2 Inserters grabbing from Assembler?

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
Jomica_YT
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 7:35 pm
Contact:

2 Inserters grabbing from Assembler?

Post by Jomica_YT »

I've looked around in the Show your creations sub forum but couldn't really find what I was looking for. Does anyone have a solution to alternate 2 inserters pulling from the same assembler? Or a work around that may be a better solution?

Would it be as simple as emptying the contents onto a splitter?
Mehve
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 318
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2016 9:12 pm
Contact:

Re: 2 Inserters grabbing from Assembler?

Post by Mehve »

A splitter is probably the simplest option, and really doesn't have any downsides aside from not allowing direct transfer from the assembler to another assembler/container. But unless one of the output belts actually backs up, splitters always alternate on their output side by design, so it's very reliable.
Yoyobuae
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 511
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 11:04 pm
Contact:

Re: 2 Inserters grabbing from Assembler?

Post by Yoyobuae »

See here:
https://www.reddit.com/r/factorio/comme ... k/dba2ayb/

Code: Select all

+----------------------------+
|          Inserter          |
|  Enable: FastInserter = 0  |           +-------------------------------+
| Read hand contents (pulse) +-----+--+--+       Decider                 +--+
+----------------------------+     |  |  |                               |  |
                                   |  |  |       (FastInserter < 2)      |  |
+----------------------------+     |  |  | -> FastInserter (input count) |  |
|          Inserter          +-----+  |  +-------------------------------+  |
|  Enable: FastInserter = 1  |        |                                     |
| Read hand contents (pulse) |        +-------------------------------------+
+----------------------------+
Works also from assembler to assembler as well. Replace the "FastInserter" conditions to whatever the inserters are moving. The decider need adjustment based on stack size inserter bonus (but it might work as is, if assembler produces one by one).
Mehve
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 318
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2016 9:12 pm
Contact:

Re: 2 Inserters grabbing from Assembler?

Post by Mehve »

I had thought about that, but isn't that sort of circuit setup vulnerable to one of the inserter outputs backing up?
Yoyobuae
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 511
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 11:04 pm
Contact:

Re: 2 Inserters grabbing from Assembler?

Post by Yoyobuae »

Mehve wrote:I had thought about that, but isn't that sort of circuit setup vulnerable to one of the inserter outputs backing up?
Then make sure that situation doesn't happen. :P

Or if it can't be avoided then would need to use "Read hand contents(hold)" instead, plus a a couple more combinators.
Jomica_YT
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 7:35 pm
Contact:

Re: 2 Inserters grabbing from Assembler?

Post by Jomica_YT »

Yoyobuae wrote:See here:
https://www.reddit.com/r/factorio/comme ... k/dba2ayb/

Code: Select all

+----------------------------+
|          Inserter          |
|  Enable: FastInserter = 0  |           +-------------------------------+
| Read hand contents (pulse) +-----+--+--+       Decider                 +--+
+----------------------------+     |  |  |                               |  |
                                   |  |  |       (FastInserter < 2)      |  |
+----------------------------+     |  |  | -> FastInserter (input count) |  |
|          Inserter          +-----+  |  +-------------------------------+  |
|  Enable: FastInserter = 1  |        |                                     |
| Read hand contents (pulse) |        +-------------------------------------+
+----------------------------+
Works also from assembler to assembler as well. Replace the "FastInserter" conditions to whatever the inserters are moving. The decider need adjustment based on stack size inserter bonus (but it might work as is, if assembler produces one by one).
Awesome, this is exactly what I was looking for. Never really messed with deciders or anything before, doing this makes me want to mess around/learn about them some more.
Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Help”