AWay to totally lock a track path.

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
Tekky
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 996
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 10:53 am
Contact:

Re: AWay to totally lock a track path.

Post by Tekky » Sat Oct 27, 2018 4:30 pm

AnthonyForPOTUS wrote:
Sat Oct 27, 2018 1:33 pm
Hyenna wrote:
Mon Oct 22, 2018 6:53 pm
dog80 wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 2:30 pm
...there IS NO WAY to TOTALLY LOCK a path...
Thats why im suggesting it here in the suggestions section.
Circuit network can send red signal = 1 to a light to lock it red.
A red signal does not always prevent a train from selecting a path. It only gives the pathfinder a penalty for selecting a certain path, so that it is less likely to select it.

User avatar
eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3057
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
Contact:

Re: AWay to totally lock a track path.

Post by eradicator » Sat Oct 27, 2018 5:24 pm

Tekky wrote:
Sat Oct 27, 2018 4:30 pm
A red signal does not always prevent a train from selecting a path. It only gives the pathfinder a penalty for selecting a certain path, so that it is less likely to select it.
The extra penalty is only applied when the signal is forced red by a circuit connection. Standard red signals don't have special penalties, just the penalty for a train being in the way (otherwise the signal wouldn't be red).
Author of: Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Hotkey 2.0
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.

AnthonyForPOTUS
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 12:28 am
Contact:

Re: AWay to totally lock a track path.

Post by AnthonyForPOTUS » Sun Oct 28, 2018 2:53 am

Tekky wrote:
Sat Oct 27, 2018 4:30 pm
AnthonyForPOTUS wrote:
Sat Oct 27, 2018 1:33 pm
Hyenna wrote:
Mon Oct 22, 2018 6:53 pm
dog80 wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 2:30 pm
...there IS NO WAY to TOTALLY LOCK a path...
Thats why im suggesting it here in the suggestions section.
Circuit network can send red signal = 1 to a light to lock it red.
A red signal does not always prevent a train from selecting a path. It only gives the pathfinder a penalty for selecting a certain path, so that it is less likely to select it.
Red signal will completely block that path. A train cannot path through a red signal except under manual control or if it was already pathing through it when it turned red and it cannot stop in time. I am not sure why you think it can path through it. If you mean the pathfinding algorithm, then yes, it will consider that path. There is no way to get the pathfinding algorithm to not consider an otherwise valid path. It can however be encouraged to follow one path over another. I have a FIFO stacker that has an automatic bypass if the stacker is empty. If there are no trains in the stacker, an incoming train shortcuts the entire system. If there is even one train in the stacker, the incoming train must get in line and wait its turn. It is mechanical enforced. The entry signal will not allow a train to take the shortcut even if the stacker is full.

User avatar
Hyenna
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 6:49 am
Contact:

Re: AWay to totally lock a track path.

Post by Hyenna » Tue Nov 06, 2018 6:27 pm

AnthonyForPOTUS wrote:
Sun Oct 28, 2018 2:53 am
Red signal will completely block that path. A train cannot path through a red signal except under manual control or if it was already pathing through it when it turned red and it cannot stop in time. I am not sure why you think it can path through it.
Im not thinking that it will pass through. A red signal only prevents a train to enter the path but it doesnt lock the path for the pathfinder.
So the train will wait for the signal to turn green instead of taking the other path where it could get closer to its destination due to penalties. The problem start when the train waiting penalties go bigger then the signal penalties.

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users