Page 1 of 1

Unknown Entity Name

Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 7:46 pm
by FearThePenguin
Hello, I am trying to use the Factorio TAS mod with bobs and angels but I get the error ' Unknown Entity Name' when trying to build a non vanilla item. It seems to me that the mod can only see the vanilla prototypes. Can someone guide me in the right direction for what I can do for this mod to be able to see the prototypes of all items vanilla or modded.

This is the second time posting this question. The first time was disapproved for 'The reported message has the only purpose to advertise for a website or another product.' I think it was because I included a link to the Factorio TAS mods github page. If I am doing something wrong please advise.

Re: Unknown Entity Name

Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 8:29 pm
by Bilka
What mod are you using? What exactly is the error? What are you inputting?

Re: Unknown Entity Name

Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:00 pm
by FearThePenguin
I am using https://github.com/gotyoke/Factorio-AnyPct-TAS and viewtopic.php?t=43759 seablock.

I took gotyokes tasks.lua and changed it to

Code: Select all

local task = {}

task[1] = {"speed", 1}
task[2] = {"mine", {0.7,0.7}}
task[3] = {"build", "landfill-sand-3", {0.4,-0.4}, defines.direction.east}

return task
when trying to do the third task I get this error

Image


I did try changing "landfill-sand-3" to "landfill" and it didn't error but also didn't place anything, I'm assuming because i didn't actually have any of that item in my inventory. I'm only 90% confident that "landfill-sand-3" is what you start with in seablock. I used

Code: Select all

/c for name, _ in pairs(game.item_prototypes) do; game.write_file("item_names.txt", name.."\n", true); end
to output the names and took my best guess.

Re: Unknown Entity Name

Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:20 pm
by Bilka
The build function expects an entity. What you provided was an item name (you printed the item prototypes). Now, the thing is, even if you provide the right name the function will still not work, because you want to build a tile, not an entity. The mod seems to not support placing tiles. You will have to write your own function for that, probably using https://lua-api.factorio.com/latest/Lua ... rom_cursor (you have to put them item that places the tile in the cursor first).

Re: Unknown Entity Name

Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:24 pm
by FearThePenguin
Awesome, thank you so much for your time and help!