Page 18 of 22

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Fri Sep 02, 2016 7:11 am
by binbinhfr
Hi bob,

there was a recent change in the API, where crafting and mining category can now be nil (but not empty anymore) to prevent any crafting.
My Drones mod was/is using this and had to do this change. viewtopic.php?f=11&t=31588

But then a player reported a problem with your bob library making an error. viewtopic.php?f=93&t=25026&p=201946#p201918

Infact, there is just a need of a check of crafting_categories existence in category-functions.lua :

Code: Select all

function bobmods.lib.machine.has_category(machine, category_in)
  local hasit = false
  if machine then
>>>	if machine.crafting_categories then
		for i, category in pairs(machine.crafting_categories) do
		  if category == category_in then
			hasit = true
		  end
		end
>>>	end
  else
    log(machine .. " does not exist.")
  end
  return hasit
end
could you add this and release an update ?

Thx.

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Fri Sep 02, 2016 11:10 am
by bobingabout
Is this a 0.13 change too, or just a 0.14 change?

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Fri Sep 02, 2016 11:32 am
by binbinhfr
bobingabout wrote:Is this a 0.13 change too, or just a 0.14 change?
it's a 0.14 change, but it won't hurt if you add this test in 0.13 either...
it's just that now categories can be non-defined, so it's better if you test existence of the array before reading the array.
please let me know when you update, so that I can delete the temporary patch I added to my Drones mod, that makes it work differently than how it should.

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Sat Sep 03, 2016 12:30 am
by OzHawkeye
I don't know if I've made a post like this before, I think I might have, but anyway.

I'm returning to Factorio after a break, and loading up a new Bob's Mods game - and I just have to say, thank you Bob!

These mods take an already fantastic game and just make it even better in every respect. THANK YOU BOB! :-)

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:40 pm
by sumofallwars
Hey bob, Having a blast with the mod already 12 hours in and just got to oil.

Having a problem getting barrels to fill with an assembly machine. After researching barreling, bob's fluids tool tip does not show inside the tier 2 assembly machine. It shows just fine in when pressing 'e' but nothing when trying to select the recipe inside the machine.

I tried upgrading to .14 and upgrading all of my mods as well but that seems to have had no effect.

Here is a list of the mods I am using, but i am fairly certain it is bob's Metals,chemicals and intermediates mod, that is the culprit.

Aircraft 1.07
Big_Brother 0.3.2
Electric furnaces 2.0.0
Equalizer_CHests 1.2.1
EvoGui 0.4.107
Explosive Termites 1.1.8
FARL 0.5.3.7
FLOW Control 2.1.0
Fluid Void 1.0.3
Foreman 0.2.5
Orbital Ion Cannon 1.4.3
Satelite uplink station 1.0.1
Void CHest instant 1.0.1
ware housing 0.0.10
Air-Filtering 0.4.0
Auto fill 1.4.3
Base 13.20
Bobconfig 0.13.1
Bob electroings 0.13.1
bob electroings_GFTtweak 0.13.0
Bob Enmies 0.13.1
Bob greenhouse 0.13.2
Bob inserters 0.13.3
bob library 0.13.1
bob logistics 0.13.1
bob mining 0.13.1
bob modules 0.13.0
bobores 0.13.0
bob plates 0.13.2
bob power 0.13.1
bob revamp 0.13.0
bob tech 0.13.0
bob tech save 0.13.0
bob warfare0.13.4
mocombat 0.60
mo trains 0.2.1
rso-mod 2.0.16


Any suggestions would be appreciated, I am kind of reluctant to give up my 12+ hrs of work on this map. Thanks!

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:59 pm
by bobingabout
sumofallwars wrote:Having a problem getting barrels to fill with an assembly machine. After researching barreling, bob's fluids tool tip does not show inside the tier 2 assembly machine. It shows just fine in when pressing 'e' but nothing when trying to select the recipe inside the machine.
Because it's not a recipe for the Assembling machine, it's a recipe for the water pump.

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Sun Sep 04, 2016 10:57 pm
by sumofallwars
I feel dumb, I had been trying to figure this out for hours! Water pump might not be the best name though.

Thanks for the help!

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Sun Sep 04, 2016 11:52 pm
by bobingabout
sumofallwars wrote:I feel dumb, I had been trying to figure this out for hours! Water pump might not be the best name though.

Thanks for the help!
Internally, it is named "water-bore", because the original intention for the entity was to mine for fluids. but yes, it needs a new name. like "Barrelling pump"?

