Is it possible to input balance a single belt's lanes?

Post all other topics which do not belong to any other category.
Post Reply
zOldBulldog
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 742
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 1:20 pm

Is it possible to input balance a single belt's lanes?

Post by zOldBulldog » Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:05 pm

Traditional single-belt lane balancers may fill the output side equally but don't draw exactly the same amount from the I put side.

Googling for "input balanced" single belt balancer designs did not yield any designs that achieve what I described. (Plus, since these could be needed on every belt that leaves the bus they'd need to be reasonably compact)..

Has anybody seen such a design? Is it even feasible without combinators?

User avatar
Bilka
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 9:20 am

Re: Is it possible to input balance a single belt's lanes?

Post by Bilka » Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:13 pm

The input and output balanced lane balancer on the wiki which you surely found on your search does exactly what you want:

I'm an admin over at https://wiki.factorio.com. Feel free to contact me if there's anything wrong (or right) with it.

zOldBulldog
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 742
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 1:20 pm

Re: Is it possible to input balance a single belt's lanes?

Post by zOldBulldog » Sun Aug 12, 2018 10:16 pm

Bilka wrote:The input and output balanced lane balancer on the wiki which you surely found on your search does exactly what you want:

I use it both on exit from the smelters and on each line that branches off the bus, and it isbetter than nothing, but under some conditions the bus still gets unbalanced.

Edit:. Never mind, the image did not load until after hitting Submit. That balancer looks different than the ones I tried. Thanks, will give it a shot.

User avatar
eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2604
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am

Re: Is it possible to input balance a single belt's lanes?

Post by eradicator » Mon Aug 13, 2018 4:10 am

lanebalancer.jpg
lanebalancer.jpg (90.88 KiB) Viewed 1798 times
All lane balancers operate on the same simple principles:
  1. Split the input belt into seperate lanes
  2. Construct a full belt from each lane
  3. Merge the resulting lanes back into a single belt.
The above example is ofc made larger to see the steps easily. There's many tricks that can be used to make compact lane-balancing balancers even for multiple input lanes. The correct search term is thus "lane balance/ed/ing/...".
Author of: Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Hotkey 2.0
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2579
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am

Re: Is it possible to input balance a single belt's lanes?

Post by mrvn » Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:00 am

Bilka wrote:The input and output balanced lane balancer on the wiki which you surely found on your search does exactly what you want:

This looks to waste an underground belt. Specifically the left pair could be reduced to just one underground I think. Take the bottom left underground and the curved belt feeding it. Turn the underground 90° clockwise and put it directly after the splitter. Change it's direction to output. Add a curved belt after it to feed the second splitter.

cbhj1
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 2:53 pm

Re: Is it possible to input balance a single belt's lanes?

Post by cbhj1 » Mon Aug 13, 2018 1:04 pm

I suspect the reason for the current design is so they can be built side by side without undergrounds interfering with each other.

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2579
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am

Re: Is it possible to input balance a single belt's lanes?

Post by mrvn » Mon Aug 13, 2018 1:48 pm

cbhj1 wrote:I suspect the reason for the current design is so they can be built side by side without undergrounds interfering with each other.
Would still work. Just don't put a mirror image of one next to it. It will connect with an underground going the other way.

nosports
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 5:44 pm

Re: Is it possible to input balance a single belt's lanes?

Post by nosports » Mon Aug 13, 2018 2:43 pm

Why do you all make it so complicated ?

I just use a splitter and merge the two ways into a single belt....
There is no ned for the subway-belts :?:

zOldBulldog
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 742
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 1:20 pm

Re: Is it possible to input balance a single belt's lanes?

Post by zOldBulldog » Mon Aug 13, 2018 3:20 pm

nosports wrote:Why do you all make it so complicated ?

I just use a splitter and merge the two ways into a single belt....
There is no ned for the subway-belts :?:
That is the one I was using and didn't quite do the trick: split then merge on both sides of a belt.

That design:

- Correctly causes a full output belt.
- But under some conditions it causes one of the lanes of the input belt to be drained faster than the other. I am not sure why, but I suspect that it simply reflects the consumption.

So, I *suspect* (not know) that it is viable as an input balancer when you are drawing a half belt but not viable when you use full belts but inserters are taking items mostly from one side of the belt.

nosports
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 5:44 pm

Re: Is it possible to input balance a single belt's lanes?

Post by nosports » Mon Aug 13, 2018 3:44 pm

I i have a given input and thous it will be symetrically placed on the single belt.

IF the drain is unsymetrically and the input can't cope with the drain there is in my opinion no way you can solve this....

if the input can cope with the drain, but a side of the belt is chocked then with the single spliter all will be sorted of the lacking side of the belt - thouse improving the throughput.

