Page 1 of 1

[0.15.2] Recipes not set on assembling mach. from blueprints

Posted: Wed Apr 26, 2017 9:21 am
by factoriouzr
Recipes are not set on assembling machines when placed from blueprints if the recipe is not yet researched.

Other entities like requester chests have their requests set to not yet researched items, same with filters on inserters. We should have the same behaviour for assembling machines and other factories. The current behaviour is inconsistent, confusing, and frustrating. When I place a blueprint and it's built (Ie. I have the factories, etc needed), the factories show up blank (they also show up blank in the placed ghost).

All factories should allow setting their recipes before the research is done, same as all other entities that can request, filter etc, have conditions etc.

Re: [0.15.2] Recipes not set on assembling mach. from blueprints

Posted: Wed Apr 26, 2017 9:24 am
by Klonan
factoriouzr wrote:Recipes are not set on assembling machines when placed from blueprints if the recipe is not yet researched.

Other entities like requester chests have their requests set to not yet researched items, same with filters on inserters. We should have the same behaviour for assembling machines and other factories. The current behaviour is inconsistent, confusing, and frustrating. When I place a blueprint and it's built (Ie. I have the factories, etc needed), the factories show up blank (they also show up blank in the placed ghost).

All factories should allow setting their recipes before the research is done, same as all other entities that can request, filter etc, have conditions etc.

Thanks for the report,

If you could set a recipe before your research it, then you would not need to research it,
In this way, we clear all the recipes deliberately if you have not unlocked them,
However items have no such restriction

Re: [0.15.2] Recipes not set on assembling mach. from blueprints

Posted: Wed Apr 26, 2017 9:27 am
by imajor
Now that you can carry blueprints from one game to another this can be really frustrating. What if the assembly machines would correctly set to the recipe, but they would simply do nothing until it is researched?

Re: [0.15.2] Recipes not set on assembling mach. from blueprints

Posted: Wed Apr 26, 2017 9:32 am
by Klonan
imajor wrote:Now that you can carry blueprints from one game to another this can be really frustrating. What if the assembly machines would correctly set to the recipe, but they would simply do nothing until it is researched?
That's not how recipes work unfortunately,
It may be frustrating, but its the best way to deal with this issue

Re: [0.15.2] Recipes not set on assembling mach. from blueprints

Posted: Wed Apr 26, 2017 9:35 am
by factoriouzr
Klonan wrote:
imajor wrote:Now that you can carry blueprints from one game to another this can be really frustrating. What if the assembly machines would correctly set to the recipe, but they would simply do nothing until it is researched?
That's not how recipes work unfortunately,
It may be frustrating, but its the best way to deal with this issue
Why can't you just set the recipe and have a check on the assembly machine so that it doesn't produce anything until it's researched?

Just have a listener architecture that when research changes, inform all assembly machines that are listening to that research that they are now enabled, and have another hidden property on assembling machines called "enabled" and default it to false. When it's placed down, check the condition as you do now, and set the enabled value appropriately. If the recipe is not yet researched, then add a listener to that research.

This is a very efficient implementation that doesn't involve polling and busy loops.

Re: [0.15.2] Recipes not set on assembling mach. from blueprints

Posted: Wed Apr 26, 2017 9:37 am
by factoriouzr
Klonan wrote:
imajor wrote:Now that you can carry blueprints from one game to another this can be really frustrating. What if the assembly machines would correctly set to the recipe, but they would simply do nothing until it is researched?
That's not how recipes work unfortunately,
It may be frustrating, but its the best way to deal with this issue
I think you should consider reworking how recipes work to allow for this. Please see my previous post for one suggestion.

The current behaviour is inconsistent and frustrating. Making this change will really improve the game.

Re: [0.15.2] Recipes not set on assembling mach. from blueprints

Posted: Wed Apr 26, 2017 9:38 am
by Klonan
factoriouzr wrote:
Klonan wrote:
imajor wrote:Now that you can carry blueprints from one game to another this can be really frustrating. What if the assembly machines would correctly set to the recipe, but they would simply do nothing until it is researched?
That's not how recipes work unfortunately,
It may be frustrating, but its the best way to deal with this issue
I think you should consider reworking how recipes work to allow for this. Please see my previous post for one suggestion.

The current behaviour is inconsistent and frustrating. Making this change will really improve the game.
It isn't inconsistent, at no time before were you able to set a recipe on an assembling machine when you don't have it unlocked.

Re: [0.15.2] Recipes not set on assembling mach. from blueprints

Posted: Wed Apr 26, 2017 11:33 am
by factoriouzr
Klonan wrote:
factoriouzr wrote:
Klonan wrote:
imajor wrote:Now that you can carry blueprints from one game to another this can be really frustrating. What if the assembly machines would correctly set to the recipe, but they would simply do nothing until it is researched?
That's not how recipes work unfortunately,
It may be frustrating, but its the best way to deal with this issue
I think you should consider reworking how recipes work to allow for this. Please see my previous post for one suggestion.

