: How can i detect an inserter or pump is working ?

Post by erolerme »

DaveMcW wrote:You can't. Maybe in 0.13 next week.

Thank you.. ;)

Neotix
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 9:56 pm
Contact:

Re: How can i detect an inserter or pump is working ?

Post by Neotix »

You can detect that but it require a lot of effort, space and materials.

Frightning
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 807
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 5:27 pm
Contact:

Re: How can i detect an inserter or pump is working ?

Post by Frightning »

What exactly do you want to control with the circuit network? Maybe it can be done, but perhaps not in the way you were expecting?

erolerme
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 11:51 pm
Contact:

Re: How can i detect an inserter or pump is working ?

Post by erolerme »

Neotix wrote:You can detect that but it require a lot of effort, space and materials.
can you give me an example ?

Neotix
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 9:56 pm
Contact:

Re: How can i detect an inserter or pump is working ?

Post by Neotix »

Inserter is working when he move items. If he put item into smart chest and next inserter will take it, it will cause a pulse signal. That pulse signal can be used to detect if inserter is working for example by reseting timer.
Image

One problem is that after each 9942 hours when inserter in not moving it will send one false signal because of integer overflow but i think that it's not really a problem :P

erolerme
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 11:51 pm
Contact:

Re: How can i detect an inserter or pump is working ?

Post by erolerme »

Neotix wrote:Inserter is working when he move items. If he put item into smart chest and next inserter will take it, it will cause a pulse signal. That pulse signal can be used to detect if inserter is working for example by reseting timer.
Image

One problem is that after each 9942 hours when inserter in not moving it will send one false signal because of integer overflow but i think that it's not really a problem :P
hahhaah hard solution :D

Neotix
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 9:56 pm
Contact:

Re: How can i detect an inserter or pump is working ?

Post by Neotix »

I didn't sad that it will be nice and compact, just possible.

User avatar
stellatedHex
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2016 1:39 am
Contact:

Re: How can i detect an inserter or pump is working ?

Post by stellatedHex »

Actually, it's much easier than that: just route the chest's signal through a delay and check if they are equal, then (optional) invert the signal. This will generate a pulse every time the inserter moves something into or out of the chest. If you need a continuous signal, there are numerous ways to convert a pulse into one of those.

Code: Select all

            | ADD: item+0 |--+
         +--| OUT: blue   |  |
[chest]--+                   +--| IF: item=blue |  | IF: blue=0  |
         +----------------------| OUT: 1 blue   |--| OUT: 1 blue |--
stellatedHexahedron wrote:I'm the kind of person who makes Conway's Game of Life in Factorio, but forgets what they are doing halfway through typing their username.

Blurb
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 12:34 pm
Contact:

Re: How can i detect an inserter or pump is working ?

Post by Blurb »

A pump is always on, unless hooked up to the circuit network - in which case it relies on a logic condition that can easily be checked.
For it to work, there must be a liquid on the input side and room for the liquid on the output side.
These above "liquid criteria" can be verified by using liquid storage tanks (unless you're crazy enough to pump multiple liquids in one pipe).

By placing a storage tank immediately before and after the pump of interest, one can measure the "liquid criteria" and can conclude the pump is working if:
  • Input tank has liquid level>0
  • Output tank has liquid level<2500
  • Pump has power
  • Optional pump conditional evaluates as true

Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Help”