I’m developing a fluid balancer for my train station to empty all fluid wagons at once despite of uneven consumption. So, I have made a quick try in the belt manner. Leftmost tanks work like wagons, tanks on the right are buffers for consumption.
It didn’t work at all. Absolutely ineffective. I knew that Factorio fluid dynamic is a little strange. I didn't realize it’s so... crazy. I’d even say – it’s nonsense, but maybe I just don't understand something. In general, I know how Factorio fluids works, but results are counter-intuitive and unexplainable for me. There are no problems if you have couple of pipes, but when you connect 4+ pipes together, it becomes a mystery.
I tried to put intermediate pumps inside the structure but no success. I know it can be solved using circuit networks but I’m looking for "steampunk" solution.
Any thoughts?
Throughput unlimited fluid balancer. How?
-
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 499
- Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2018 10:14 am
- Contact:
Re: Throughput unlimited fluid balancer. How?
It can ONLY be solved using circuit networks. Unless you want to barrel it and run the barrels through a belt splitter.
Re: Throughput unlimited fluid balancer. How?
only way i know of splitting fluids are
tank with X amount of pumps connected via wire and activate if fluid is more then X. (that way they acti/deactivate at the exact same time)
So it would be max a 1 to 3 splitter!?
tank with X amount of pumps connected via wire and activate if fluid is more then X. (that way they acti/deactivate at the exact same time)
So it would be max a 1 to 3 splitter!?
Re: Throughput unlimited fluid balancer. How?
Connect the tanks on the left and let them balance themselves. Good enough for most applications. If it does not work in your case: circuits or barrels, there is no way to do it with just pipes and pumps.
Re: Throughput unlimited fluid balancer. How?
For train (un)loading I put in 2 tanks per fluid wagon with the pumps on the outside of the wagon. The 1 tile gap between train cars is bridged by a straight pipe. That means the tanks will already balance them self slowly. Worst case a train can always be unloaded by pushing stuff through those balancing pipes. But that's best avoided.
So next I have a pump on every tank that is circuit controlled. An arithmetic combinator calculates the negative of the average fluid level of all tanks (sum of fluids / -num tanks) and each pump is connected to it's tank (red) and the average (green) and set to "fluid < 100" for filling tanks and "fluid > -100" for emptying. This keeps all tanks around the average level.
PS: one pump per pair of tanks works too if the throughput isn't too high. Tank-tank balances better than tank-pipe-tank.
So next I have a pump on every tank that is circuit controlled. An arithmetic combinator calculates the negative of the average fluid level of all tanks (sum of fluids / -num tanks) and each pump is connected to it's tank (red) and the average (green) and set to "fluid < 100" for filling tanks and "fluid > -100" for emptying. This keeps all tanks around the average level.
PS: one pump per pair of tanks works too if the throughput isn't too high. Tank-tank balances better than tank-pipe-tank.
-
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 365
- Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 9:14 am
- Contact:
Re: Throughput unlimited fluid balancer. How?
something like this
connect the tanks horizontally for balancing
if your demand is not high enough work with deactivated stations
activate the station, when there is enough room to empty a train completly.
Each wagon has two tanks available which leaves you a buffer of 25k (50k total)
- eradicator
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 5207
- Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
- Contact:
Re: Throughput unlimited fluid balancer. How?
Or if you're into modding use a manifold:
https://mods.factorio.com/query/manifold?version=0.17
(which works on the same principle that circuit controlled pumps would do)
https://mods.factorio.com/query/manifold?version=0.17
(which works on the same principle that circuit controlled pumps would do)
Author of: Belt Planner, Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Maker, /sudo and more.
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.