Re: [2.0.8 / space age] Send full cargo pods from space platform
Posted: Sat Nov 23, 2024 5:24 am
by Max Level
This is a workaround (parametrized blueprint). I was having the same issue with a dedicated science pack platform dropping constant pods with just a handful of science packs, hogging up the queue and causing a cascade of other delivery issues from other transport vessels. This also helps avoid ships getting stuck in orbit if you use an inactivity timer check for them to depart. (e.g. a ship dropping calcite, gets stuck because you're constantly using the calcite it's dropping, so it never leaves to get more, until it runs out).
Read the description because the maximum parameter is not actually your desired maximum. It's the difference between the input minimum, your desired max, and then made negative. I could have added another combinator to do this math for us, but this solution is more compact and only requires you to do a tiny bit of math, then make the number negative.
Re: [2.0.8 / space age] Send full cargo pods from space platform
Posted: Sat Nov 23, 2024 7:37 pm
by BEEFE
This isn't a gameplay problem per se but it is super distracting, I'd definitely like some kind of fix.
Relatedly, it'd be nice if manual cargo drops also waited for about a second, in case you misclick. My earliest platforms have a lot of stuff going into and out of the command center and stuff can wiggle around by as much as three places, making it possible to send the wrong thing by accident, and the pod leaps off the platform in a fraction of a second.
nimfo wrote: Sun Nov 10, 2024 12:21 pm
if someone hasn't figured yet how to set up full cargo drops, this helped me
11-10-2024, 14-21-42.png
I'll try that, but it looks like it'll eventually reach equilibrium delivering a trickle of cargo if you produce faster than you consume?
Re: [2.0.8 / space age] Send full cargo pods from space platform
Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2024 3:09 am
by splee
nimfo wrote: Sun Nov 10, 2024 12:21 pm
if someone hasn't figured yet how to set up full cargo drops, this helped me
This is mostly the same solution as SYCLOPS and also still struggles if platform production exceeds the landing pad request. If there's more than 50 left the platform never clicks into the non-sending state.
I ended up settling for a simpler & nearly-but-not-quite equivalent:
schedulehacks.jpg (37.08 KiB) Viewed 1176 times
Re: [2.0.8 / space age] Send full cargo pods from space platform
Posted: Fri Nov 29, 2024 9:49 pm
by Andrei15193
nimfo wrote: Sun Nov 10, 2024 12:21 pm
if someone hasn't figured yet how to set up full cargo drops, this helped me
11-10-2024, 14-21-42.png
Genius! I went with interrupts instead, but it's the same idea.
11-29-2024, 23-49-05.png (101.06 KiB) Viewed 1126 times
Re: [2.0.8 / space age] Send full cargo pods from space platform
Posted: Sun Dec 01, 2024 11:54 am
by jaylawl
I have made a little blueprint to partially alleviate this problem from the planetary side of things.
This is a small array of combinators that accepts your item requests and outputs the requests in terms of full cargo pods, which is supposed to be hooked up to your cargo landing pad. The combinators have descriptions on them.
Example:
-> You constantly request 2.000 red circuits
-> You already have 1.500 red circuits stored in your base
-> That means you have a difference of -500 red circuits
-> The cargo pod capacity is 1.000 red circuits
-> The request will not be forwarded to the cargo landing pad, as it is not enough to fill one cargo pod.
Re: [2.0.8 / space age] Send full cargo pods from space platform
Posted: Mon Dec 02, 2024 1:01 pm
by Sopel
jaylawl wrote: Sun Dec 01, 2024 11:54 am
I have made a little blueprint to partially alleviate this problem from the planetary side of things.
This is a small array of combinators that accepts your item requests and outputs the requests in terms of full cargo pods, which is supposed to be hooked up to your cargo landing pad. The combinators have descriptions on them.
Example:
-> You constantly request 2.000 red circuits
-> You already have 1.500 red circuits stored in your base
-> That means you have a difference of -500 red circuits
-> The cargo pod capacity is 1.000 red circuits
-> The request will not be forwarded to the cargo landing pad, as it is not enough to fill one cargo pod.
I don't understand how to use this. It's not possible to read the landing pad cargo while setting the requests by circuit. If the items need to be stored elsewhere that's not feasible.
Re: [2.0.8 / space age] Send full cargo pods from space platform
jaylawl wrote: Sun Dec 01, 2024 11:54 am
I have made a little blueprint to partially alleviate this problem from the planetary side of things.
This is a small array of combinators that accepts your item requests and outputs the requests in terms of full cargo pods, which is supposed to be hooked up to your cargo landing pad. The combinators have descriptions on them.
Example:
-> You constantly request 2.000 red circuits
-> You already have 1.500 red circuits stored in your base
-> That means you have a difference of -500 red circuits
-> The cargo pod capacity is 1.000 red circuits
-> The request will not be forwarded to the cargo landing pad, as it is not enough to fill one cargo pod.
I don't understand how to use this. It's not possible to read the landing pad cargo while setting the requests by circuit. If the items need to be stored elsewhere that's not feasible.
The contents of the cargo landing pad are automatically part of the connected logistic system, so it can be read via roboport connection.
