Dynamic Train Stop activation/deactivation

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
Steff7744
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter

Dynamic Train Stop activation/deactivation

Post by Steff7744 »

Hi there, I was wondering for a week now how could I make my idea true. I was looking through youtube but I couldn't find something similar.

So... I've got an idea about train stop circuit network/combinators stopping. I want to make my train stop to activate when my chest warehouse have requested items BELOW certain threshold then stay activated until it reaches upper limit and after that activate only when it reaches lower limit, for example:

We have upper threshold 10k, lower threshold 1k
1) If we are below 1k we activate train stop until we hit 10k
2) After that we deactivate train stop
3) We wait until we are below 1k and then activate train stop
4) Repeat

I don't know if it's even possible to do something like this , I am really new to circuit network and combinators. If you could tell me how to do it I would be really happy!

Nosferatu
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter

Re: Dynamic Train Stop activation/deactivation

Post by Nosferatu »

What you need for that is a SR latch
https://wiki.factorio.com/Tutorial:Circ ... er_version

But before we go into details:
Why?
Deactivating and activating is not recommend.
It's better to calculate how many train loads are missing and set the train limit through that.
If it's full it will be 0 and no more train will be summoned.

FuryoftheStars
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Post by FuryoftheStars »

Nosferatu wrote: ↑
Thu Nov 30, 2023 1:01 pm
To add onto this, I believe one of the devs said something a while back about removing this ability with 2.0.
My Mods: Classic Factorio Basic Oil Processing | Sulfur Production from Oils | Wood to Oil Processing | Infinite Resources - Normal Yield | Tree Saplings (Redux) | Alien Biomes Tweaked | Restrictions on Artificial Tiles

mmmPI
Smart Inserter