[MOD 0.10.2] Automatic Rail Laying Machine

Topics and discussion about specific mods
Post Reply
kolli
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 11:23 am
Contact:

[MOD 0.10.2] Automatic Rail Laying Machine

Post by kolli »

Automatic Rail Laying Machine v0.0.6

Image

Check it out on youtube!


How to use:
Craft an automatic rail laying machine (recipe available with automated rail transportation tech).
Place the machine on some rails.
Connect one or more cargo wagons.
Load the cargo wagon(s) with straight and curved rails.
Jump aboard and drive like a normal locomotive.
Use mouse cursor to control where to place rail.
Trees that are in the way will be chopped down and the wood placed in the train.

Thanks to devs for linking my mod in the friday update!

Version history:
v0.0.6:
Added the 0.10.2 train lights.
Removed version number from zip-archive filename.

v0.0.5:
Removed debug stuff that was accidentally left in v.0.0.4 (using graphics from another mod)

v0.0.4:
Removed debug stuff that was accidentally left in v.0.0.3 (giving the player items)

v0.0.3:
Fix for game version 0.10.1

v0.0.2:
Rails are now placed belonging to player.force.
Recipe should now unlock properly when using other mods. If for some reason it still doesn't:
code
Thanks to theit8514 for reporting the bugs.

v0.0.1:
Initial release.

Download links (v0.0.6):
google drive
filedropper
Last edited by kolli on Sun Jul 06, 2014 5:34 pm, edited 10 times in total.

jeroon
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 351
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 10:18 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.10.0] Automatic Rail Laying Machine

Post by jeroon »

wow that video looks really cool :D

User avatar
darius456
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 222
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 6:33 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.10.0] Automatic Rail Laying Machine

Post by darius456 »

Usefull.
Lenovo Y580 8GB Ram GF660m 128GB SSD W7

theit8514
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2014 2:11 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.10.0] Automatic Rail Laying Machine

Post by theit8514 »

Really wish I was not at work right now. Look forward to trying this when I'm back home.

Thourion
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 8:51 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.10.0] Automatic Rail Laying Machine

Post by Thourion »

Very good idea, and yeah, the video left me speechless :o

Airat9000
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1394
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 12:32 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.10.0] Automatic Rail Laying Machine

Post by Airat9000 »

:) good mod
idea please post in version you mod

kolli
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 11:23 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.10.0] Automatic Rail Laying Machine v0.0.1

Post by kolli »

Airat9000 wrote:please post in version you mod
oops, forgot about that. fix'd.

MtNak
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 4:03 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.10.0] Automatic Rail Laying Machine v0.0.1

Post by MtNak »

Wow! Awesome! Thanks!

theit8514
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2014 2:11 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.10.0] Automatic Rail Laying Machine v0.0.1

Post by theit8514 »

The item did not appear on my Tech list under the Automated Rail Transportation technology, and the recipe was not unlocked.

Image

I am using DyTech, and it adds the Large Capacity Cargo Wagon the same way you are adding the Rail Layer.

If anyone runs into this, you can execute this to get it:

Code: Select all

game.player.force.recipes["rail-layer"].enabled = true
In addition, new track may be being placed using the enemy force (shows as red on map, grey areas are parts that i had to do)
Image
Last edited by theit8514 on Fri Jun 13, 2014 11:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Colombo
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 11:25 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.10.0] Automatic Rail Laying Machine v0.0.1

Post by Colombo »

amazing!

kolli
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 11:23 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.10.0] Automatic Rail Laying Machine v0.0.2

Post by kolli »

theit8514 wrote:The item did not appear on my Tech list under the Automated Rail Transportation technology, and the recipe was not unlocked.
I don't quite understand why this happens, I don't have dyTech installed. Hopefully my dirty quickfix will work.
theit8514 wrote:new track may be being placed using the enemy force
For some reason I expected player.force to be default if you didn't specify a force when creating entities. Should be fixed now.

Thanks theit8514 for reporting the bugs. Main post updated with v0.0.2.

Loscil
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.10.0] Automatic Rail Laying Machine v0.0.2

Post by Loscil »

Ahhh oh my god I'm having an orgasm.

Very good mod, 11/10.

Talguy
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 8:54 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.10.0] Automatic Rail Laying Machine v0.0.2

Post by Talguy »

Awesome! I have yet to try this one, but I installed this on sight because it looks so good :)

DDR
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 5:47 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.10.0] Automatic Rail Laying Machine v0.0.2

Post by DDR »

Hello. First off, wonderful, wonderful mod. :D

Second off, I'm having a bit of trouble with regards to running it in 0.10.1. While it /lays/ rail, my attempts to subsequently drive over that rail in specific are met with a crash of the game. It can drive over pre-laid rail fine. I'm afraid I have no idea how to start debugging this myself, but I might eventually have to!

Alternatively, I'm using a save that's seen a few upgrades. Perhaps that's just bugged it?

Thanks!

kolli
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 11:23 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.10.0] Automatic Rail Laying Machine v0.0.2

Post by kolli »

DDR wrote:I'm having a bit of trouble with regards to running it in 0.10.1
Indeed, the game crashes if you use this mod with 0.10.1. It's not a problem with your save file. I didn't notice this before because I didn't upgrade to 0.10.1 until now. I'll look into it later today.

Thourion
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 8:51 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.10.0] Automatic Rail Laying Machine v0.0.2

Post by Thourion »

Yeah it does crash with 0.10.1
I was still playing my save from 0.10.0, and i had already placed all the tracks i needed before i updated to 0.10.1, so i didnt noticed myself, only after i started a new game, and reached the rail place stage.

Heh the fun thing is though, that the mod is still helpfull in my case, since its the only one i have atm, so i use it for the Game Load bug workaround in the latest patch :mrgreen:

kolli
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 11:23 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.10.0] Automatic Rail Laying Machine v0.0.3

Post by kolli »

I've identified the part of the script that causes the crash, but I don't understand why it happens. My solution is to remove parts of the collision check when placing rails - this means you now have to be careful not to crash into your buildings as rail will be placed under them and the locomotive will crash into them. It might actually be more fun this way :)

Thourion
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 8:51 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.10.0] Automatic Rail Laying Machine v0.0.3

Post by Thourion »

kolli wrote:.... It might actually be more fun this way :) ...
Most deffinetly. I can think some people would prefer a "safer" method, but you know what, after so much fun clearing forests out (plus gathering wood lol), i think its time to bring it home to "concrete jungle" and make some room for ..erm tree planting xD
Only thing i can think of, is the addition of the train horn, just before i ram the base into oblivion :)

mordieth
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 2:34 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.10.1] Automatic Rail Laying Machine v0.0.4

Post by mordieth »

I keep getting this error while loading the mod (0.0.4) with 0.10.1

Path __floors__/graphics/floor-b-gone-icon.png does not match any mod.

anybody know whats going on?

Rahjital
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 435
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 10:44 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.10.1] Automatic Rail Laying Machine v0.0.4

Post by Rahjital »

That seems to be an issue with the Floor mod rather than this one. Are you sure you didn't turn off or delete the Floor mod after using it in a save?

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”