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Thu Sep 08, 2016 7:19 pm
by Chrysom
Hi,

I have really been enjoying this mod but I have run into a wall. I cannot for the life of me figure out how to make Lithium Cobalt Oxide for the LI Batteries. The recipe does not show up in any of my chemical or metal combining furnaces. I have fully researched batteries and advanced materials processing. Any help or a way to add this recipe so I can make LI batteries would be very much appreciated.


Thanks

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Thu Sep 08, 2016 7:33 pm
by Nexela
I believe it is called Advanced Copper processing with cobalt oxide (or something like that) and shows up after researching cobalt processing

It should show up if you search for copper in the crafting menu Also it requires electric version of i think the chemical furnace

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Thu Sep 08, 2016 8:03 pm
by bobingabout
Lithium cobalt oxide is made from Lithium and Cobalt oxide (see cobalt oxide in previous post), in a chemical furnace (or multi-purpose furnace).
The recipe itself is unlocked with the battery 2 research.

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Thu Sep 08, 2016 8:07 pm
by Blaster
How does one load a rail tanker?

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Thu Sep 08, 2016 8:28 pm
by Chrysom
Ok, that's what I thought. The recipe is not showing up when I click on either of the correct furnaces and I have completed all the necessary research. However, It does show up on the menu to request items from my logistics network. Here is a screen shot.

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Thu Sep 08, 2016 8:42 pm
by Nexela
I think these are the 4 things you need, not 100% sure as my icons are modded :) but they look familiar

just use the maginfying glass and search for cobalt and lithium

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Thu Sep 08, 2016 8:47 pm
by Nexela
Blaster wrote:How does one load a rail tanker?

You need to use a regular pump connected directly to the middle of the rail tanker. (2 spots on each side of the tanker for up to 4 pumps total, you don't need all 4 just having 1 in any of the spots will fill it)

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Thu Sep 08, 2016 10:19 pm
by bobingabout
Blaster wrote:How does one load a rail tanker?
Rail tankers aren't part of my mod...
Nexela answered your question anyway.
Nexela wrote:I think these are the 4 things you need, not 100% sure as my icons are modded :) but they look familiar

just use the maginfying glass and search for cobalt and lithium
None of the ones you have highlighted are actually the Lithium Cobalt oxide, which is what he's looking for.

I had to load an older version of the mod, because all my icons are different, and indeed it is missing off that list.



According to everything I'm looking at on my end, once you research Battery 2, you should have access to the material.

My guess is that if you have other mods installed that aren't mine, it is possible that it is also adding battery 2, and removing the unlocks you need. And by the looks of things there, you have some sort of chemistry mod installed. (There's a radiation looking category there anyway)

you can force unlock the recipe like this:

Code: Select all

/c for index, force in pairs(game.forces) do force.recipes["lithium-cobalt-oxide"].enabled = true end

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Thu Sep 08, 2016 10:34 pm
by Nexela
Well that's what I get for trying to go by my faulty memory. I should have just loaded it without graphics mods :)

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Thu Sep 08, 2016 11:45 pm
by Chrysom
[quote="bobingabout"][/quote]

Code: Select all

/c for index, force in pairs(game.forces) do force.recipes["lithium-cobalt-oxide"].enabled = true end
That worked! :D You are truly a gentleman and scholar. Keep up the good work.

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Fri Sep 09, 2016 12:22 pm
by binbinhfr
Hi bob,

thx for the correction, but alas there is still a problem :

Code: Select all

function bobmods.lib.machine.has_category(machine, category_in)
  local hasit = false
  if machine and machine.crafting_categories then
    for i, category in pairs(machine.crafting_categories) do
      if category == category_in then
        hasit = true
      end
    end
  else
    log(machine .. " does not exist.")
  end
  return hasit
end
if machine is nil, the line log(machine .. " does not exist.")
creates an error...
that's what happen when a mod (like my Drones) creates a "player" type with no crafting_categories and no mining_categories (that's the new way to prevent a character from crafting since 0.14).
You can test it by installing my mod (last version), then comment lines 15-16 of drones.lua, and you will see the error in bob library.
But I still do not understand why my "player" type creation triggers your bobmods.lib.machine.has_category function...

Re: [0.13.x] Bob's Mods: General Discussion

Posted: Fri Sep 09, 2016 2:55 pm
by bobingabout
binbinhfr wrote:But I still do not understand why my "player" type creation triggers your bobmods.lib.machine.has_category function...
I think one or more of my mods use this function to scan if assembling machines AND the player has a certain category, and if it does, adds another to the list.
Possibly my electronic hand craftables category.

And those error checks are a pain, they're not very "Safe" and often cause crashes. Maybe I'm just doing it wrong. Though, machine should never be nil anyway, if it is you're using the call wrong. Though, if the issue is that the machine has no crafting categories, that shouldn't effect the log line.