Simple Questions and Short Answers

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
Tertius
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 903
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2021 5:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Post by Tertius »

Nope. You need to make new rail blueprints. The curve radius has changed and the curve pieces have changed, so there are vastly more options to construct rails, switches and often better signal placement at intersections.

User avatar
picklock
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 208
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2019 6:49 am
Contact:

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Post by picklock »

You will have to rebuilt all your blueprints for rails. the rails from V1.1 are not compatible with V2.0.
See Frieday Facts #377 - New new rails .
... As you can probably guess, the new rail curves will be incompatible with the old ones. Savegames from 1.1 can be opened and trains will still run on previously built rails just like normal, but you won't be able to construct the old rails at all anymore. ...
My Mods: Picklocks Fusion Power | Picklocks Inserter | Picklocks Lithium Polymer Accumulator | Picklocks rocket silo stats | Picklocks Set Inventory Filters | Picklocks QuickBar Import/Export | Picklocks Nauvis Cliff-Explosives

Chocofugelicious
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2024 11:47 am
Contact:

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Post by Chocofugelicious »

Hey guys, having trouble figuring out the set recipe function in an assembly machine. I'm trying to use one assembly machine to do "empty water barrel" and "fill water barrel", the problem is the orientation of the pipe keeps flipping whenever the set recipe changes.

https://streamable.com/7b2gqs

At first I thought it was just the default orientation of pipes to always face downwards so I tried the other way, but unfortunately it just flips to the other side regardless.

Can anyone help with this? It would be great if it can maintain the pipe orientation.

Thanks.

Cubickman
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2024 9:08 am
Contact:

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Post by Cubickman »

Hello,

I'd like to make a logic system based on time. To do this, I've tried to make a timer that sends a signal every x seconds. I found the number of ticks per second on the wiki (60/s) and built my system.
Unfortunately, there's a problem that I can't work out what's causing it.

I've put the blueprint here. The system simply works in two parts.

The bottom part increments 1 for each tick up to 60, then resets to 0 (by subtracting 60) and sends a signal to the top part on each loop. This basically converts ticks into seconds.

The top part works in exactly the same way, this time counting seconds rather than ticks. It's supposed to reset every 10s. Except that when it reaches 10, instead of doing -10 to go back to 0, it does 2x -10 to go back to -10... (I tested this to be sure that the problem was really there by setting -5, the result is 0, i.e. 2x -5).
I don't understand why the comparator (surrounded by the walls) that tests if the value is 10 outputs its signal 2x instead of once. It's configured like the lower one and the lower one works...

I suppose it's obviously more likely that I've done something wrong than that it's a bug, but I really don't understand what's wrong.

Thanks in advance if anyone can find out why it's not working the way I want it to.


User avatar
BlueTemplar
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2878
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 2:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Post by BlueTemplar »

Chocofugelicious wrote:
Thu Nov 14, 2024 12:02 pm
Hey guys, having trouble figuring out the set recipe function in an assembly machine. I'm trying to use one assembly machine to do "empty water barrel" and "fill water barrel", the problem is the orientation of the pipe keeps flipping whenever the set recipe changes.

https://streamable.com/7b2gqs

At first I thought it was just the default orientation of pipes to always face downwards so I tried the other way, but unfortunately it just flips to the other side regardless.

Can anyone help with this? It would be great if it can maintain the pipe orientation.

Thanks.
Which version of the game ?
This seems to be something that has changed in the latest experimental version :
120686
BobDiggity (mod-scenario-pack)

r3nt5ch3r
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2024 12:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Post by r3nt5ch3r »

Cubickman wrote:
Thu Nov 14, 2024 3:17 pm
I don't understand why the comparator (surrounded by the walls) that tests if the value is 10 outputs its signal 2x instead of once. It's configured like the lower one and the lower one works...
The red arrow (output) goes directly through because it's all on the green wire. Then the yellow comes again, because of the loop.
But even when decoupling this output (red) the blue way takes multiple ticks to process and until then the memory cell (yellow) will still send it's looped value.
So there are multiple issues. I recommend using the editor and single tick stepping (Numpad ,) - very useful for debugging such cases.
grafik.png
grafik.png (483.2 KiB) Viewed 133 times
Why not using a simple decider counting up to 600? Then divide it by 60 to get the seconds?
grafik.png
grafik.png (43.96 KiB) Viewed 133 times

