[Resolved 0.3.2] Splitter error - not splitting

This subforum contains all the issues which we already resolved.
Post Reply
MF-
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 12:07 am
Contact:

[Resolved 0.3.2] Splitter error - not splitting

Post by MF- » Fri Mar 08, 2013 7:29 pm

I hit an issue with the splitter.
Instead of splitting 1:1 everything was going out of the same output and the other one stayed empty.

I saved, loaded. The situation reversed, first empty and the second one got all the items.
To be sure, here goes the save: http://www.ulozto.net/x3DhYWs/splitter-error-tgz

MF-
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 12:07 am
Contact:

Re: Splitter error - not splitting

Post by MF- » Sat Mar 09, 2013 10:34 am

I tried replicating that setup next to this one and it was splitting correctly.
I assume there is something special in the timing I got in the save.

Sidebug:
I saw the bug, everything was coming out of the left output
Save-load cycle.
Now is everything coming out of the right output.
I assume it means that splitter state is not stored in the save, therefore splitter is not good for piece-perfect logic applications

drs9999
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 831
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 11:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Splitter error - not splitting

Post by drs9999 » Sat Mar 09, 2013 10:51 am

Hello,
i played around with your save.
When i load it i have the same problem you discribed but allways after a (random) amount of time the splitter works correctly (without reloading the save).
So not sure what the reason/ solution for this is...

kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 7387
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: Splitter error - not splitting

Post by kovarex » Sat Mar 09, 2013 11:02 am

Hmm, I thought this might a feature, but people would probably thing it is a bug.

The issue is, that the splitter remembers how many items it sent left/right.
When the left is stuck it sends all to the right, and the right counter increases.
When the left is free again, it will send lot of items to the left to balance it.

MF-
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 12:07 am
Contact:

Re: Splitter error - not splitting

Post by MF- » Sat Mar 09, 2013 11:24 am

Oh.
That could be an interesting feature when the belt is actually splitting (or used as an input overflow valve for slow machinery)
But in the side-balancing use case it IMO creates deliberate side imbalance.
That explains a lot of the oddity I've been observing.

Why did it start sending the items though the other output after the save-load cycle?

I am not sure whether I want the feature in or not.
I think my life would be happier without it, but I certainly haven't explored all the possible use cases of the splitter. So far all my splitters were only side-balancers.

User avatar
Nova
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 921
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 12:13 am
Contact:

Re: Splitter error - not splitting

Post by Nova » Sat Mar 09, 2013 11:32 am

Yes, that explains some of the confusing behavior of the splitter. ^^
This "feature" should at least be explained somewhere for the splitter - it is not really intuitive.
Maybe we could just make an option for this in every splitter - right click and choosing an check box. ;)
Greetings, Nova.
Factorio is one of the greatest games I ever played, with one of the best developers I ever heard of. Image

MF-
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 12:07 am
Contact:

Re: Splitter error - not splitting

Post by MF- » Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:48 pm

Given that the features induces strange and unintuitive behaviour, I guess it should be disabled (at least by default?)
IMO the checkbox would look a bit weird and many would not expect it's presence in the UI.
If we get a checkbox, one might also want a "ratio" slider in there.

Can someone present a setup that relies on this feature? I am not aware of any and that biases me.

kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 7387
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: Splitter error - not splitting

Post by kovarex » Sat Mar 09, 2013 1:37 pm

So I made change for the next release, the "memory of disbalance" of the left/right side is capped by 5.

MF-
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 12:07 am
Contact:

Re: Splitter error - not splitting

Post by MF- » Sat Mar 09, 2013 1:48 pm

That sounds like a good solution.
Is that 5 per item kind + side?

kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 7387
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: Splitter error - not splitting

Post by kovarex » Sat Mar 09, 2013 2:13 pm

MF- wrote:That sounds like a good solution.
Is that 5 per item kind + side?
Yes, (Every item type has it's own counter)

Tyvin
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 12:08 am
Contact:

Re: Splitter error - not splitting

Post by Tyvin » Sat Mar 09, 2013 3:43 pm

Could that me configurable?
Might be neat if you could configure a split ratio on the splitter itself, like 1:1, up to 1:10 or something.

MF-
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 12:07 am
Contact:

Re: Splitter error - not splitting

Post by MF- » Sat Mar 09, 2013 3:47 pm

Tyvin wrote:Could that me configurable?
Might be neat if you could configure a split ratio on the splitter itself, like 1:1, up to 1:10 or something.
That is an independent feature request and it should be published as such.
Don't forget to attach a nice use case for such feature.

Dakkanor
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 6:18 am
Contact:

Re: Splitter error - not splitting

Post by Dakkanor » Sat Mar 09, 2013 9:17 pm

question, will there be more advanced types of splitter?

because having a smart splitter which auto sorts items with personal settings would be great, so great that im going to go post it as a suggestion....

Post Reply

Return to “Resolved Problems and Bugs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users