Page 2 of 2
Re: [MOD 0.12.12+] Pocket Bots Start v1.0.4
Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2016 2:43 pm
by Peter34
space_jockey wrote:I'm on 12.26 and when I gen a world I get this error:
__Pocket-Bots-Start__/control.lua:8: attempt to index global 'game' (a nil value)
Was there an API change from then to now that breaks your mod? I'm using the archive provided from your last post.
I don't think Vampiric is playing Factorio currently, so he might not see your post, but as far as I know, this mod simply gives specific items to the player character entitys inventory upon gamestart, so it should be an almost trivial task for an experienced modder to update this to alpha 0.12.29.
Sadly, I am not an experienced modder, so you're reliant on someone else helping you out.
(Note also that you can give stuff to yourself using console commands, but of course when you want a vampiric buttload of stuff, that's non-trivial, and some of the stuff you may want to give to yourself hasn't got intuitive names. There's also the risk of temptation, that once you start using console commands, you'll console your way to victory without actually playing the game in any true sense of the word.)
Re: [MOD 0.12.12+] Pocket Bots Start v1.0.4
Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2016 9:21 am
by tleviathan
space_jockey wrote:I'm on 12.26 and when I gen a world I get this error:
__Pocket-Bots-Start__/control.lua:8: attempt to index global 'game' (a nil value)
Was there an API change from then to now that breaks your mod? I'm using the archive provided from your last post.
Just change "game" to "script" at line 8
Code: Select all
...
script.on_event( defines.events.on_player_created, function( event )
...
Re: [MOD 0.12.12+] Pocket Bots Start v1.0.4
Posted: Sat Apr 02, 2016 2:58 pm
by Sunblood
Getting this error now when generating a new world in 12.29
Code: Select all
__Pocket-Bots-Start__/control.lua:60: Error while running the event handler: __research-queue__/functions/draw_grid.lua:28: No such node (state)
Line 60 in control.lua is
Code: Select all
player.force.technologies["bot-plan"].researched = true
Any ideas how to fix this?
Re: [MOD 0.12.12+] Pocket Bots Start v1.0.4
Posted: Sat Apr 02, 2016 8:43 pm
by gaza9422
im sorry if this has been asked already but im new to modding and cannot find the config file for this mod to change it to fast start as describled in the long description tab. thanks
Re: [MOD 0.12.12+] Pocket Bots Start v1.0.4
Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2016 8:26 pm
by Adalonus
gaza9422 wrote:im sorry if this has been asked already but im new to modding and cannot find the config file for this mod to change it to fast start as describled in the long description tab. thanks
Extract the downloaded file with 7zip or WinRAR. Open the folder and then "control.lua" with notepad++ (or notepad if you don't have that and if you don't, you should get it). Line 4 defines the fast start boolean.
Re: [MOD 0.12.12+] Pocket Bots Start v1.0.4
Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2016 8:54 pm
by Adalonus
Sunblood wrote:Getting this error now when generating a new world in 12.29
Code: Select all
__Pocket-Bots-Start__/control.lua:60: Error while running the event handler: __research-queue__/functions/draw_grid.lua:28: No such node (state)
Line 60 in control.lua is
Code: Select all
player.force.technologies["bot-plan"].researched = true
Any ideas how to fix this?
I'm not sure if this is the fault of Pocket Bots or Research Queue, but you can fix this issue by just deleting or commenting out line 60 and the force technology for loop after it. Something is going wrong with the granting of the tech at the beginning of the game and research queue. This will result in the Pocket Bot Planning research not being completed and you don't get the tech side of the fast start, but you can easily rectify this using the console grant technology command:
/c game.local_player.force.technologies["technology-name"].researched = true
and replacing "technology-name" with "automation", "bot-plan", "logistics", and "military" each in turn. The mods will work nicely together after that
Re: [MOD 0.12.12+] Pocket Bots Start v1.0.4
Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2016 9:56 am
by MrDoomah
The issue mentioned should be fixed with
research queue v1.2.5. I think.
The issue was that this mod completes research before RQ is initialised, causing some funky behaviour.
Re: [MOD 0.12.12+] Pocket Bots Start v1.0.4
Posted: Sun May 08, 2016 1:00 am
by weskeriscool
Hello could somebody help me im trying to play this mod and i get
__Pocket-Bots-Start__/control.lua:8: attempt to index global 'game' (a nil value)
everytime I load or start a new game
sorry Im a noob Idk what file I need to look at