[0.12.17]Clean Pipes 0.0.4 - Decide how pipes connect!

Topics and discussion about specific mods
User avatar
ThaPear
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:05 am

[0.12.17]Clean Pipes 0.0.4 - Decide how pipes connect!

Post by ThaPear » Thu Jul 10, 2014 12:30 pm

Clean Pipes

Updated for version 0.12.17 - Thanks to Divran
Get it here!

This mod allows you to build pipes which connect exactly as you want them to.
Simply craft a (one or two-sided) placer, place them with the arrow pointing towards other pipes and the pipes will connect.
See the GIF below for how it works.

Many thanks to Rseding91 for modifying it to work with blueprints.
3Mb GIF
0.0.4 for 0.11.6
Last edited by ThaPear on Thu Nov 19, 2015 8:36 pm, edited 11 times in total.

User avatar
SuperSandro2000
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 492
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2014 3:54 am

Re: [MOD 0.10.x]Clean Pipes 0.0.1

Post by SuperSandro2000 » Thu Jul 10, 2014 12:33 pm

good pic ;)
Please call me simply Sandro.
My Mods: Sandro's fixes, Sandro's Chemics, AlienPlant [abondan]

Image [url=steam://friends/add/'.76561198169442639.']Image[/url]

Slan
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 12:36 am

Re: [MOD 0.10.x]Clean Pipes 0.0.1

Post by Slan » Thu Jul 10, 2014 1:21 pm

Most of the mod actually allow 20/40/80+ sometimes pump. Can you make a version with 20/40/80 capactity ? You can see Yuoki mod and dytech one for the recipe they use and match them.

User avatar
CreeperDaReeper
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 8:59 pm

Re: [MOD 0.10.x]Clean Pipes 0.0.1

Post by CreeperDaReeper » Thu Jul 10, 2014 5:27 pm

Preview picture be broken. Not sure what I'm looking at here till you fix it.

User avatar
FreeER
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1266
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:26 am

Re: [MOD 0.10.x]Clean Pipes 0.0.1

Post by FreeER » Thu Jul 10, 2014 5:37 pm

CreeperDaReeper wrote:Preview picture be broken. Not sure what I'm looking at here till you fix it.
I copied the image location and pasted it into my address bar and was politely told by google:
Your client does not have permission to get URL /tr9hV0jdPbaYFMEZfaKZzbkhcXgI3n1xADKDsSXBRv9D5OL_RK1Pz9eCqu-E9R5sm3kkFWackrs from this server.
:lol:

User avatar
ThaPear
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:05 am

Re: [MOD 0.10.x]Clean Pipes 0.0.1

Post by ThaPear » Thu Jul 10, 2014 5:42 pm

Ah, it's working now, sorry about that!

JamesOFarrell
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 402
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 8:54 am

Re: [MOD 0.10.x]Clean Pipes 0.0.1 - Decide how pipes connect

Post by JamesOFarrell » Thu Jul 10, 2014 10:52 pm

This is awesome. I'll put a link in from the StraightPipes thread to this mod as this is much more useful. Thank you

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 7976
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am

Re: [MOD 0.10.x]Clean Pipes 0.0.1 - Decide how pipes connect

Post by Rseding91 » Thu Aug 07, 2014 2:31 pm

A few things:
  • 1. The pipes don't place as owned by the player and so show up red on the minimap
  • 2. When placing and harvesting the 2 sided connection pipes it gives a one sided connection pipe back - not so much a bug but just annoying having to keep re-crafting 2 sided pipes
  • 3. Because all the different types of connections are different pipe entities they don't work with blueprints (always reports missing items)

For 1: That can be fixed by setting the force when using createentity in your control.lua script (unless it was intended)

For 2: You should be able to duplicate your existing pipe entities and have a second set that harvests to the double sided pipes

For 3: Blueprints only work if you've done #1 - blueprints don't let you create them out of non-player placed items apparently. But, you could also make a new crafting category tab with all the different styles of connecting pipe available to craft from the one-sided connection pipe item. That way you could have them available in your logistics network using auto-crafting and could blueprint copy-paste an existing pipe setup.

Having them in a different recipe category would keep them from cluttering up the existing recipe category that a normal player would use. You could also put the item description as "Pipe custom connections: N/S/E/W" while keeping the entity name the same (making them distinguishable from each other) so when it's placed in the world via your control.lua script or a robot it still reads "Clean pipe" for the name (entities in-world have no item description attached).
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on IRC and Discord.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 7976
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am

Re: [MOD 0.10.x]Clean Pipes 0.0.1 - Decide how pipes connect

Post by Rseding91 » Fri Aug 08, 2014 10:17 pm

Rseding91 wrote:A few things:
  • 1. The pipes don't place as owned by the player and so show up red on the minimap
  • 2. When placing and harvesting the 2 sided connection pipes it gives a one sided connection pipe back - not so much a bug but just annoying having to keep re-crafting 2 sided pipes
  • 3. Because all the different types of connections are different pipe entities they don't work with blueprints (always reports missing items)

For 1: That can be fixed by setting the force when using createentity in your control.lua script (unless it was intended)

For 2: You should be able to duplicate your existing pipe entities and have a second set that harvests to the double sided pipes

For 3: Blueprints only work if you've done #1 - blueprints don't let you create them out of non-player placed items apparently. But, you could also make a new crafting category tab with all the different styles of connecting pipe available to craft from the one-sided connection pipe item. That way you could have them available in your logistics network using auto-crafting and could blueprint copy-paste an existing pipe setup.