The current behaviour is inconsistent and frustrating. Making this change will really improve the game.
It isn't inconsistent, at no time before were you able to set a recipe on an assembling machine when you don't have it unlocked.
It's inconsistent from the point of view that you can set unresearched recipes on:
-requester chests
-player tool belt slots
-train cargo wagons
-player logistics requester slots
-conditions on inserters (eg. when connected to the logistics network)
-filters on inserters

The only thing you can't set unresearched recipes on are factories.

I hope you can see that this is inconsistent with the other entities in the game. You allow this everywhere else but not for assemblers.

Re: [0.15.2] Recipes not set on assembling mach. from blueprints

Posted: Wed Apr 26, 2017 12:17 pm
by Loewchen
factoriouzr wrote: It's inconsistent from the point of view that you can set unresearched recipes on:
-requester chests
-player tool belt slots
-train cargo wagons
-player logistics requester slots
-conditions on inserters (eg. when connected to the logistics network)
-filters on inserters
Those are not recipes, those are items. It is completely logical to be able to use a filter for something you have not the recipe of as you can obtain the item differently and some items do not even have a recipe.

Re: [0.15.2] Recipes not set on assembling mach. from blueprints

Posted: Wed Apr 26, 2017 1:00 pm
by factoriouzr
Loewchen wrote:
factoriouzr wrote: It's inconsistent from the point of view that you can set unresearched recipes on:
-requester chests
-player tool belt slots
-train cargo wagons
-player logistics requester slots
-conditions on inserters (eg. when connected to the logistics network)
-filters on inserters
Those are not recipes, those are items. It is completely logical to be able to use a filter for something you have not the recipe of as you can obtain the item differently and some items do not even have a recipe.
That's a matter of perspective.

Re: [0.15.2] Recipes not set on assembling mach. from blueprints

Posted: Wed May 17, 2017 12:44 pm
by factoriouzr
Can this please be prioritized to be fixed in 0.15. It's a real weakness that factories don't have their recipes set. Just gray out the recipe picture and disable the factory if the recipe is not researched yet, but allow setting the recipe. Everything else sets it's filters, requester slots etc before the recipe is researched (eg. requester chests, inserters, filter inserters etc). Allow the recipe to be set on factories as well.

Re: [0.15.2] Recipes not set on assembling mach. from blueprints

Posted: Wed May 17, 2017 1:09 pm
by mophydeen
factoriouzr wrote:Can this please be prioritized to be fixed in 0.15. It's a real weakness that factories don't have their recipes set. Just gray out the recipe picture and disable the factory if the recipe is not researched yet, but allow setting the recipe. Everything else sets it's filters, requester slots etc before the recipe is researched (eg. requester chests, inserters, filter inserters etc). Allow the recipe to be set on factories as well.
+1
Klonan wrote:
factoriouzr wrote:
Klonan wrote:
imajor wrote:Now that you can carry blueprints from one game to another this can be really frustrating. What if the assembly machines would correctly set to the recipe, but they would simply do nothing until it is researched?
That's not how recipes work unfortunately,
It may be frustrating, but its the best way to deal with this issue
I think you should consider reworking how recipes work to allow for this. Please see my previous post for one suggestion.

The current behaviour is inconsistent and frustrating. Making this change will really improve the game.
It isn't inconsistent, at no time before were you able to set a recipe on an assembling machine when you don't have it unlocked.
It was possible in 0.14

Re: [0.15.2] Recipes not set on assembling mach. from blueprints

Posted: Wed Jul 25, 2018 10:56 pm
by factoriouzr
Can we have this implemented now that blueprints are being reworked/improved.

It's completely contradictory to allow placing blueprint ghosts of buildings, inserters, rails, lights, walls, gates, turrets etc that are not yet researched, yet not allow placing recipes in buildings that are not yet researched.

This feature will improve the game and is consistent with the way factorio is played.

Re: [0.15.2] Recipes not set on assembling mach. from blueprints

Posted: Wed Jul 25, 2018 11:01 pm
by factoriouzr
Can we have this implemented now that blueprints are being reworked/improved.

It's completely contradictory to allow placing blueprint ghosts of buildings, inserters, rails, lights, walls, gates, turrets etc that are not yet researched, yet not allow placing recipes in buildings that are not yet researched.

This feature will improve the game and is consistent with the way factorio is played. If a player has blueprinted a building with a recipe, and they place that blueprint down, in all cases, they want that blueprint set on that building. It should not be necessary for the player to constantly place down the same blueprints over and over after researches are done.