There are no trains

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
Post Reply
Amarula
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 1:29 pm
Contact:

There are no trains

Post by Amarula » Sat Sep 15, 2018 1:28 pm

Every time you place a train stop, the menu for the new stop says "There are no trains". This was driving me crazy as I had lots of trains! I eventually figured out this means "No trains are currently assigned to stop here." Even "this stop has no trains" would be better.

And my morning chuckle when I searched to see if this has already been reported:
Screenshot from 2018-09-15 09-26-49.png
Screenshot from 2018-09-15 09-26-49.png (19.52 KiB) Viewed 471 times
[Edit: I told my husband about the search; he said it is obvious that the search would not report any results, because "There are no trains!!!"]

CJ5Boss
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 11:55 pm
Contact:

Re: There are no trains

Post by CJ5Boss » Thu Jan 10, 2019 5:04 pm

That's kinda funny, never really noticed that before.
"Artillery laser cannon shotgun uranium explosive turret tanks" would be the greatest thing ever.
You might try checking out my mod: https://mods.factorio.com/mod/CJs_QoL_Research_Ver1

User avatar
steinio
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2033
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: There are no trains

Post by steinio » Thu Jan 10, 2019 6:01 pm

All your trains belong to us.
Image[url=steam://friends/add/'.76561198315557255.']Image[/url]
Transport Belt Repair Man
My little mods: Link | My favourite mods: Bob's Mods | Angel's Mods | Yuoki Railway Core | EvoGUI | Logistic Train Network
Factorio Cheat Sheet by Denis Zholob

View unread Posts

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 6165
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: There are no trains

Post by bobingabout » Fri Jan 11, 2019 9:55 am

There is no spoon.



but yeah, a better message could be used. With 0.17 around the corner, this is probably an ideal time for that to happen too.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.

User avatar
Oktokolo
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 480
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 5:45 pm
Contact:

Re: There are no trains

Post by Oktokolo » Fri Jan 11, 2019 10:20 am

The real bug is that the forum search ignored the most important word of your query.
I always wondered why forum search in general has to suck that hard. The problem is not specific to Factorio or gaming forums. You can go to any forum on the internets and their search function will just suck hard. Forum search seems to always get that extra shot in the head...

Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4740
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: There are no trains

Post by Loewchen » Fri Jan 11, 2019 10:35 am

Oktokolo wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 10:20 am
The real bug is that the forum search ignored the most important word of your query.
I always wondered why forum search in general has to suck that hard. The problem is not specific to Factorio or gaming forums. You can go to any forum on the internets and their search function will just suck hard. Forum search seems to always get that extra shot in the head...
The search only worked like this for two days, now every word larger than two characters is indexed. Searching is usually bad because it takes a huge amount of computation to fulfil only a single users request.

Zavian
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1281
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: There are no trains

Post by Zavian » Fri Jan 11, 2019 10:52 am

Getting back on topic,
Amarula wrote:
Sat Sep 15, 2018 1:28 pm
Every time you place a train stop, the menu for the new stop says "There are no trains". This was driving me crazy as I had lots of trains! I eventually figured out this means "No trains are currently assigned to stop here." Even "this stop has no trains" would be better.
+1 to fixing the wording.
My suggestion "there are no trains assigned to stop here."

User avatar
Bilka
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1155
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 9:20 am
Contact:

Re: There are no trains

Post by Bilka » Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:00 am

Right now it is "this stop has no trains", I wanted to keep it short.
I'm an admin over at https://wiki.factorio.com. Feel free to contact me if there's anything wrong (or right) with it.

Amarula
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 1:29 pm
Contact:

Re: There are no trains

Post by Amarula » Fri Jan 11, 2019 3:47 pm

Bilka wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:00 am
Right now it is "this stop has no trains", I wanted to keep it short.
Thank you Bilka! As Yoda would say: trains there are no, but totally awesome you are ;-)

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 6165
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: There are no trains

Post by bobingabout » Mon Jan 14, 2019 9:47 am

Amarula wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 3:47 pm
Bilka wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:00 am
Right now it is "this stop has no trains", I wanted to keep it short.
Thank you Bilka! As Yoda would say: trains there are no, but totally awesome you are ;-)
Yoda's sentence structure might seem odd to use English speakers, but consider that other languages have different sentence structures, and it doesn't feel that odd. You can just assume that whatever his native language is uses a structure different to ours.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests