power requirements suddenly went insanely high

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
Post Reply
kurtman7
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2024 9:01 am
Contact:

power requirements suddenly went insanely high

Post by kurtman7 »

Hello i am new to factorio and recently when i was playing i checked my power usage only to find that I was using 300 mw there was nothing that should be using that much power please help.
Screenshot 2024-02-12 192742.png
Screenshot 2024-02-12 192742.png (141.86 KiB) Viewed 242 times

User avatar
boskid
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 2191
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: power requirements suddenly went insanely high

Post by boskid »

I would not worry about power usage saying 328MW in that image: that is a common behavior when energy buffers in the entities are not full because the max value is just a "max possible consumption that would satisfy all charging requirements this tick". Please take a look at the production saying 1.8MW when you have 70 steam engines.

kurtman7
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2024 9:01 am
Contact:

Re: power requirements suddenly went insanely high

Post by kurtman7 »

thanks

astroshak
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 597
Joined: Thu May 10, 2018 9:59 am
Contact:

Re: power requirements suddenly went insanely high

Post by astroshak »

That looks like your coal ran out, honestly. 1.8 MW is one boiler feeding two Steam Engines. Either you have only the one boiler and did not notice the information about how much water the boiler drinks and how much steam it makes, and how much steam a steam engine drinks, OR you have more boilers that lack either water or fuel.

Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Help”