Page 1 of 1

[0.9.8] Sound && PNG-error fix for performance improvement

Posted: Mon May 26, 2014 11:46 am
by kurtiii
Hey,

running factorio on a kubuntu 12.04; game loads fine but when I click menue items or harvest resources, the sounds play with a good secound delay. The only modification I did was dealing with the png ICCP errors (http://tex.stackexchange.com/questions/ ... gb-profile) .

Did i break it, or did anyone solve/have a similar issue?

Thanks in advance :).

Re: [0.9.8] Factorio sound delays

Posted: Mon May 26, 2014 2:37 pm
by MF-
Did you had to deal with png ICCP errors?
Does it mean, that you have a solution to one of these in your sleeve?
Intel thread: https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... php?t=1991 (half of sprites missing)
ATI thread: https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... php?t=2964 (half of text missing)
Or you're simply running nVidia, which is not affected?

PS: There are many bugs labeled "sound delay". Try https://forums.factorio.com/forum/sea ... ound+delay ?

Re: [0.9.8] Factorio sound delays

Posted: Mon May 26, 2014 5:16 pm
by kurtiii
Thanks MF-, i'll take a look at those solutions. I did search the forum manually for sound issues and didn't see any threads; using the search function is ingenious! :p

For the png issues; Factorio was loading very slow (about 2-3 minutes to start) and printed masses of ICCP profile errors in the console, so I made a bash script with the code provided in the link http://tex.stackexchange.com/questions/ ... gb-profile to convert the png files. Replace the '/' folder with your game folder when u try it! That solved the loading issues and the console stayed clean.

Running factorio on an old T410 thinkpad with intel onboard grafics :o

Re: [0.9.8] Factorio sound delays

Posted: Mon May 26, 2014 5:28 pm
by MF-
I am not sure you'll find any sound solutions, but at least it might give you more insight.
I can't really say whether my sound is OK, given how severely not-ok the video is.

@pngs:
Oh, so you get all graphics while running Intel?
Can you please post GPU/OS specs at the Intel thread (https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... php?t=1991)

The main question: Did fixing the PNG issues also fix the "half of graphics missing" thing,
OR you got all graphics even before fixing the PNGs ?

Re: [0.9.8] Factorio sound delays

Posted: Mon May 26, 2014 8:40 pm
by kurtiii
Hey again,

I did try a fresh untar and took a look around. While having long loading times at the start and a lot of warnings (incorrect RGB .. and chunk does not match ..), I could NOT see the grafic problems mentioned in the threads you linked. Game looks fine.

The png "fix" did just improve the loadtime (greatly) and got rid of the warnings.

As per your request I posted my gfx card in the thread. :)

Re: [0.9.8] PNG errors can be fixed, improves loadtime

Posted: Tue May 27, 2014 7:27 am
by MF-
Hi,

@pngs
the PNG things are now rather hidden here, while being really useful and simple to apply.
Can you edit your first post's title to something reflecting the main topic?
I named this post "PNG errors can be fixed, improves loadtime" as a suggestion.

@sound
If you have any further sound-related comments, please post to the best-matching thread
(The point is to have one thread per issue, not one thread per player, after all :))
EDIT: I'm glad you found a solution.
@intel
thanks. I replied to you in that thread, asking for information that could further pinpoint the problem.

Re: [0.9.8] Sound && PNG-error fix for performance improveme

Posted: Tue May 27, 2014 1:33 pm
by kurtiii
Hey,

done,done and done. Happy bug hunting :D

Re: [0.9.8] Sound && PNG-error fix for performance improveme

Posted: Wed May 28, 2014 8:12 am
by cube
Are you sure the png change speeded up the start? We have a cache of sprites that is created on the first start (crop-cache.dat) and this takes some time. When comparing loading times, try starting the game once witout measuring time to give the cache a chance to rebuild.

The rest of this topic is a two times duplicate, as others have pointed out.

Re: [0.9.8] Sound && PNG-error fix for performance improveme

Posted: Wed May 28, 2014 6:11 pm
by Xandaros
I just made a very rough benchmark (basically me sitting there with a stopwatch) and I can safely say that there is no significant increase in loading speed. (All values in seconds)
Before applying the conversion:

Code: Select all

13.643
9.805
9.193
The first one taking longer can be attributed to the sprite cache mentioned by cube. (Although, I have started the game before. Either way, it definitely starts afterwards, so I think this one is negligible)

After applying it:

Code: Select all

9.454
9.928
9.829
As you can see it is always just short of 10 seconds. If there is an increase (and there probably is), it is almost unnoticable.

As for the sound problems, I get that, too. Lots of people do, actually. I don't think it is too bad, but it sure is weird :)

Edit: Deleted the sprite cache and did another measurement and it was pretty much exactly 20 seconds, so I have no idea what happened to the first launch.

Re: [0.9.8] Sound && PNG-error fix for performance improveme

Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2014 10:11 am
by slpwnd
The sound issue should have been solved in 0.10.4 I believe: https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... lay#p37895 So moving this to resolved issues. As for the png warnings we might switch them off if possible for the 0.10.7.