For me its easier to input just more of some to have a full output belt, because if you think of it, then it need to be full to take full advantage of a filled belt

IF you have two input belt with differnt fill just take advantage of the input/output options of the splitter, so you can choose a main feed which will be filled by the secondary feed


I suspect all will do the same, but i would not think to much of it, because either the belt needs to be full --> more input, or it is even as possible, when the output cant cope with the input symetrically, or when the drain is highly unsymetricalla, one side will chocke and the reamaing input will be sorted to the lacking side ......

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2579
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am

Re: Is it possible to input balance a single belt's lanes?

Post by mrvn » Mon Aug 20, 2018 9:39 am

nosports wrote:I i have a given input and thous it will be symetrically placed on the single belt.

IF the drain is unsymetrically and the input can't cope with the drain there is in my opinion no way you can solve this....

if the input can cope with the drain, but a side of the belt is chocked then with the single spliter all will be sorted of the lacking side of the belt - thouse improving the throughput.

For me its easier to input just more of some to have a full output belt, because if you think of it, then it need to be full to take full advantage of a filled belt

IF you have two input belt with differnt fill just take advantage of the input/output options of the splitter, so you can choose a main feed which will be filled by the secondary feed


I suspect all will do the same, but i would not think to much of it, because either the belt needs to be full --> more input, or it is even as possible, when the output cant cope with the input symetrically, or when the drain is highly unsymetricalla, one side will chocke and the reamaing input will be sorted to the lacking side ......
You are balancing / filling the output. But the question was about balancing the input side. Completely different issue.

User avatar
tzwaan
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 12:12 am

Re: Is it possible to input balance a single belt's lanes?

Post by tzwaan » Sat Aug 25, 2018 4:45 pm

mrvn wrote:
Bilka wrote:The input and output balanced lane balancer on the wiki which you surely found on your search does exactly what you want:

This looks to waste an underground belt. Specifically the left pair could be reduced to just one underground I think. Take the bottom left underground and the curved belt feeding it. Turn the underground 90° clockwise and put it directly after the splitter. Change it's direction to output. Add a curved belt after it to feed the second splitter.
Unfortunately, that won't work, because the splitter would then be sideloading onto the left side of the belt instead of the right side. Which means the second splitter in the balancer won't work correctly.

User avatar
Topazy
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 4:52 pm

Re: Is it possible to input balance a single belt's lanes?

Post by Topazy » Tue Aug 28, 2018 9:35 am

If you must use a lane balancer, this one is both input and output perfect

However, what you should really do is start using balanced designs that pull evenly from both sides of the belt. Lane balancers will lag the game a bit due to the game calculations involved in belts (or at least, that was the information several months ago and it doesn't look like anything has changed for them.)
Last edited by Topazy on Tue Aug 28, 2018 10:40 am, edited 1 time in total.
Water table new of factorio!

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2579
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am

Re: Is it possible to input balance a single belt's lanes?

Post by mrvn » Tue Aug 28, 2018 9:38 am

tzwaan wrote:
mrvn wrote:
Bilka wrote:The input and output balanced lane balancer on the wiki which you surely found on your search does exactly what you want:

This looks to waste an underground belt. Specifically the left pair could be reduced to just one underground I think. Take the bottom left underground and the curved belt feeding it. Turn the underground 90° clockwise and put it directly after the splitter. Change it's direction to output. Add a curved belt after it to feed the second splitter.
Unfortunately, that won't work, because the splitter would then be sideloading onto the left side of the belt instead of the right side. Which means the second splitter in the balancer won't work correctly.
Right, you then need an extra belt so the underground belt side loads onto the belt going north and items end up on the right side of the belt again.

Trebor
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2017 1:39 pm

Re: Is it possible to input balance a single belt's lanes?

Post by Trebor » Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:17 pm

Here's one that may be what you are looking for:
Screen Shot 2018-08-29 at 7.11.24 PM.png
Before
Screen Shot 2018-08-29 at 7.11.24 PM.png (495.36 KiB) Viewed 980 times
Screen Shot 2018-08-29 at 7.12.52 PM.png
After
Screen Shot 2018-08-29 at 7.12.52 PM.png (477.99 KiB) Viewed 980 times

Code: Select all

0eNqdlG9vgyAQh7/LvcZFsP4pX2VZFm1vC4kiAbrUGL/7sKbLotdu8hKQJ8+d3G+Epr2gsUp7kCOoU68dyNcRnPrUdTvv+cEgSFAeO2Cg625efdTOJ97W2pne+qTB1sPEQOkzXkHy6Y0Baq+8wgV3Wwzv+tI1aMMHPyC8GovOrVkMTO/C9V7PCgGZMhhAJodpYhua2NCcaZX34WzLeckXUkaRsqcFPpISFOqwD5XwO4vBWVk8LWeCIOf7yPyJZLFTUiws/rdkGUVOKckqrpOcYh2jfvCq3oIA8zTKMv0Hmcc4k53kIurpkJ3kWQyL1lrNyuPpTe7jSyvlEUFAzgUvYoqjpcrIrAsBFVL0FrvyV0oz+ELrltdSlUJU/JiWoYhvKcjx4w==

Post Reply

Return to “General discussion”