JamesOFarrell wrote:I figure i should pop up and say something at this point. Life is crazy at the moment, between work and house hunting I've got almost no time to relax. I used to play Factorio and mod in that time but these days I am messing around with some other things. I'm hoping to get back into Factorio when everything calms down but I doubt it will be for a before December. If someone wants to have a crack at patching Rail Tanker (or any of my other mods) feel free to. The code is on github, i'll eye the code and accept the pull request. If you want to post a new version just upload it to this tread and I'll link it in the first post.
[MOD 0.15.x] The Fat Controller. Remote train manager 2.0.7
-
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 402
- Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 8:54 am
- Contact:
Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The Fat Controller. Remote train management
I'm just going to paste this here from the rail tanker thread. I'll update the first post now with the posted version Choumiko posted earlier.
Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The Fat Controller. Remote train management
Ok, I will help out, if this mods (or others) needs to be updated. A short PM is enough.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...
Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The Fat Controller. Remote train management
I've done some work: TheFatController 0.3.13
Should work with new games as well as older saves that already had FAT installed.
If you only have saves from Factorio 0.12.13 or 0.12.14:
Load them with FatController disabled, save, reenable FatController and load again. Should work then (those versions messed up stored mod data, so there's no other way around it.
James, as with Railtanker, if you want, add a link to https://github.com/Choumiko/TheFatController/releases in the OP, i'll work on it every now and then (will mostly be bug fixes i guess)
Edit: Updated link to 0.3.13, fixed that FatController wasn't working when loading a game
Should work with new games as well as older saves that already had FAT installed.
If you only have saves from Factorio 0.12.13 or 0.12.14:
Load them with FatController disabled, save, reenable FatController and load again. Should work then (those versions messed up stored mod data, so there's no other way around it.
James, as with Railtanker, if you want, add a link to https://github.com/Choumiko/TheFatController/releases in the OP, i'll work on it every now and then (will mostly be bug fixes i guess)
Edit: Updated link to 0.3.13, fixed that FatController wasn't working when loading a game
Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The Fat Controller. Remote train management
Thank you, that totally fixed the error!!! <3
Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The Fat Controller. Remote train management
I have a question: I loaded Colonelwill's map with version 12.15 and this new version of Fat Controller. It takes a few minutes to find about half of the trains then stops. Found out that it's because any train that is manually stopped, can't update so therefore TFC can't find them. Is there a script or something we can run that will force all trains to update or something similar? or do we just have to find each train and turn them on?
Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The Fat Controller. Remote train management
Good point, use the new version below:mbritb wrote:Found out that it's because any train that is manually stopped, can't update so therefore TFC can't find them. Is there a script or something we can run that will force all trains to update or something similar? or do we just have to find each train and turn them on?
The Fat Controller 0.3.14
- Scans for trains when TFC get's added to a save or updated from older versions.
- requires Factorio 0.12.12+
- Display localised item names
Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The Fat Controller. Remote train management
OMG! Thank you so much Choumiko!!! I'm sorry we keep you guys so busy! Very Very grateful for all you guys have done for us!! Y'all are awesome!!
-
- Inserter
- Posts: 20
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:25 am
- Contact:
Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The Fat Controller. Remote train management
Thanks so much for updating the mod so fast, means alot
-
- Manual Inserter
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 2:51 pm
- Contact:
Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The Fat Controller. Remote train management
Hi when i try to run Factorio, i get this error "(player): using axially_symmetrical with just 1 direction"
I hope someone can help me out with this
I hope someone can help me out with this
Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The Fat Controller. Remote train management
New version: The Fat Controller 0.3.15
- fix typo, preventing unlocking after research
What Factorio/FatController version? Or delete the FatController zip/folder and try again, if it still shows the error without it then it's something elserasser0759 wrote:Hi when i try to run Factorio, i get this error "(player): using axially_symmetrical with just 1 direction"
I hope someone can help me out with this
-
- Manual Inserter
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 2:51 pm
- Contact:
Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The Fat Controller. Remote train management
Choumiko wrote:New version: The Fat Controller 0.3.15
If you already have rail-signals (not rails-signals ) researched and the button shows up there's no need to update.
- fix typo, preventing unlocking after research
What Factorio/FatController version? Or delete the FatController zip/folder and try again, if it still shows the error without it then it's something elserasser0759 wrote:Hi when i try to run Factorio, i get this error "(player): using axially_symmetrical with just 1 direction"
I hope someone can help me out with this
I say thank you for the update it was all that i needed.
