Page 1 of 1

[0.16.51] Pump stuck with 0.0 liquid

Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2018 10:13 pm
by Blurb
I've been trying to build an oil-processing setup using fewer pipes than is usually recommended - because why not.
However, every once in a while the entire thing will grind to a halt because of a pump like this.
bugreport.jpg
bugreport.jpg (767.59 KiB) Viewed 1054 times
Actual behaviour: There's 0.0 liquid in the pump, and its output pipe is completely empty, yet the pump's contents are never moved.
Expected behaviour A pump should be able to completely empty itself, provided a suitable output is available

I've not figured out how to reliably reproduce this problem.
The oil-processing plant in the save game will sometimes produce the problem, but time taken varies greatly (one minute or several)

I suspect the origin of my problem may be related to
viewtopic.php?f=48&t=47258&hilit=pump+stuck
But I figure you devs know that better than I do


Attached save game uses the "Creative Mode (Fix for 0.16)" mod, but will work without.

Re: [0.16.51] Pump stuck with 0.0 liquid

Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2018 10:30 pm
by Loewchen
Different liquids in the same pipe is not supported.

Re: [0.16.51] Pump stuck with 0.0 liquid

Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2018 11:06 am
by Blurb
Loewchen wrote:
Fri Nov 16, 2018 10:30 pm
Different liquids in the same pipe is not supported.
I'm fully aware that only one type of liquid can occupy a given individual pipe segment at a time.
I just don't understand how this prevents the pump from working as (what I think is) intended.

Re: [0.16.51] Pump stuck with 0.0 liquid

Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 5:00 pm
by Blacky007
you have to construct a separate pipe systems for every fluid you get out of the refinery

Re: [0.16.51] Pump stuck with 0.0 liquid

Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 6:58 pm
by Blurb
Blacky007 wrote:
Mon Nov 19, 2018 5:00 pm
you have to construct a separate pipe systems for every fluid you get out of the refinery
I know how to build a functioning refinery the normal way - that's not my problem.
I'm trying to do things differently, if only because it'd be cool to have a refinery with a vastly simplified pipe network.

Re: [0.16.51] Pump stuck with 0.0 liquid

Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 9:19 pm
by eradicator
Loewchen wrote:
Fri Nov 16, 2018 10:30 pm
Different liquids in the same pipe is not supported.
The report has nothing to do with multiple fluids. It's the typical fluid rounding error for very low amounts. The pump has

Code: Select all

{
  amount=0.00017690301078074375,
  name="heavy-oil",
  temperature=24.999999999999993
}
inside and refuses to pump out the last fraction. Even if you remove all the other stuff and just pluck a fresh tank down:
notzero.jpg
notzero.jpg (59.6 KiB) Viewed 957 times

Re: [0.16.51] Pump stuck with 0.0 liquid

Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 9:26 pm
by darkfrei
eradicator wrote:
Mon Nov 19, 2018 9:19 pm
The report has nothing to do with multiple fluids.
fluids are not same

Re: [0.16.51] Pump stuck with 0.0 liquid

Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 9:35 pm
by eradicator
darkfrei wrote:
Mon Nov 19, 2018 9:26 pm
eradicator wrote:
Mon Nov 19, 2018 9:19 pm
The report has nothing to do with multiple fluids.
fluids are not same
Why do you even bother to answer if you didn't read my post? There's a picture in my post. Look at that. The mixing is totally unrelated to the report. <insert rage about people declining bugreports just because there's something else in the picture>

Re: [0.16.51] Pump stuck with 0.0 liquid

Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 9:44 pm
by Bilka
I agree that this has nothing to do with fluid mixing, so I moved it to bug reports again.

Re: [0.16.51] Pump stuck with 0.0 liquid

Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 2:53 am
by TruePikachu
Is the pump sleeping on the pipe/tank? Right now, I'm wondering if the pump's own logic thinks there's no fluid contained within.

Re: [0.16.51] Pump stuck with 0.0 liquid

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 3:36 pm
by Blurb
eradicator wrote:
Mon Nov 19, 2018 9:19 pm
Loewchen wrote:
Fri Nov 16, 2018 10:30 pm
Different liquids in the same pipe is not supported.
The report has nothing to do with multiple fluids. It's the typical fluid rounding error for very low amounts.
Thank you for making this point that I could not.
TruePikachu wrote:
Tue Nov 20, 2018 2:53 am
Is the pump sleeping on the pipe/tank? Right now, I'm wondering if the pump's own logic thinks there's no fluid contained within.
In the provided save as is, the pump shows its normal working animation - even if nothing is happening.
If the adjoining pipes are removed and replaced with empty ones, then the pump will instead appear idle.

Re: [0.16.51] Pump stuck with 0.0 liquid

Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 12:33 pm
by TreefrogGreaken
Yeah this was a problem for me when writing my mod.

I notiiced that even though the pipes showed 0.0 water, my mod was still trying to move water out the pipe/tank etc, eventually when I began printing out the amount value from the fluid box, found that the insane level of precision was the cause, no matter how many times my mod moved the receddingly small decimal it would always remain the next tick around when the fluidbox was remade.

I made my mod ignore fluid.amounts under 0.005 to stop it from endlessly trying to empty the pipe.

I wonder if Dominik could take a look with all the changes to the Fluid system in 0.17? Might be fixed already?

Re: [0.16.51] Pump stuck with 0.0 liquid

Posted: Wed May 01, 2019 2:16 pm
by Dominik
Hi, as far as I know pumps empty well in 0.17, even with the old algorithm. Unfortunately, in 0.16 the emptying of some things is difficult.