Justderpingalong wrote: Fri Jan 26, 2024 2:11 pm
That'd involve having to wire up every single station to the circuit network. Doable, but tedious.
That can be as simple as adding wires to a set of blueprints.
Justderpingalong wrote: Fri Jan 26, 2024 2:11 pmAlso how do you plan to turn off the station when a train leaves the depot? I haven't seen the ability to do something based on trains inbound to a station.
Train stops provide everything you need for that, in 1.1.
Justderpingalong wrote: Fri Jan 26, 2024 2:11 pm
Dedicated trains in an age of full on generalisation sounds inefficient.
Generalized trains are supposed to be simpler, not more efficient. Dedicated trains can reduce travel time, congestion, and improve fairness.
Look, a good game system is supposed to provide a reasonable and working baseline, but it's also supposed to leave room for optimizations and interactions for people who enjoy that. There's a reasonable tradeoff between a fully generalized system (easy to set up, but not optimized) and other solutions (more work, better trains). The easy solution isn't supposed to be the best.
The 1.0 system had unsolvable problems with fairness and stampede that lead to frustration. The 1.1 system gave us the tools to solve them, and now we have reliable setups for dedicated trains, 1:N, N:1 or N:N. The 2.0 system adds even more tools, and soon we'll have reliable generic trains.
I'm excited about interrupts not because they're a ready-made solution, but because they're a flexible tool to help me implement my own solutions. The new tools enable solutions that weren't possible before. Will I use generic trains? Probably not. Will I use interrupts? Probably yes.
You aren't asking for tools, you're asking for ready-made solutions to your specific preferences, and I don't think that's good game design. You already have the tools to do everything you ask for, both in 2.0 vanilla and in the mod portal. If there's something that the tools don't cover, that'd be interesting to know.
burninghey wrote: Fri Jan 26, 2024 2:51 pm
I never used icons in stop names, making that a necessity sounds like a terrible idea
That's about as necessary as it was before this FFF: not at all. Anything that can be done using generic interrupts can be done without them. Pretend that the "Any item" signal doesn't exist and you'll be fine.
But if you want generic interrupts, then predictable station names are the price you have to pay. And icons are the only language agnostic way to do so. For a feature that is entirely optional, I think that's an acceptable restriction.
Qon wrote: Fri Jan 26, 2024 1:52 pm
I'm not yet convinced that the new cool interrupt features allow us to completely control trains with circuits. The interrupts and the generic signals are very cool, but with generic signals only being able to take the signal type from inventory and not from combinators we can't tell trains where to go.
We know that interrupts can read signals from the station the interrupted train is parked at, and this FFF mentions an "any signal" signal for the condition. You can totally make a train go to station "[A]" by sending the [A] signal to its train stop. If you run out of signals, you can start naming your stations "[A] 1", "[ B] 1", "[A] 2", etc, with the downside that you'll have to duplicate the interrupt for any number you use (unless they add a replacement for the signal's value).
But maybe then you're reaching a point where your bespoke train scheduling is better implemented using the lua interface
SupplyDepoo wrote: Fri Jan 26, 2024 4:20 pm
Everything here looks great, except the outright removal of train stop skipping.
To me, skipping disabled stations always looked like a mistake that was fixed by queue limits, but kept around for no other reason than backward compatibility. Queue limits solve every problem I've encountered in a better way than disabling did, and I'm glad they're matching the disabling behavior to the queue limit behavior.
In your post, you've skipped over an important question: which kind of setup actually needs the old skipping behavior? If you have a use case, one that isn't solvable via queue limits or interrupts, please do tell.