Page 7 of 8

Re: [MOD 12.11+] Train Outposts

Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2016 8:28 am
by sparr
I occasionally get this error:

Code: Select all

Error while running the event handler: __TrainOutpost__/control.lua:320: attempt to compare number with nil
This is happening in handle_single_resource_in_region when resource_specs.min_distance is nil. I put in some debug prints and it's happening for all 14 resources in my bobs ores game, including the non-bobs resources.

Calling the reinit remote resolves the problem.

Re: [MOD 12.11+] Train Outposts

Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2016 8:10 pm
by sparr
Separate compatibility observation with bobs ores:

My starting area with TO always has a small deposit of iron, coal, copper, stone, and a few of bobs ores. Sometimes more than a few. However, often some critical ore is missing from the starting area, and I have to send trains out much sooner than I otherwise would. In my current game the closest Galena (Lead+Nickel) patch is 1200 tiles away from start, and lead is required for, among other things, automating green science.

Re: [MOD 12.11+] Train Outposts

Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:15 am
by AnarCon
SirRichie wrote:Can you tell me what you did that produced the error? I have not encountered this myself yet.
loaded a old save with the updated mode and tried exploring a new area which somehow unleashed this error as i recall

Re: [MOD 12.11+] Train Outposts

Posted: Sun Jun 12, 2016 7:31 pm
by wahming
Would it be possible to add a dependency for the Uranium Power mod, and turn off infinite ores for uranium and fluoride? There simply isn't any need for all those eternal ore patches and building over them messes with us OCD players :lol:

Re: [MOD 12.11+] Train Outposts

Posted: Sun Jun 12, 2016 9:44 pm
by SirRichie
wahming wrote:Would it be possible to add a dependency for the Uranium Power mod, and turn off infinite ores for uranium and fluoride? There simply isn't any need for all those eternal ore patches and building over them messes with us OCD players :lol:
Why would a dependency be necessary?
As for the infinite resources: do you want everything to be infinite except the resources you stated? In that case I'd ask that you modify this yourself in the data-updates.lua, because this is a very specific customization.

Re: [MOD 12.11+] Train Outposts

Posted: Mon Jun 13, 2016 12:11 am
by wahming
Game crashed when testing out your mod in a new game.
Error message
Error message
TrainOutpost Crash.jpg (108.15 KiB) Viewed 10154 times
Mod List
Mod List
ModList.jpg (126.29 KiB) Viewed 10154 times
100% reproducibility: Load up the attached save, run east about 2 seconds, and boom.

Debugging: The resource triggering this bug is coal. So it doesn't seem like it's caused by another mod? Offhand, anyway.

Re: [MOD 12.11+] Train Outposts

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 9:14 pm
by cyrin
sparr wrote:I occasionally get this error:

Code: Select all

Error while running the event handler: __TrainOutpost__/control.lua:320: attempt to compare number with nil
This is happening in handle_single_resource_in_region when resource_specs.min_distance is nil. I put in some debug prints and it's happening for all 14 resources in my bobs ores game, including the non-bobs resources.

Calling the reinit remote resolves the problem.
Also having this issue. Pending the mod author putting out a bug fix release, can you let us know the console function (?) you used to resolve this?

Re: [MOD 12.11+] Train Outposts

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 9:18 pm
by SirRichie
Hi, I provided the funtion a few posts up.
Also hoping I can resolve this soon

Re: [MOD 12.11+] Train Outposts

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 9:25 pm
by cyrin
SirRichie wrote:Hi, I provided the funtion a few posts up.
Also hoping I can resolve this soon
Ah, this one!

Code: Select all

/c remote.call("TR", "reinit")
Thanks for the quick reply ^_^

Re: [MOD 12.11+] Train Outposts

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 5:09 pm
by AnarCon
still getting this error

Code: Select all

Error while running the event handler: __TrainOutpost__/control.lua:320: attempt to compare number with nil

Re: [MOD 12.11+] Train Outposts

Posted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 1:30 pm
by martingolding96
cyrin wrote:
SirRichie wrote:Hi, I provided the funtion a few posts up.
Also hoping I can resolve this soon
Ah, this one!

Code: Select all

/c remote.call("TR", "reinit")
Thanks for the quick reply ^_^
will i need to re-enter this command every time i go on the save?

