Train Fuel Consumption Priority and Interrupts

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
feng
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 1:17 pm
Contact:

Train Fuel Consumption Priority and Interrupts

Post by feng »

Hey,

i'm playing around with train refueling and schedule interrupts. I just noticed that it seems not to work as expected when using mixed fuels or upgrading fuels.

Lets say we start a train with 3 stacks of wood (fuel slots A/B/C) and the refuel interrupt condition is "All Locomotives (Fuel Parameter) < 50"
To my observation a train burns its fuel always from the most-left fuel slot.

After some time the fuel will look like this:
Slot A = <empty>
Slot B = <empty>
Slot C = Wood (49)

Then the interrupt kicks in and the train goes refueling. Lets say we refuel now with coal.
The train will leave fuel station like this:
Slot A = Coal (50)
Slot B = Coal (50)
Slot C = Wood (49)

First Problem occurs: The refuel interrupt condition is still true, as the "Fuel Parameter" seems to check every fuel slot separately and not total fuel per locomotive. I can understand why, because the wildcard should exchange itself with 1 symbol of matched fuel. But unfortunately we cant use the other signals like Everything / Anything / Each.

But ok, lets change our refuel interrupt condition to fix that to: "Wood < 50 AND Coal < 20". Its working, but already feels very bad.

After some time fuel will look like this:
Slot A = <empty>
Slot B = Coal (19)
Slot C = Wood (49)

Interrupt condition will be true again and train goes refueling.
But this time with solid fuel:
Slot A = Solid Fuel (50)
Slot B = Coal (19)
Slot C = Wood (49)
....
And our interrupt condition will be again always true, so fixing it again: "Wood < 50 AND Coal < 20 AND Solid Fuel < 10"..... :shock:

As you see that can't be the solution. Coal and Wood will also never be burnt by the train as it refuels before (beginning at the most-left slot).

So I would expect 2 changes: Burning fuel starts on the most-right fuel slot, while refueling on the most-left slot and please let us use signals like Everything / Anything / Each on Fuel Conditions.

How did you solve that "mixed fuel" problem?

P.S.: Unloading old fuel everytime manually is not a suitable workaround :lol:
RiverRob
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 3:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Train Fuel Consumption Priority and Interrupts

Post by RiverRob »

Same issue here. Hope someone figures out a clean solution, because I haven't so far.
Mightyloly
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2024 1:34 am
Contact:

Re: Train Fuel Consumption Priority and Interrupts

Post by Mightyloly »

Hey there, I may have come up with a solution with your issue.
I hope you were not expecting a circuit-less solution.

Inserters will insert on Slot A thru C.
Inserters will take from Slot C thru A.

Therefore, using this logic, you should be able to achieve this solution with this blueprint:

Code: Select all

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
Image:
Image
Gif:
Image
Here's what my interrupt looks like.
Image
Kalanndok
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 9:07 am
Contact:

Re: Train Fuel Consumption Priority and Interrupts

Post by Kalanndok »

What about removing it automatically?
Like when at the refuel stop that puts in solid fuel just remove every wood and coal fuel (use filters on inserters)?

If you configure the interrupt well you even get a fleetwide fuel update with every train coming in to switch fuel.
feng
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 1:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Train Fuel Consumption Priority and Interrupts

Post by feng »

Hmmmm interesting... when searching for a solution on internet I always read that unloading fuel is not possible... now after your comment I tried myself and well... it works lol. So, I guess I will just unload it although I would really prefer that my trains would just burn old fuel first before starting to burn the fresh new fuel.
Kalanndok
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 9:07 am
Contact:

Re: Train Fuel Consumption Priority and Interrupts

Post by Kalanndok »

If you call them in with "OldFuel < x AND NewFuel < y" then they will only come to switch once the old fuel has been burnt mostly.
You can't burn all since you need to account for the traveltime from the last stop to the fuel station.
bmnk115
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2024 7:50 am
Contact:

Re: Train Fuel Consumption Priority and Interrupts

Post by bmnk115 »

Kalanndok wrote: Wed Oct 30, 2024 7:18 am What about removing it automatically?
Like when at the refuel stop that puts in solid fuel just remove every wood and coal fuel (use filters on inserters)?

If you configure the interrupt well you even get a fleetwide fuel update with every train coming in to switch fuel.
That's what I do too: add default fuel (now uranium) and remove anything which is not this type.
Has the advantage, that the trains accelerate equally and have the same top speed.
Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Help”