Re: [2.0.8 / space age] Send full cargo pods from space platform
jaylawl wrote: Sun Dec 01, 2024 11:54 am
I have made a little blueprint to partially alleviate this problem from the planetary side of things.
This is a small array of combinators that accepts your item requests and outputs the requests in terms of full cargo pods, which is supposed to be hooked up to your cargo landing pad. The combinators have descriptions on them.
Example:
-> You constantly request 2.000 red circuits
-> You already have 1.500 red circuits stored in your base
-> That means you have a difference of -500 red circuits
-> The cargo pod capacity is 1.000 red circuits
-> The request will not be forwarded to the cargo landing pad, as it is not enough to fill one cargo pod.
I don't understand how to use this. It's not possible to read the landing pad cargo while setting the requests by circuit. If the items need to be stored elsewhere that's not feasible.
The contents of the cargo landing pad are automatically part of the connected logistic system, so it can be read via roboport connection.
you're right, brilliant!
Re: [2.0.8 / space age] Send full cargo pods from space platform
jaylawl wrote: Sun Dec 01, 2024 11:54 am
I have made a little blueprint to partially alleviate this problem from the planetary side of things.
This is a small array of combinators that accepts your item requests and outputs the requests in terms of full cargo pods, which is supposed to be hooked up to your cargo landing pad. The combinators have descriptions on them.
Example:
-> You constantly request 2.000 red circuits
-> You already have 1.500 red circuits stored in your base
-> That means you have a difference of -500 red circuits
-> The cargo pod capacity is 1.000 red circuits
-> The request will not be forwarded to the cargo landing pad, as it is not enough to fill one cargo pod.
I don't understand how to use this. It's not possible to read the landing pad cargo while setting the requests by circuit. If the items need to be stored elsewhere that's not feasible.
The contents of the cargo landing pad are automatically part of the connected logistic system, so it can be read via roboport connection.
you're right, brilliant!
Would love to eventually hear back if that "system" of mine was helpful at all. Cheers!
Re: [2.0.8 / space age] Send full cargo pods from space platform
jaylawl wrote: Sun Dec 01, 2024 11:54 am
I have made a little blueprint to partially alleviate this problem from the planetary side of things.
This is a small array of combinators that accepts your item requests and outputs the requests in terms of full cargo pods, which is supposed to be hooked up to your cargo landing pad. The combinators have descriptions on them.
Example:
-> You constantly request 2.000 red circuits
-> You already have 1.500 red circuits stored in your base
-> That means you have a difference of -500 red circuits
-> The cargo pod capacity is 1.000 red circuits
-> The request will not be forwarded to the cargo landing pad, as it is not enough to fill one cargo pod.
I don't understand how to use this. It's not possible to read the landing pad cargo while setting the requests by circuit. If the items need to be stored elsewhere that's not feasible.
The contents of the cargo landing pad are automatically part of the connected logistic system, so it can be read via roboport connection.
you're right, brilliant!
Would love to eventually hear back if that "system" of mine was helpful at all. Cheers!
It does work and has visibly reduced the amount of cargo pods. I was able to get rid of some hacky schedules and interrupts. Just one thing to note is that the way works it effectively balances the amount of items around half of what's specified, so that needs to be taken into account.
Re: [2.0.8 / space age] Send full cargo pods from space platform
Posted: Wed Dec 04, 2024 1:56 pm
by Khazul
While I am not 100% sure, I remember adding loads of cargo bays to both ground and platforms purely to speed up the turn around of cargo pods as I believe the number in transit is related to have many cargo bays there are at the receiver and how many at the sender (minimum of both).
Cargo pods should at least delay long enough to have a chance to fil up. If nothing else it may remove the need to build so many cargo bays at both ends. Watching my space science arrive on the ground, I see tricks of 1-generalkly less than 20 items arriving at a time when in total 1000s are being requested from the platforms above making it.
If pods were to wait a second or so if not full, then this might hugely reduce the number of pods, which in turn should also increase throughput due to reducing cargo bay contention. Adding a small delay would be insignificant next to the existing animation delays.
Re: [2.0.8 / space age] Send full cargo pods from space platform
I don't understand how to use this. It's not possible to read the landing pad cargo while setting the requests by circuit. If the items need to be stored elsewhere that's not feasible.
The contents of the cargo landing pad are automatically part of the connected logistic system, so it can be read via roboport connection.
you're right, brilliant!
Would love to eventually hear back if that "system" of mine was helpful at all. Cheers!
It does work and has visibly reduced the amount of cargo pods. I was able to get rid of some hacky schedules and interrupts. Just one thing to note is that the way works it effectively balances the amount of items around half of what's specified, so that needs to be taken into account.
I am happy to hear that! Let's just hope that they will address our issues in a future update. There are a bunch of things regarding space logistics that would make life a lot easier with a few tweaks - this being one of them. But i've got a good feeling about this because WUBE just seem like a great company.
Re: [2.0.8 / space age] Send full cargo pods from space platform
FactorioBot wrote: Thu Dec 12, 2024 6:11 pmMinor Features
Cargo pod scheduling reworked to send larger and more spaced out deliveries. This should improve the frequency of trickling space science and material drops.