Desync on showing sprite button with tooltip (locale)

This subforum contains all the issues which we already resolved.
Post Reply
judos
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 266
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:17 am
Contact:

Desync on showing sprite button with tooltip (locale)

Post by judos »

I found a desync which occurs when a mod overrides with a locale file some item-name. Basically after the locale overrides the item-name for an item in one language showing a gui-sprite button in the game will instantly lead to a desync.

I attached a minimal example of a mod which does override the locale for the item "pipe".
Afterwards my mod (BeltSorter) would show a item selection gui where the tooltip uses this item-name and leads to instant desyncs in multiplayer games.
To reduce the example I just used one command to reproduce the error:

Code: Select all

/c game.player.gui.left.add({type="sprite-button",name="test", style="slot_button_style", sprite="item/pipe"}) game.player.gui.left.test.tooltip = game.item_prototypes["pipe"].localised_name
Thanks for having a look at it!
Cheers,
judos


Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13345
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: Desync on showing sprite button with tooltip (locale)

Post by Rseding91 »

Fixed for 0.14.12.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

judos
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 266
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:17 am
Contact:

Re: Desync on showing sprite button with tooltip (locale)

Post by judos »

You guys are simply awesome! Thanks for fixing so fast :)
Also the changelog that desync reports are now much bigger sounds lovely for eventual future issues.

Cheers, judos

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13345
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: Desync on showing sprite button with tooltip (locale)

Post by Rseding91 »

judos wrote:You guys are simply awesome! Thanks for fixing so fast :)
Also the changelog that desync reports are now much bigger sounds lovely for eventual future issues.

Cheers, judos
The fix didn't actually make it into 0.14.12 :) It will be in 0.14.13.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.


Post Reply

Return to “Resolved Problems and Bugs”