[wheybags][0.16.21]Circumventing prod module restriction using beacons

This subforum contains all the issues which we already resolved.
Bilka
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff

[wheybags][0.16.21]Circumventing prod module restriction using beacons

Post by Bilka »

A recipe that normally doesnt allow productivity can get the productivity from productivity modules used in beacons around it. I expect the machine to not receive the productivity buff if the recipe does not allow it.

To reproduce: Set the beacon allowed effects to {"consumption", "speed", "pollution", "productivity"}, build one at a centrifuge that has the kovarex enrichment process set, insert a prod module into the beacon. Machine is affected, but shouldnt be.

I'm an admin over at https://wiki.factorio.com. Feel free to contact me if there's anything wrong (or right) with it.

infogulch
Inserter
Inserter

Re: [wheybags][0.16.21]Circumventing prod module restriction using beacons

Post by infogulch »

You shouldn't be able to put productivity modules into beacons at all.

I just tried in 0.16.21 vanilla, and there is no way to put productivity modules in the beacon.

Are you sure this isn't an issue with a mod you have installed?

Jap2.0
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Post by Jap2.0 »

infogulch wrote:You shouldn't be able to put productivity modules into beacons at all.

I just tried in 0.16.21 vanilla, and there is no way to put productivity modules in the beacon.

Are you sure this isn't an issue with a mod you have installed?
Yes, it's technichally not possible in vanilla - the question is whether it should work when cheated/modded in.
There are 10 types of people: those who get this joke and those who don't.

pyrachi
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter

Post by pyrachi »

I'm guessing in that scenario the correct behavior should be defined by the mod: if the mod is intended to allow productivity bonuses to effect all items, then it should allow that. If not, then it's up to the mod to restrict it.