Cubickman
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2024 9:08 am
Contact:

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Post by Cubickman »

r3nt5ch3r wrote:
Thu Nov 14, 2024 4:03 pm
Cubickman wrote:
Thu Nov 14, 2024 3:17 pm
I don't understand why the comparator (surrounded by the walls) that tests if the value is 10 outputs its signal 2x instead of once. It's configured like the lower one and the lower one works...
The red arrow (output) goes directly through because it's all on the green wire. Then the yellow comes again, because of the loop.
But even when decoupling this output (red) the blue way takes multiple ticks to process and until then the memory cell (yellow) will still send it's looped value.
So there are multiple issues. I recommend using the editor and single tick stepping (Numpad ,) - very useful for debugging such cases.
grafik.png

Why not using a simple decider counting up to 600? Then divide it by 60 to get the seconds?
grafik.png
Thanks for your reply.
It's true that you can make it work with a single loop that counts 600 ticks, or as I did by replacing the -10 with a -5 :)

But I'm curious to understand why it didn't work as I thought and I'm not sure I understood your answer.

Why does the ‘blue way’ take several ticks to make, whereas in the bottom part it works in 1 tick?

r3nt5ch3r
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2024 12:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Post by r3nt5ch3r »

Cubickman wrote:
Thu Nov 14, 2024 4:51 pm
Why does the ‘blue way’ take several ticks to make, whereas in the bottom part it works in 1 tick?
The bottom part uses +1 in the memory cell, thus on each tick the value will be different. This ensures that your subtraction only happens once. The roundtrip itself also takes multiple ticks there.
The top part has +0 in the memory cell, leading to the issue that the value stays the same over multiple ticks.

Tertius
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 903
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2021 5:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Post by Tertius »

Every combinator has 1 tick latency between input and output. You can interpret it in a way that it needs 1 tick for a combinator to read the input, evaluate the condition or operation, and output the result. So a combinator with a direct loopback from output to input has 1 tick latency between the previous and the next state. If you add more combinators in a loop to handle some value from a direct loopback, it takes one additional tick for every added combinator for that modified value reach the original combinator. You even have 3 combinators in a loop, so this is what happens:
tick 0: the input value in the "+" combinator is evaluated and the input for the "=" combinator created
tick 1: this value is evaluated by the "=" combinator and the input for the "*" combinator created
tick 2: this value is evaluated by the "*" combinator and the input for the "+" combinator created
tick 3: this value is evaluated by the "+" combinator, which increased the counter value by 3 in the meantime because of its direct loopback.

The common counter is implemented with a decider combinator with input and output connected. Feed a C=1 for increment, as condition set C < [limit], as output set C=input value. As long as the condition is true, C is looped back and so increases. If the condition is not true any more, because C increased over the limit, C isn't output any more, so it cannot be looped back to the input, so the counter forgets its value and starts again with 0, which makes the condition true again, and the incrementing starts again.

Chocofugelicious
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2024 11:47 am
Contact:

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Post by Chocofugelicious »

BlueTemplar wrote:
Thu Nov 14, 2024 3:26 pm
Chocofugelicious wrote:
Thu Nov 14, 2024 12:02 pm
Hey guys, having trouble figuring out the set recipe function in an assembly machine. I'm trying to use one assembly machine to do "empty water barrel" and "fill water barrel", the problem is the orientation of the pipe keeps flipping whenever the set recipe changes.

https://streamable.com/7b2gqs

At first I thought it was just the default orientation of pipes to always face downwards so I tried the other way, but unfortunately it just flips to the other side regardless.

Can anyone help with this? It would be great if it can maintain the pipe orientation.

Thanks.
Which version of the game ?
This seems to be something that has changed in the latest experimental version :
120686
I'm playing current stable version 2.0.15.

I just tried the experimental version 2.0.17 but the pipe orientation still flips as it switches. Would this be considered a bug or a feature? I'm wondering if I should report it.

Thanks

Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Help”