Frequent crashes on Linux

This subforum contains all the issues which we already resolved.
huntse
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter

Frequent crashes on Linux

Post by huntse »

Hey there

This is the proper bug report from my post on reddit https://www.reddit.com/r/factorio/comme ... _on_linux/

I'm getting a lot of crashes on my linux desktop. I'm not 100% sure whether there's a single trigger as there doesn't seem to be any obvious pattern like ("I do x and it crashes"). It just seems to crash every now and then (approx a crash every 30mins gameplay). Given that I've played >600 hours you might wonder why it took so long to report. There was a specific release during the 0.16 series when it started happening, but I can't remember when taht was (sorry so unhelpful). I've been on 0.16 since probably 0.16.20 or maybe even a bit before.

Here's a log and a dumpfile and the last save before the crash - let me know if anything else would help. I am a software engineer myself so I can run debugging stuff on here if you want. The crash is always a hard crash and as I say there doesn't seem to be any pattern to it.

Sean
Attachments
mod-list.json
(76 Bytes) Downloaded 68 times
_autosave2.zip
(5.02 MiB) Downloaded 68 times
factorio-dump-current.dmp
(401.31 KiB) Downloaded 75 times
factorio-current.log
(39.85 KiB) Downloaded 96 times

impetus maximus
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Re: Frequent crashes on Linux

Post by impetus maximus »

factorio current

huntse
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter

Post by huntse »

Actually I have a possible candidate - my dotfiles had a ulimit on total cpu time set. I'm trying with that turned off.

huntse
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter

Post by huntse »

This is definitely the problem. I found it in the journalctl logs. feel free to close. In case anything like this happens again, it could be worth asking people to post the output of

Code: Select all

journalctl | grep -i steam