Page 1 of 1

Easier way to display signal counts?

Posted: Mon Dec 09, 2024 9:17 pm
by mortoray
I wanted to display the count of the items I have in my uranium chests. I thought this might be easy, but apparently it's not. So I had to come up with this rather clunky looking thing below. Is there an easier way to get this counter working?
20241209220705_1.jpg
20241209220705_1.jpg (1.43 MiB) Viewed 872 times


The basic logic I did was, in reach column:
- Arithmetic: divide by base (1,10,100,1000,...)
- Then arithmetic: mod by 10
- Then display, with a digit for each input equal to 0,1,2,3...

I didn't see any kind of operation that would let me combine the first two steps, as the arithmetic operators are quite basic. There doesn't appear to be a way to get on arithmetic step to emit multiple values based on the input (so I could do a divide and carry instead). Did I miss a way to do this?

For the display, I also didn't see a way to get digits tied to the input other than using the number icons attached to specific input counts.

Re: Easier way to display signal counts?

Posted: Mon Dec 09, 2024 10:07 pm
by Tertius
This is an example that uses a single arithmetic and one constant combinator and additionally removes leading zeroes: viewtopic.php?p=644584#p644584

Re: Easier way to display signal counts?

Posted: Tue Dec 10, 2024 4:26 am
by mortoray
Excellent, thanks.

Knowing it's possible, I might try it before looking at the blueprint though.