Page 1 of 1

Power pole with a 32x32 supply area

Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2020 3:40 am
by Pbenz2
It would be really nice to have a mod that would allow me to place either a big power pole, or a substation on each corner of a chunk. Right now I have the extended reach mod, which allows me to place big power poles on every corner, but it would be nice to have the supply area as 32x32. I cannot find a standalone mod that has this feature, but if this already exists I apologize, I have not been able to find it!

Re: Power pole with a 32x32 supply area

Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2020 8:37 am
by darkfrei
Place this code into data.lua to your new mod folder:

Code: Select all

data.raw["electric-pole"].substation.maximum_wire_distance = 34
data.raw["electric-pole"].substation.supply_area_distance = 17 

Re: Power pole with a 32x32 supply area

Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2020 10:15 pm
by Pbenz2
Thanks! Can I change supply_area_distance = 17 to 32 without issue?

Re: Power pole with a 32x32 supply area

Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2020 10:48 pm
by darkfrei
Pbenz2 wrote: Mon Jan 06, 2020 10:15 pm Thanks! Can I change supply_area_distance = 17 to 32 without issue?
Yes, but it's rectangle "radius". The half side of the supply square.

Vanilla values for substation (0.17):

Code: Select all

data.raw["electric-pole"].substation.maximum_wire_distance = 18 
data.raw["electric-pole"].substation.supply_area_distance = 9 
Big pole:

Code: Select all

data.raw["electric-pole"]["big-electric-pole"].maximum_wire_distance = 30 
data.raw["electric-pole"]["big-electric-pole"].supply_area_distance = 2 

Re: Power pole with a 32x32 supply area

Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2020 11:25 pm
by Pbenz2
Ahh, thanks! I already have mods installed, so can I just add that code to a new folder in mods? I appreciate the help!

Re: Power pole with a 32x32 supply area

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 12:06 am
by darkfrei
Pbenz2 wrote: Mon Jan 06, 2020 11:25 pm Ahh, thanks! I already have mods installed, so can I just add that code to a new folder in mods? I appreciate the help!
Make new folder, add info.json and data.lua into it.
https://wiki.factorio.com/Tutorial:Mod_structure

The data.lua - just this two strings without any data:extend().