Page 1 of 1

Mouse Back Button in the Tech Tree

Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2017 10:04 pm
by Roy
In the tech tree interface, you can go back to the previously selected technology by pressing the backspace key on the keyboard. But the back button that most mice have, doesn't work. It instead acts like a left click.

Can this change? It seems very unintuitive that the back button on the mouse selects the technology under the cursor, rather than go back to the previous one.

This also happens in the menus, except that the escape button acts as the back button. Except for the mods menu, where the escape button doesn't do anything.

Re: Mouse Back Button in the Tech Tree

Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2017 10:28 pm
by eradicator
Those buttons are more like "Mouse Button 4" that browser makers tend to use that way but it's not actually a "back" button as such. Factorio should just ignore it on that screen (actually this looks pretty buggy).

You can rebind the key in controls->game->select previous technology to use the Mouse Button 4, but then you won't be able to use backspace anymore. If you want to use both you could try using autohotkey to rebind the mouse button:

Code: Select all

#IfWinActive ahk_exe factorio.exe
XButton1::BackSpace

Re: Mouse Back Button in the Tech Tree

Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 1:13 am
by Jap2.0
Exactly - it's not neccesarily a back button. It's it's own button which is oten used as a back button. In video games and such you can often see extra mouse buttons used independantly, with their own keybindings - not neccesarily back. I've also seen the suggestion for secondary keybindings, in which case you could use that as a second keybinding.

Re: Mouse Back Button in the Tech Tree

Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 1:25 am
by Roy
I completely forgot about controls rebinding, that solves one problem. And toggle menu seems to be the one for the menus.

There's still that problem with the mods window not closing with escape, and it would be very useful if you can rebind to multiple keys. Autohotkey can't fully replace that.

I also found a bug with toggle menu. If I rebind the toggle menu button to any other key other than escape, then I can't close the menu with it. Even worse, if I rebind it to mouse button 4, then I can't open the menu in-game (so I can't even quit the game).

Re: Mouse Back Button in the Tech Tree

Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 8:22 am
by eradicator
Roy wrote:There's still that problem with the mods window not closing with escape,
Do you mean windows that are created by mods? That kind of handling is for the mod author to decide and implement. Though i think i read somewhere that there are going to be improvements for that in 0.16. Currently it would require the mod to register a custom hotkey for that and "guess" which hotkey the user has actually bound to "close menu".
Roy wrote:and it would be very useful if you can rebind to multiple keys. Autohotkey can't fully replace that.
What parts of rebinding doesn't autohotkey handle? While i agree that it would be nicer to have it ingame i can't think of any.
Roy wrote: I also found a bug with toggle menu. If I rebind the toggle menu button to any other key other than escape, then I can't close the menu with it. Even worse, if I rebind it to mouse button 4, then I can't open the menu in-game (so I can't even quit the game).
Have you filed a bug report?

Re: Mouse Back Button in the Tech Tree

Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 8:59 am
by bobingabout
eradicator wrote:
Roy wrote:There's still that problem with the mods window not closing with escape,
Do you mean windows that are created by mods? That kind of handling is for the mod author to decide and implement. Though i think i read somewhere that there are going to be improvements for that in 0.16. Currently it would require the mod to register a custom hotkey for that and "guess" which hotkey the user has actually bound to "close menu".
On top of that, you can't even use ESC to close mod windows, because it will just open the escape menu, as if the mod window wasn't there.

Re: Mouse Back Button in the Tech Tree

Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 12:42 pm
by Roy
eradicator wrote:
Roy wrote:There's still that problem with the mods window not closing with escape,
Do you mean windows that are created by mods? That kind of handling is for the mod author to decide and implement. Though I think I read somewhere that there are going to be improvements for that in 0.16. Currently it would require the mod to register a custom hotkey for that and "guess" which hotkey the user has actually bound to "close menu".
I meant the window where you toggle the mods on or off (this one).
eradicator wrote:
Roy wrote:and it would be very useful if you can rebind to multiple keys. Autohotkey can't fully replace that.
What parts of rebinding doesn't autohotkey handle? While I agree that it would be nicer to have it ingame I can't think of any.
Try rebinding movement to wasd and the arrow keys. You can easily make that work, but if you want to save the game, and type a name for the save, you won't be able to use the left arrow key to go back and correct a typo.

Autohotkey doesn't know the difference between being in-game where you can move around, and a textfield where you want to type stuff.
eradicator wrote:
Roy wrote: I also found a bug with toggle menu. If I rebind the toggle menu button to any other key other than escape, then I can't close the menu with it. Even worse, if I rebind it to mouse button 4, then I can't open the menu in-game (so I can't even quit the game).
Have you filed a bug report?
I have now: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=53595

Re: Mouse Back Button in the Tech Tree

Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 1:55 pm
by eradicator
Roy wrote:
eradicator wrote:
Roy wrote:and it would be very useful if you can rebind to multiple keys. Autohotkey can't fully replace that.
What parts of rebinding doesn't autohotkey handle? While I agree that it would be nicer to have it ingame I can't think of any.
Try rebinding movement to wasd and the arrow keys. You can easily make that work, but if you want to save the game, and type a name for the save, you won't be able to use the left arrow key to go back and correct a typo.
Oh...right :oops:.


@mods menu:
Sounds like an issue caused by the fact that the game sometimes needs to reboot when exiting that menu.
bobingabout wrote: On top of that, you can't even use ESC to close mod windows, because it will just open the escape menu, as if the mod window wasn't there.
Even if you bind it to a custom input? Never tried. I mostly use "e" to close menus ingame.

Re: Mouse Back Button in the Tech Tree

Posted: Thu Oct 26, 2017 7:56 am
by bobingabout
eradicator wrote:
bobingabout wrote: On top of that, you can't even use ESC to close mod windows, because it will just open the escape menu, as if the mod window wasn't there.
Even if you bind it to a custom input? Never tried. I mostly use "e" to close menus ingame.
Binding a custom input is fine, but due to the way things work (it registers you pressing the key as an event), you can't prevent standard escape functionality, so the escape menu always opens when no base game windows are open.