Page 1 of 1

Modifying a platform should disable "transfer to other platforms" for a few seconds

Posted: Sat Sep 19, 2026 6:12 am
by sarge945
TL;DR
When I modify a platform that has "Transfer to other platforms" set, it should be temporarily unset for about 15 seconds or so.

What?
The "Transfer to other platforms" feature is very very useful, but has a slight downside.

If I try to modify a platform, such as removing 1 belt tile so that I can move it somewhere else, there is a good chance that the belt will disappear before I've placed it, because another platform is requesting belts. So then I will have to wait for a new transfer (potentially an entire rocket launch!!)

I propose that if we modify the platform in any way, all "transfer to other platforms" requests are temporarily disabled for about 15 seconds (resetting on each change), which should give us plenty of time to do some minor platform adjustments without instantly losing anything we've just unbuilt.
Why?
This can currently be worked around by unticking "transfer to other platforms" and then re-ticking it after, but doing it for very minor edits is quite annoying.

Re: Modifying a platform should disable "transfer to other platforms" for a few seconds

Posted: Sat Sep 19, 2026 8:38 am
by sarge945
Thinking about this more, the "transfer the other platforms" part isn't really all that important.

The same annoyance will happen if you are set to transfer something to a planet. The only saving grace is that usually planet to platform transfers are one way and for specific things that aren't usually built in space (combinators, belts, etc), so while this problem can happen in a similar situation when a platform drops something down to the surface the second it's deconstructed, this is not particularly likely.

Still, the core solution is probably to just make any platform modification instigate a cooldown of 15 seconds for all transfers the moment something is built or deleted on the platform, regardless of the "transfer to other platforms" setting.