Page 1 of 1

[kovarex] [0.17.58] Misaligned train parked at stop

Posted: Mon Jul 22, 2019 1:58 pm
by IronCartographer
This issue was reported by someone on Discord: https://discordapp.com/channels/1396775 ... 0610481163

Image

Changing the chain signal between the two stops to a rail signal causes the train to wait for the next block to be open, but does not prevent it from parking immediately thereafter--out of alignment, but thinking it is parked at a stop correctly.
double stop chain.png
double stop chain.png (1.5 MiB) Viewed 3988 times
I have reproduced this with a test-case:
double stop.zip
(644.64 KiB) Downloaded 114 times
double stop loop.png
double stop loop.png (298.41 KiB) Viewed 3971 times
Original save: https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/ ... 12/new.zip

[Kovarex] [0.17.59] Train station "reached" window too large

Posted: Thu Jul 25, 2019 7:04 pm
by boskid
Ref:
  • 73466 - it is possible to make train to reach station and stop when locomotive is not aligned with station. This prevents connecting pumps to fluid wagons
  • 73547 - "reached" window looks to be from head of locomotive to about middle of locomotive. If locomotive passes station but then station that it passed is still within first half of locomotive, train will treat station as reached even without proper alignment
Issue:
train-stop-acceptance-window.gif
train-stop-acceptance-window.gif (2.91 MiB) Viewed 3902 times
save
If station is enabled when train is moving, it is possible for train to treat newly enabled station as reached even if from braking distance it should go past it and go full circle. This would allow for proper train alignment for fluid loading/unloading

In decider combinator:
- values up to 11 will allow train to align
- values from 12 to 15 will stop train at first station without alignment
- values at least 16 will make train miss and go next circle

Expected behavior: If train will not align with station, it should go full circle

-- edit:
Preferred solution would be to change how trains move: train should merely follow its braking point where braking point should follow path. This would solve:
- when all stations become disabled, train still has some path reserved for normal braking (at least from locomotive to braking point that is already ahead), and so instant train breaking would be prevented
- if breaking point is ahead of station train wants to reach, train path would be computed from braking point to station and so train would schedule "full circle" - some part would be in form of braking distance, some in form regular path for braking point to station - prevents train misalignment

Re: [0.17.58] Misaligned train parked at stop

Posted: Tue Jul 30, 2019 9:54 am
by ZZaphodd
also reproducible with ctrl+click train temporary stop

[0.17.64] Train stuck between two adjacent stations

Posted: Fri Aug 09, 2019 9:50 pm
by BloodKing
Image

Re: [0.17.64] Train stuck between two adjacent stations

Posted: Fri Aug 09, 2019 10:11 pm
by Loewchen
It's not stuck, the stations are so close that the train is considered stopped in both stations at the same time and so does not have to move at all.

Re: [kovarex] [0.17.58] Misaligned train parked at stop

Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 10:07 am
by kovarex
Thanks for the report and test cases. It is fixed for the next release now.

Re: [kovarex] [0.17.58] Misaligned train parked at stop

Posted: Wed Aug 14, 2019 10:50 am
by IronCartographer
Will the fix make this sort of thing impossible?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xynrNfzN7RM