Why won't my space platform interrupt end?

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
boingboingsplat
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2024 6:35 pm
Contact:

Why won't my space platform interrupt end?

Post by boingboingsplat »

I've set up my space platforms to entirely work off of interrupts. Each platform has a planet as the only station assigned to it, and interrupts for each other planet to send them there when any request from that planet is empty. This has mostly worked fine... until setting up my Aquilo platform. Since my Science platform hadn't been upgraded to make the trip to Aquilo, I instead set an interrupt so that once it's full of Cryogenic Science, it leaves Aquilo to go drop it off at Nauvis. But for some reason... it never leaves once it gets back to Nauvis and has emptied its cargo.

Image

At first I thought it was because it was being kept busy exporting calcite and tungsten to Nauvis, so I added a request for just 1 of each from Nauvis to prevent it from sending any down to the planet. For the sake of troubleshooting, I also disabled all logistic groups besides the two shown in this screenshot. However, it still doesn't leave. Even if I set an Inactivity condition instead of a Cargo = 0 condition, it won't leave. Why not? All my resupply interrupts function how I would expect them to.
Muche
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 623
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 6:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Why won't my space platform interrupt end?

Post by Muche »

What are the interrupt's conditions?
One common mistake is that the interrupt is triggering immediately upon completion. For easy detection of that adding a 1s passed wait condition helps (it will show clearly that it is being repeatedly fulfilled, which other kinds of conditions might not show).
boingboingsplat
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2024 6:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Why won't my space platform interrupt end?

Post by boingboingsplat »

Muche wrote: Wed Dec 18, 2024 8:19 pm What are the interrupt's conditions?
One common mistake is that the interrupt is triggering immediately upon completion. For easy detection of that adding a 1s passed wait condition helps (it will show clearly that it is being repeatedly fulfilled, which other kinds of conditions might not show).
Image

Here's the interrupt conditions. It leaves Aquilo just fine, it just never leaves Nauvis unless I manually tell it to go somewhere else.

When I add a time passed condition... it just repeatedly filled over and over again, like you said. I'm not sure what that means.
robot256
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1049
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2019 1:52 am
Contact:

Re: Why won't my space platform interrupt end?

Post by robot256 »

boingboingsplat wrote: Wed Dec 18, 2024 8:34 pm When I add a time passed condition... it just repeatedly filled over and over again, like you said. I'm not sure what that means.
That means the interrupt is retriggering continuously when the platform tries to leave Nauvis. You need to make it so the interrupt condition and the leave-Nauvis condition are mutually exclusive. For example add "Cryo science > 0" to the interrupt condition, so that it can never be true when the leave-Nauvis condition of "Cryo science = 0" is true.
boingboingsplat
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2024 6:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Why won't my space platform interrupt end?

Post by boingboingsplat »

robot256 wrote: Wed Dec 18, 2024 8:57 pm
boingboingsplat wrote: Wed Dec 18, 2024 8:34 pm When I add a time passed condition... it just repeatedly filled over and over again, like you said. I'm not sure what that means.
That means the interrupt is retriggering continuously when the platform tries to leave Nauvis. You need to make it so the interrupt condition and the leave-Nauvis condition are mutually exclusive. For example add "Cryo science > 0" to the interrupt condition, so that it can never be true when the leave-Nauvis condition of "Cryo science = 0" is true.
Aha! So the "Request satisfied" condition is considered true whenever the platform isn't at the planet with that request. This is very odd to me, but I guess it explains what's going on.

Adding Cryo science > 0 to the interrupt conditions does the trick. Thanks!
Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Help”