Page 1 of 1

[Klonan] [1.1.69] Crash scaling GUI with GUI debug enabled

Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2022 5:12 am
by _CodeGreen
I was inspecting the locomotive GUI for a mod I'm working on when the game froze for a second due to an endless call stack and promptly crashed.

Steps to reproduce:
  1. Open locomotive GUI
  2. Enable GUI Debug with Ctrl + F5
  3. Scale up GUI with Ctrl + Numpad+
  4. GOTO 3
It seems to only be after scaling up exactly nine times that it crashes.
It also seems like it doesn't matter what order you do the steps in, as long as the locomotive GUI is opened with the debug enabled and the GUI scaled up nine times.

Re: [1.1.69] Crash scaling GUI with GUI debug enabled

Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2022 7:21 am
by boskid
Scaling up 9 times is just a coincidence on your end, for me it is 11 times. Crash is basically a stack overflow because TabbedPane during resizing is recursively resizing itself which in this particular case causes it to blow up as every other nested call gets larger width.

Re: [1.1.69] Crash scaling GUI with GUI debug enabled

Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2022 8:00 am
by _CodeGreen
Figures as much, GUI scaling issues are bound to change on different displays.

Re: [Klonan] [1.1.69] Crash scaling GUI with GUI debug enabled

Posted: Mon Jan 13, 2025 4:21 pm
by Klonan
I decided I don't really want to look into this, its deep in the layouting and only presents in specific GUIs with the debug option enabled

Re: [Klonan] [1.1.69] Crash scaling GUI with GUI debug enabled

Posted: Wed Jan 22, 2025 8:48 pm
by _CodeGreen
That's fine, we don't have the ability to scale the GUI up that high anymore anyway (nor did we have much reason to in the first place), so it's probably not even an issue anymore.