Having them in a different recipe category would keep them from cluttering up the existing recipe category that a normal player would use. You could also put the item description as "Pipe custom connections: N/S/E/W" while keeping the entity name the same (making them distinguishable from each other) so when it's placed in the world via your control.lua script or a robot it still reads "Clean pipe" for the name (entities in-world have no item description attached).

I actually went ahead and did everything mentioned above: https://www.dropbox.com/s/ti48g9qpdnv9i ... nPipes.zip

Feel free to use it if you like :) I know I will.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on IRC and Discord.

User avatar
ThaPear
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:05 am

Re: [MOD 0.10.x]Clean Pipes 0.0.1 - Decide how pipes connect

Post by ThaPear » Fri Aug 08, 2014 10:37 pm

Rseding91 wrote:I actually went ahead and did everything mentioned above: https://www.dropbox.com/s/ti48g9qpdnv9i ... nPipes.zip

Feel free to use it if you like :) I know I will.
Very nice!
I have put the link in the first post.

t4nk3r4lyf
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 6:11 am

Re: [MOD 0.10.x]Clean Pipes 0.0.1 - Decide how pipes connect

Post by t4nk3r4lyf » Fri Sep 26, 2014 11:34 am

Love this mod :D

One question though, would it be possible to do a "clean corner"?

User avatar
ThaPear
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:05 am

Re: [MOD 0.10.x]Clean Pipes 0.0.1 - Decide how pipes connect

Post by ThaPear » Fri Sep 26, 2014 12:06 pm

That's already possible, you simply place the clean pipes like this:
Image
Place 1, then 2, then remove 2.

t4nk3r4lyf
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 6:11 am

Re: [MOD 0.10.x]Clean Pipes 0.0.1 - Decide how pipes connect

Post by t4nk3r4lyf » Fri Sep 26, 2014 1:09 pm

Ah ok, I'll give that a go. Thanks :)

*edit* just rewatched the opening gif, feeling like a scrub :P
Is the corner also possible with pipe to ground?
Pipe to ground> single piece corner > pipe to ground?

User avatar
ThaPear
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:05 am

Re: [MOD 0.10.x]Clean Pipes 0.0.1 - Decide how pipes connect

Post by ThaPear » Fri Sep 26, 2014 1:31 pm

Yeah, once a piece of clean pipes is connected, the connections it has will behave like normal pipes.

User avatar
micomico
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 10:55 pm

Re: [MOD 0.10.x]Clean Pipes 0.0.1 - Decide how pipes connect

Post by micomico » Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:45 pm

Hello everyone.

This is one of the few mods I use and I wanted to keep playing my single-player pre-0.11 game with it. So I fixed it to load on this new version.

It most likely won't work on multiplayer. I'm a noob at modding and don't really know what I'm doing.

Here it is.

User avatar
berni1212
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 8:52 am

Re: [MOD 0.10.x]Clean Pipes 0.0.1 - Decide how pipes connect

Post by berni1212 » Mon Dec 08, 2014 7:22 pm

micomico wrote:Hello everyone.

This is one of the few mods I use and I wanted to keep playing my single-player pre-0.11 game with it. So I fixed it to load on this new version.

It most likely won't work on multiplayer. I'm a noob at modding and don't really know what I'm doing.

Here it is.

Is it for the New Versions 0.11.5 ? and does it work for MP ? :) Plz reply would be a Really Cool mod for MP


And Thanks for making this mod
Sorry for my bad English ! i will not remove it !
WIP Test MODS
RailTanker [MP WIP]

User avatar
AlphaRaptor
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 6:58 pm

Re: [MOD 0.10.x]Clean Pipes 0.0.1 - Decide how pipes connect

Post by AlphaRaptor » Tue Dec 09, 2014 3:42 am

AWESOME MOD
Thats what we need in MP :)

Its Annoying that you need to build every pipe with 1 Empty Hole between another
Nice Mod :D
Live your life like you want.
Mods are still Awesome , and i love Mods , for every Game.

Lov'in it.

User avatar
ThaPear
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:05 am

Re: [MOD 0.11.6]Clean Pipes 0.0.1 - Decide how pipes connect

Post by ThaPear » Thu Dec 18, 2014 3:04 pm

Updated for version 0.11.6
That sums it up.
Untested in multiplayer.

Get it on the first post.

Cooolaid
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 8:48 pm

Re: [0.11.6]Clean Pipes 0.0.4 - Decide how pipes connect!

Post by Cooolaid » Sat Jul 18, 2015 10:55 pm

would love to have this for v11.22 ,
Any possibilities for that ?

Cooolaid
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 8:48 pm

Re: [0.11.6]Clean Pipes 0.0.4 - Decide how pipes connect!

Post by Cooolaid » Sat Aug 01, 2015 9:06 am

Is this mod dead ?

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”