-
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 778
- Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2014 12:59 pm
- Contact:
Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The Fat Controller. Remote train management
Using 0.3.15, this doesn't appear to work completely yet. I just had a train that I had set to wait forever on condition empty using SmartTrains, and it only got added after that condition was met and the train started movingChoumiko wrote:Scans for trains when TFC get's added to a save or updated from older versions.
If it's relevant, I upgraded from 0.3.14 where I ran into the unlock problem, so it wasn't active yet. To troubleshoot that, I did a save without the mod and then re-added 0.3.14, which obviously didn't fix it because 0.3.15 did. I started the game with a version before that, probably 0.3.11 as I don't have 12 or 13 on my PC.
I don't have OCD, I have CDO. It's the same, but with the letters in the correct order.
Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The Fat Controller. Remote train management
That's probably it, the code from 0.3.15 looks like thisBoogieman14 wrote:If it's relevant, I upgraded from 0.3.14 where I ran into the unlock problem, so it wasn't active yet.
Code: Select all
if not oldVersion or oldVersion < "0.3.14" then
findTrains()
end
If you (or anyone else) has a lot of stopped/manual controlled trains and want them to show up in TFC, just disable it, load+save, reenable and load. Should work then. For later versions it will work as advertised.
Edit: In case you update a save where you are remote controlling a train and can't switch back: https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... 52#p115852
- Thomasnotused
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 262
- Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 9:58 pm
- Contact:
Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The Fat Controller. Remote train management
Enabling TFC (0.3.15) causes stuttering when fast-replacing transport belts, disabling solves issue completely. Any clue on why it does that?
I have no idea what I'm doing.
Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The Fat Controller. Remote train management
(Probably) fixed if you use https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Choum ... ontrol.lua as the control.lua for The Fat Controller.SuicidalKid wrote:Enabling TFC (0.3.15) causes stuttering when fast-replacing transport belts, disabling solves issue completely. Any clue on why it does that?
If it's fixed: There was an event when an entity died/was mined that wasn't filtered to the types TFC would care about and so got run way too often. I guess you have quite a lot of trains? Fast replacing would cause it to be even worse, since that's a very quick way to mine a item.
Will make a proper release some time soon.
This control.lua should also swap players back to their real character when updating from versions < 0.3.14. If you want to be real safe: Don't upgrade a save where you are remote controlling a train
- Thomasnotused
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 262
- Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 9:58 pm
- Contact:
Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The Fat Controller. Remote train management
Using that control.lua completely fixed the issue, yay for no more stutters! Now back to adding another 15 trains to the networkChoumiko wrote:
(Probably) fixed if you use https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Choum ... ontrol.lua as the control.lua for The Fat Controller.
If it's fixed: There was an event when an entity died/was mined that wasn't filtered to the types TFC would care about and so got run way too often. I guess you have quite a lot of trains? Fast replacing would cause it to be even worse, since that's a very quick way to mine a item.
Will make a proper release some time soon.
This control.lua should also swap players back to their real character when updating from versions < 0.3.14. If you want to be real safe: Don't upgrade a save where you are remote controlling a train
I have no idea what I'm doing.
Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The Fat Controller. Remote train management
New version: The Fat Controller 0.3.16
- min Factorio 0.12.17
- display localised name of liquids (railtanker)
- follow last carriage if train is moving backwards (double headers)
- fixed stuttering with lots of trains when fast replacing belts
-
- Manual Inserter
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 12:34 am
- Contact:
Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The Fat Controller. Remote train management
Code: Select all
Error while running the event handler: __TheFatController__/control.lua:295: attempt to index field 'guiSettings' (a nil value)
You can start a new game without this error.
Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The Fat Controller. Remote train management
New version: The Fat Controller 0.3.17
- updated for Factorio 0.12.19 (only necessary for multiplayer saves)
What FatController version? 0.3.16 doesn't even try to access the field on that lineSaxonHammer wrote:Hi - Just got the above message - I have version 0.12.18 running - the message occurs when trying to load a game.Code: Select all
Error while running the event handler: __TheFatController__/control.lua:295: attempt to index field 'guiSettings' (a nil value)
You can start a new game without this error.
-
- Manual Inserter
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 12:34 am
- Contact:
Re: [MOD 0.12.x] The Fat Controller. Remote train management
SaxonHammer wrote:Hi - Just got the above message - I have version 0.12.18 running - the message occurs when trying to load a game.Code: Select all
Error while running the event handler: __TheFatController__/control.lua:295: attempt to index field 'guiSettings' (a nil value)
You can start a new game without this error.
Fixed when I updated to new version of your mod and Factorio