[jiri][for 0.17][0.16.27] OS X:Incorrect determination of VRAM

This subforum contains all the issues which we already resolved.
Post Reply
dmsilev
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 4:50 pm
Contact:

[jiri][for 0.17][0.16.27] OS X:Incorrect determination of VRAM

Post by dmsilev »

This is probably not particularly high priority, but thought I'd report it anyway. I have a Mac with two GPUs, the integrated one on the CPU and a separate discrete GPU (hardware is a 2016 MacBook Pro 15" with the Radeon 460 GPU). When starting up, Factorio reports the wrong amount of VRAM; the discrete GPU has 4 GB, not the 1.5 GB reported. This matters because the game won't let me use the shiny new HD sprites even though the hardware meets the 3 GB or more minimum requirement (if I try to switch the sprite resolution to high in Graphics Options, I get an error dialog telling me that 1.5 GB isn't enough).

What appears to be happening is that for some reason the game is getting the value of "VRAM" assigned to the integrated GPU (which, according to the Mac System Info report, is indeed 1.5 GB) rather than the discrete. I've tried forcing the discrete GPU to be active before the game starts up rather than letting it switch over automatically, and that makes no difference.
0.000 2018-03-01 09:04:19; Factorio 0.16.27 (build 35809, mac, steam)
0.000 Operating system: macOS 10.13.3
0.001 Program arguments: "/Users/dmsilev/Library/Application Support/Steam/steamapps/common/Factorio/factorio.app"
0.001 Read data path: /Users/dmsilev/Library/Application Support/Steam/SteamApps/common/Factorio/factorio.app/Contents/data
0.001 Write data path: /Users/dmsilev/Library/Application Support/factorio [377703/953284MB]
0.001 Binaries path: /Users/dmsilev/Library/Application Support/Steam/SteamApps/common
0.041 System info: [CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6820HQ CPU @ 2.70GHz, 8 cores, RAM: 16384 MB]
0.067 Display options: [FullScreen: 1] [VSync: 1] [UIScale: system (100.0%)] [MultiSampling: OFF] [Screen: 255] [Lang: en]
0.068 Available display adapters: 1
0.068 [0]: resolution 1680x1050px at [0,0]
0.068 Create display on adapter 0. Size 1280x720 at position [190, 147].
0.701 [OpenGL] glClear in ogl_clear:0: GL_INVALID_FRAMEBUFFER_OPERATION
0.726 Initialised OpenGL:[0] AMD Radeon Pro 460 OpenGL Engine; driver: 2.1 ATI-1.60.26
0.726 Dedicated video memory size 1536 MB

posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 5189
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.16.27] OS X:Incorrect determination of VRAM

Post by posila »

Thanks for the report.
You can select the high sprite quality, you just need to select it twice in a row.

dmsilev
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 4:50 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.16.27] OS X:Incorrect determination of VRAM

Post by dmsilev »

posila wrote:Thanks for the report.
You can select the high sprite quality, you just need to select it twice in a row.
Thanks. Didn't know about that workaround.

jiri
Former Staff
Former Staff
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 9:48 pm
Contact:

Re: [jiri][for 0.17][0.16.27] OS X:Incorrect determination of VRAM

Post by jiri »

This should now be resolved in 0.17 :)

Post Reply

Return to “Resolved Problems and Bugs”