Page 1 of 1

[0.10.12] misleading message on productivity modules use

Posted: Mon Sep 29, 2014 5:53 pm
by arl85
if I try to insert a productivity module into an assembly machine I receive the message "Production module is usable on intermediate products"

If it is an error, I expect something like "is not usable..."

further distinction between intermediate products and other is not clear and/or explained anywhere.

Re: [0.10.12] misleading message on productivity modules use

Posted: Mon Sep 29, 2014 5:58 pm
by BurnHard
The "intermediate products" have their own tab in the crafting window (engine symbol). Everything in that tab works with the modules.

Re: [0.10.12] misleading message on productivity modules use

Posted: Tue Sep 30, 2014 4:40 am
by starxplor
Myabe if it said "is only useable", it looks like there is some kind of modifier missing, some might assume 'only', some might assume 'not'.

Re: [0.10.12] misleading message on productivity modules use

Posted: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:49 am
by arl85
BurnHard wrote:The "intermediate products" have their own tab in the crafting window (engine symbol). Everything in that tab works with the modules.
well, not exactly: wood is in third tab but cannot work with modules.

Re: [0.10.12] misleading message on productivity modules use

Posted: Thu Oct 02, 2014 10:12 am
by bobingabout
It can ONLY work on intermediate items, however, on top of that restriction is also a filter, if your item is not on the filter, it won't work on it even if it is an intermediate. this is to stop things such as oil barreling, you can't use it on a filling a barrel, then unfilling a barrel. if you could, you could put 2 of these factories back to back to fill and unfill oil, getting free barrels and oil in the process.

Re: [0.10.12] misleading message on productivity modules use

Posted: Fri Oct 03, 2014 9:07 am
by Jace_Macleod
Wait, productivity modules can only be used on intermediate products?

*loads up game to check*

Dammit. I thought I was being clever by assuming I could use productivity modules in every step of module-III production to dramatically reduce raw material cost. Now I've got to redo all those painstakingly-calculated numbers by going through the burdensome step of multiplying everything by 2, and by making the module blueprint twice as large. Nobody's got time for that. ;)

(Incidentally, the wiki should probably mention this restriction, just so other OCD planners can avoid making the same mistake.)

Re: [0.10.12] misleading message on productivity modules use

Posted: Fri Oct 03, 2014 9:49 am
by ssilk
Jace_Macleod wrote:Incidentally, the wiki should probably mention this restriction, just so other OCD planners can avoid making the same mistake.
Image

Ok, I've done it, but the sense of a wiki is to make it yourself. https://forums.factorio.com/wiki/inde ... tle=Module

Re: [0.10.12] misleading message on productivity modules use

Posted: Fri Oct 03, 2014 11:58 am
by arl85
bobingabout wrote:It can ONLY work on intermediate items
arl85 wrote:
BurnHard wrote:The "intermediate products" have their own tab in the crafting window (engine symbol). Everything in that tab works with the modules.
well, not exactly: wood is in third tab but cannot work with modules.
ok, wood seems to be an intermediate product but still I cannot use productivity module to produce it.

Re: [0.10.12] misleading message on productivity modules use

Posted: Fri Oct 03, 2014 4:33 pm
by ssilk
Wood is currently raw material:

Code: Select all

    <wood>
      <flags>
        <flags>goes-to-main-inventory</flags>
      </flags>
      <type>item</type>
      <name>wood</name>
      <stack_size>50</stack_size>
      <order>a[wood]</order>
      <subgroup>raw-material</subgroup>
      <icon>__base__/graphics/icons/wood.png</icon>
      <fuel_value>0.6MJ</fuel_value>
    </wood>

Re: [0.10.12] misleading message on productivity modules use

Posted: Fri Oct 03, 2014 6:40 pm
by arl85
ssilk wrote:Wood is currently raw material:
[...]
you're right, but still its creation cannot use productivity modules.

But I found how this thing is managed.
indata\base\prototypes\item\module.lua there's the productivitymodulelimitation function that lists products you can use prod module with.

Code: Select all

function productivitymodulelimitation()
return {"sulfuric-acid",
        "basic-oil-processing",
        "advanced-oil-processing",
        "heavy-oil-cracking",
        "light-oil-cracking",
        "solid-fuel-from-light-oil",
        "solid-fuel-from-heavy-oil",
        "solid-fuel-from-petroleum-gas",
        "lubricant",
        "iron-plate",
        "copper-plate",
        "steel-plate",
        "stone-brick",
        "sulfur",
        "plastic-bar",
        "empty-barrel",
        "iron-stick",
        "iron-gear-wheel",
        "copper-cable",
        "electronic-circuit",
        "advanced-circuit",
        "engine-unit",
        "electric-engine-unit",
        "processing-unit",
        "explosives",
        "battery",
        "flying-robot-frame",
        "science-pack-1",
        "science-pack-2",
        "science-pack-3",
        "alien-science-pack",
      }
end
I'm not sure if excluding wood has been done by purpose or by mistake