Page 1 of 1

[posila] [0.17.64] Chart rendering ignores tint on utility sprites

Posted: Sat Aug 10, 2019 4:44 pm
by OkraDonkey
Use case: trying to update a mod to change overlay color of Roboport radius (among other things), to accommodate colorblind players.

Changing the sprite to a colored png file works as expected, in the world and in the chart.
Changing the sprite to a white png file, then setting .tint works in the world, but results in a plain white overlay in the chart.

Example:

Code: Select all

data.raw["utility-sprites"].default.logistic_radius_visualization.filename = "__palettecleanser__/graphics/visualization-roboport-radius.png"
data.raw["utility-sprites"].default.logistic_radius_visualization.tint = {r = 0.5, g = 0, b = 0.5, a = 0.5}
(The opposite problem - tint worked in chart, but not world - was discussed here and here and was fixed in 0.15.11.)

Please consider enforcing sprite tint in the chart so players would be able to customize overlay colors via mod settings.

Thanks!

Re: [0.17.64] Chart rendering ignores tint on utility sprites

Posted: Sun Aug 11, 2019 6:42 am
by PyroFire
Don't forget to set hr_version={ tint=whatever }

Re: [0.17.64] Chart rendering ignores tint on utility sprites

Posted: Sun Aug 11, 2019 3:53 pm
by OkraDonkey
PyroFire wrote:
Sun Aug 11, 2019 6:42 am
Don't forget to set hr_version={ tint=whatever }
Although sprites for overlays don't use hr versions (they don't, right?), this is still a great comment because it's a good reminder for other graphics, but more importantly, it disproves my subject line, allowing it to be more precise.

I can confirm that the chart does already correctly apply tint to icons defined in utility-sprites (like deconstruction_mark / cancel.png"), and to buildings. It seems tint might only be ignored for overlays, not all utility sprites.

Great catch!

Re: [0.17.64] Chart rendering ignores tint on utility sprites

Posted: Sun Aug 11, 2019 4:14 pm
by posila
Thanks for the report

Fixed for 0.17.65

Re: [0.17.64] Chart rendering ignores tint on utility sprites

Posted: Sun Aug 11, 2019 5:33 pm
by OkraDonkey
The Factorio team continues to set the gold standard. This fix will help a small number of people in a big way.

You have my sincere thanks!