[16.16] Splitter decompress still

This subforum contains all the issues which we already resolved.
Post Reply
Rhamphoryncus
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2015 10:57 pm
Contact:

[16.16] Splitter decompress still

Post by Rhamphoryncus »

More "splitters decompress belt when they shouldn't" stuff. The top two are known ways of taking off a quarter of a 4-belt bus, at least on paper. In practice I've never had them work reliably, as you can see in the save.

Comparing the second and third is more interesting. The second is getting back-pressure from the splitters (which means decompressing down the line). The third, despite being identical, does not. I assume build order caused initial item spacing to be different which created interference patterns in the splitter timings.

Creative-mode-fix is needed in this save, for simplicity.
Attachments
creative-mode-fix_0.0.15.zip
(1.6 MiB) Downloaded 44 times
SplitterTiming.zip
(1.44 MiB) Downloaded 54 times

Zavian
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1605
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: Splitter inconsistency

Post by Zavian »

Game version? 0.16.16 has just released with some splitter fixes.

Rhamphoryncus
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2015 10:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Splitter inconsistency

Post by Rhamphoryncus »

This is 0.16.16. I've seen this sort of behaviour many versions back though (0.14? Earlier?)

socket
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2016 8:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Splitter inconsistency

Post by socket »

Slightly smaller case using vanilla loaders and infinity chests:

Image

The top left splitter does not preserve compression.
Attachments
splitter_compression_bug.zip
Save reproducing the issue
(1.71 MiB) Downloaded 50 times

User avatar
MadZuri
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 8:15 am
Contact:

Re: Splitter inconsistency

Post by MadZuri »

This should demonstrate some of the wonkiness with splitters. Way back in... 0.12? this method would output to both belts just fine. It was quite a while ago that it broke.
Image

jonatkins
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2015 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: [16.16] Splitter decompress still

Post by jonatkins »

Ditto - still happening on my 6-lane setup I originally posted in the other bug report.

See viewtopic.php?p=333224#p333224 and viewtopic.php?p=333233#p333233 for a test case with save.

PacifyerGrey
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1046
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2016 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: Splitter inconsistency

Post by PacifyerGrey »

MadZuri wrote:This should demonstrate some of the wonkiness with splitters. Way back in... 0.12? this method would output to both belts just fine. It was quite a while ago that it broke.
Image
Seams that internal buffer in blue splitter is too small to hold an item for 9 ticks where it should offload it to yellow belt so it forces blue input to back up sometimes when an item comes from yellow input
Probably increasing internal splitter buffer (delay) would help but yet again it will remove “express splitter bus” which noone uses anyways.

XOffshore
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 9:38 pm
Contact:

Re: [16.16] Splitter decompress still

Post by XOffshore »

Last edited by XOffshore on Sat Jan 13, 2018 1:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sifu
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:59 am
Contact:

Re: [16.16] Splitter decompress still

Post by Sifu »

Another simpler example:

Simple 4-4 balancer decompresses the 4 fully saturated lanes.
Attachments
ezgif.com-optimize.gif
ezgif.com-optimize.gif (6.12 MiB) Viewed 4495 times

CmdrKeen
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2015 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Splitter inconsistency

Post by CmdrKeen »

socket wrote:Slightly smaller case using vanilla loaders and infinity chests:

https://i.imgur.com/9ErgC7N.jpg

The top left splitter does not preserve compression.
that's not a bug, thats 1.5 belts feeding into the top two belts at the end. I'm sure the bottom two inputs are running slower than max speed. wait- you weren't refering to the end compression.

golfmiketango
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 549
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2016 2:48 am
Contact:

Re: [16.16] Splitter decompress still

Post by golfmiketango »

Sifu wrote:Another simpler example:

Simple 4-4 balancer decompresses the 4 fully saturated lanes.
:(

Can you post this save to the thread so it can hopefully be looked at Sifu?

Sifu
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:59 am
Contact:

Re: [16.16] Splitter decompress still

Post by Sifu »

golfmiketango wrote:
Sifu wrote:Another simpler example:

Simple 4-4 balancer decompresses the 4 fully saturated lanes.
:(

Can you post this save to the thread so it can hopefully be looked at Sifu?
There you go. I have uploaded the save which has my simple 4-4 balancer decompressing.
Attachments
Decompressing 4-4 balancer.zip
(35.05 MiB) Downloaded 46 times

Eddie the Jedi
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2016 2:51 am
Contact:

Re: Splitter inconsistency

Post by Eddie the Jedi »

socket wrote:Slightly smaller case using vanilla loaders and infinity chests:

Image

The top left splitter does not preserve compression.
I was able to reproduce this bug using a similar test setup: a drawn-out 4-blue-belt balancer with vanilla loaders and infinity chests. Then I pulled up and replaced one of the belt segments that was not being compressed, and the behavior reverted to normal.

(Sorry, no pics or video because I couldn't reproduce the bug a second time.)

kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 8053
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: [16.16] Splitter decompress still

Post by kovarex »

This should be fixed in 0.16.20

Rhamphoryncus
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2015 10:57 pm
Contact:

Re: [16.16] Splitter decompress still

Post by Rhamphoryncus »

It's a lot better but not not entirely fixed. In particular the blue/yellow combo posted by madzuri still fails if you get the alignment right.

Priorities often fail as well but you may consider that to be a separate issue.

Post Reply

Return to “Resolved Problems and Bugs”