Re: [MOD 12.11+] Train Outposts

Posted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 9:38 pm
by joozek
What are the plans on supporting 0.13? Will it take a lot of work / time or will it be straightforward?

Re: [MOD 12.11+] Train Outposts

Posted: Thu Jun 30, 2016 11:47 pm
by SirRichie
There will definitely be 0.13 support. I looked at the changes and I do not think that there I will have to make any major adjustments.
As usual, my time is limited by real life though.

Re: [MOD 12.11+] Train Outposts

Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2016 1:10 pm
by Toch
That would be great ! i love this mod

Re: [MOD 12.11+] Train Outposts

Posted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 8:46 pm
by daydev
Hi everyone, I took a stab at updating the mod for 0.13 by request for Xterminator's "Building Big" let's play series, it was suggested I post it here too in case someone else is interested. If the author doesn't this unofficial update here, I'll delete the post. Obviously, no guarantees of buglessness, etc.

UPD: Fixed on_configuration_changed which apparently I broke and didn't notice it.

Re: [MOD 12.11+] Train Outposts

Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 4:41 pm
by SirRichie
Hello everyone and thanks for the patience.
Starting today, I will upload a 0.13-ready version of the mod to the mod portal.
This also means that I will remove the download from the forum.

For legacy versions, please use the GitHub website, which I now have setup. I also appreciate any help/additions to the mod (thanks to daydev for an early version). Please use pull requests in GitHub for these things in the future.

One note for the current version: it seems that the devs changed the way can_place_entity works, which means that it may happen that resources and enemy bases are spawned in water. I will investigate this further.

I appreciate any testing and thanks for the comments so far.

Re: [MOD 12.11+] Train Outposts

Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 6:40 pm
by orzelek
SirRichie wrote:Hello everyone and thanks for the patience.
Starting today, I will upload a 0.13-ready version of the mod to the mod portal.
This also means that I will remove the download from the forum.

For legacy versions, please use the GitHub website, which I now have setup. I also appreciate any help/additions to the mod (thanks to daydev for an early version). Please use pull requests in GitHub for these things in the future.

One note for the current version: it seems that the devs changed the way can_place_entity works, which means that it may happen that resources and enemy bases are spawned in water. I will investigate this further.

I appreciate any testing and thanks for the comments so far.
The can place bug was only in early versions of 0.13 series.
It should be fixed in current versions (at least it behaves properly in RSO).

Re: [MOD 12.11+] Train Outposts

Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 8:05 pm
by SirRichie
Thanks for letting me know. I use 0.13.13 for testing and get the bug. I checked RSO's code and saw no magic. Guess I will have to look a little deeper.

Re: [MOD 12.11+] Train Outposts

Posted: Sat Sep 10, 2016 11:36 am
by Jupiter
Hi Richie,
Your mod is precisely what I need. Will it be updated to be compatible with version 0.14 anytime soon? If yes then I'll wait before starting a new game

Re: [MOD 12.11+] Train Outposts

Posted: Wed Sep 14, 2016 11:33 am
by NotABiter
I second the request for an 0.14 version. (I just downloaded the latest Factorio and the 28 other mods I wanted to play my next game with, and then I remembered that this mod was key to my plans and... ouch - 0.13 only.)

BTW, some time ago I stated
for me there are three parts to having permanent outposts:
1. need for far-away resources
2. resources don't run out
3. a reason to not just kill all of the biters
and that your mod helped with #1 and #2 and I was going to try Natural Evolution to take care of #3. I found Natural Evolution to be overpowered (it's way too easy to remove all of your pollution) and problematic (from a challenging gameplay perspective) for other reasons and I still ended up with "one big base" so I gave up on that idea. But now I have found/tried the Armageddon mod and believe that it should really do the trick. It solves #3 by making killing all of the biters impossible - they can always "tunnel in" to your base, so you need defenses everywhere you have anything you need protected, not just one big outer wall. That mod solves the N^2 (available resources) vs 4*N (perimeter costs) problem that otherwise plagues Factorio, and it means that, as long as the resources are spread out (e.g. via your mod), the "one big base" solution is no longer remotely close to being optimal - outposts should actually become the more optimal solution, even if you (like I do) militarize your rails (effectively turning them into walls).

Full mod list and "most recommended" (bolded) for anyone who's interested:
mod list