[0.12.1] train signal symmetric inconsistency

This subforum contains all the issues which we already resolved.
Post Reply
User avatar
LotA
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 11:41 am
Contact:

[0.12.1] train signal symmetric inconsistency

Post by LotA »

Was playing with train and stuff then i discovered this :
fac.jpg
fac.jpg (268.33 KiB) Viewed 19294 times
with this kind of junction, train signals works only on the right side.
signals are placed just afer the curve, first allowed position.

using either signal or chain signal doesn't change anything, i believe its something about the block detection

I believe this is a bug, it should either work or not, but no depending on the axis.
(And i believe it should work in both case as the train signal is placed just after the curved line, so technically on a straight rail)
Last edited by LotA on Fri Aug 07, 2015 1:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rampelstinskin
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 9:11 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1] train signal symetric inconsistency

Post by rampelstinskin »

Another strange case.
Attachments
FactorioSignalBug.png
FactorioSignalBug.png (414.53 KiB) Viewed 19254 times

MF-
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 12:07 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1] train signal symetric inconsistency

Post by MF- »

I don't understand what is happening nor what should be happening there.

User avatar
LotA
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 11:41 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1] train signal symetric inconsistency

Post by LotA »

fac2.jpg
fac2.jpg (246.64 KiB) Viewed 19215 times
Interesting news :

First of all, unlike i said, the signal is not placed "just after" the curve, but on it (although it looks quite straight and the showed hitbox stops just before the signals)
Second, if you reverse the "axis" (diagonal being \ instead of / ), it will fail in both cases (see below), its only working with this "symetry"
The problem is definitely related to crossing with diagonal tracks.

Signal will work / faill to recognize blocks depending on which one you placed first.
In the picture :
if you place the "top" signal first -> signal will work
if you place the "bottom" signal first -> signal won't work

So after all i don't know if should work or not but yet it should definitely behave the same way whatever is your "axis"

MF-
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 12:07 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1] train signal symetric inconsistency

Post by MF- »

So this is all about signals binding to / recognizing track?

Pehaps a picture with those symmetric layouts, a clear "---> mirror image ---->" label
and then captions on signals "works if 1st", "works if 2nd", "always broken", "always broken"?

Sure the devs can read the signal much better than me. But sill a good report warrants better chances I think.


EDIT: That 1st / 2nd thing is explained in your last picture, nice and clean.
Does it mean that a tiny rail segment was created between the two signals in the failing case?

User avatar
LotA
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 11:41 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1] train signal symetric inconsistency

Post by LotA »

straight rail doens't collide with curved so there is every pieces of straight rail possible in the diagonal, althought afaik only the last, overlapping one is involved. All rails were placed before any signals.

new tests set : in fact you can make signal either work / fail with both symmetry.
it can happen with any rotation of a curved rail with the diagonal end
fac.jpg
fac.jpg (202.25 KiB) Viewed 19130 times
watching how it works with h/v end leads me to think is should simply fail in both cases.

Oh and sorry for the missing m in the title :d Only one in my native language

User avatar
LotA
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 11:41 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1] train signal symmetric inconsistency

Post by LotA »

if you place the straight piece after the signals, only 1 signal gets "disconnected"
fac.jpg
fac.jpg (93.47 KiB) Viewed 19122 times

User avatar
HanziQ
Former Staff
Former Staff
Posts: 630
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2015 7:07 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1] train signal symmetric inconsistency

Post by HanziQ »

Thank you for the report, this will be fixed in the next patch, but for newly placed rails/signals only, you need to replace the existing problematic ones.

mooop12
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2014 8:05 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1] train signal symmetric inconsistency

Post by mooop12 »

I believe fixing this introduced a new bug, in the image below chain signal in red rectangle is disconnected and chain signal in green rectangle is connecting properly, but before 0.12.5 both positions were correct. The chain signal works fine on previously built junctions until I try to replace it.
Screenshot_1.png
Screenshot_1.png (855.15 KiB) Viewed 18967 times

User avatar
HanziQ
Former Staff
Former Staff
Posts: 630
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2015 7:07 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1] train signal symmetric inconsistency

Post by HanziQ »

Unfortunately, this bug would require serious refactoring of the way that signals are currently attached to rails, therefore we have decided to postpone that. Moving to 'known issues' for now.

kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 8053
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1] train signal symmetric inconsistency

Post by kovarex »


kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 8053
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.1] train signal symmetric inconsistency

Post by kovarex »

All these problems were solved as by product of the rail signal placement indicator for 0.13 (https://www.factorio.com/blog/post/fff-134)

Post Reply

Return to “Resolved Problems and Bugs”