Page 1 of 1

Why is my decider not working?

Posted: Sat Sep 14, 2019 10:35 pm
by Spaghettificator
Hello fellow engineers.
I'm trying to make a smart station for a really far away outpost to deliver building supplies.
I'm not a complete noob with logic in this game relating to simple systems, but i can't figure out why is this particular situation not working.
So i'm trying to make a decider in the example show in the image here output a signal of type 1 unit if the sum of both chests are 3.
I have 2 pipes in the first chest and 1 spliter on the other chest. Both are connected with a red wire, and one is connected with also a red wire in the decider.
The decider thus is receiving a 2 pipe signal and a 1 spliter signal, resulting in 3 signals.
Here is the problem, i made the condition if "everything" equals 3, emit a 0 signal, but its not working, the decider is not emitting the signal. And i can't figure out why.
Can't i have a sum of multiple chests to work with one decider?

Re: Why is my decider not working?

Posted: Sat Sep 14, 2019 10:45 pm
by Loewchen
Everything is true when all existing signals individually meet the condition. In your case none of the signals meet the condition so it is not true.

Re: Why is my decider not working?

Posted: Sat Sep 14, 2019 11:12 pm
by DaveMcW
You need an arithmetic combinator to convert between different signals.

Each + 0 -> Signal A

This adds up all signals (pipe and splitter) and stores them in signal A. Then you can use signal A in the decider combinator.

Re: Why is my decider not working?

Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2019 12:14 am
by Spaghettificator
Ahh, ok. I did not realized what it said on the asterisk description. Just assumed Everything means all signals and their values.
Thank you for the explanation.