Page 1 of 1

[Twinsen]toolbar latency in multiplayer

Posted: Tue Jun 04, 2019 10:04 am
by dog80
pressing x to switch the toolbar + any number to access the item very quickly after each other results in getting the item from the previous active toolbar in the hand...

so i have 2 toolbars active and i want to access the 1. item on the lower toolbar
i have to press x and 1 and when done with a certain speed you still get the item from the previous active toolbar instead of the new one...


edit: this is not an issue in singleplayer

Re: toolbar latency in multiplayer

Posted: Tue Jun 04, 2019 10:20 am
by eradicator
You Sir have insane input speed! ;)

If i try this with autohotkey and a 1 millisecond delay it only reproduces half the time. Only if i remove the delay (whatever autohotkey then sets as a default delay...) it reproduces 99% of the time. With 20ms delay it still reproduces ~5% of the time.

Code: Select all

	F9::
		Send, x
		sleep, 20
		Send, 1
		return

Re: toolbar latency in multiplayer

Posted: Tue Jun 04, 2019 10:39 am
by dog80
eradicator wrote: Tue Jun 04, 2019 10:20 am You Sir have insane input speed! ;)

If i try this with autohotkey and a 1 millisecond delay it only reproduces half the time. Only if i remove the delay (whatever autohotkey then sets as a default delay...) it reproduces 99% of the time. With 20ms delay it still reproduces ~5% of the time.

Code: Select all

	F9::
		Send, x
		sleep, 20
		Send, 1
		return
maybe i only have a slow internet connection :P

Re: toolbar latency in multiplayer

Posted: Tue Jun 04, 2019 10:48 am
by eradicator
dog80 wrote: Tue Jun 04, 2019 10:39 am maybe i only have a slow internet connection :P
Oh, i misread your post. My measurements *are* in Singleplayer.

Re: [Twinsen]toolbar latency in multiplayer

Posted: Tue Jun 04, 2019 11:48 am
by Twinsen
I made it so the item location is based on GUI state instead of game state.

This means the keyboard shortcut will no longer work if the gui is hidden or does not exist, but I don't think such case exists or evem makes any sense.


So, fixed in Version: 0.17.46

Re: [Twinsen]toolbar latency in multiplayer

Posted: Wed Jun 05, 2019 10:37 am
by BattleFluffy
Ah amazing, this bug has affected me a lot in the past, that's awesome that it's going to be fixed now!

Re: [Twinsen]toolbar latency in multiplayer

Posted: Fri Jun 07, 2019 1:51 pm
by dog80
Twinsen wrote: Tue Jun 04, 2019 11:48 am I made it so the item location is based on GUI state instead of game state.

This means the keyboard shortcut will no longer work if the gui is hidden or does not exist, but I don't think such case exists or evem makes any sense.


So, fixed in Version: 0.17.46
works great ty alot, another bug or issue what confuses me is that when you take an item from the inventory or toolbar with no item in hand previously - then the item gets replaced with a placeholder in the inventory - that works great - but now with an item already in the hand - swap the item to any other item - now the placeholder stays on the previous item and the other item is just removed from invventory temporarily until you put it out of hand or drop it...

Re: [Twinsen]toolbar latency in multiplayer

Posted: Fri Jun 07, 2019 1:55 pm
by dog80
but this is not really a big matter its just a little bit confusing to sometimes see the inventory change when reputting items and not but thats all