Error: Couldn't create atlas bitmap

Anything that prevents you from playing the game properly. Do you have issues playing for the game, downloading it or successfully running it on your computer? Let us know here.
Post Reply
Caia
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 6:53 am
Contact:

Error: Couldn't create atlas bitmap

Post by Caia »

So I just updated to the latest experimental version of Factorio (0.16.x), then proceeded to update/delete various mods. Upon restarting the game with most mods enabled I get hit with:

"Error: Couldn't create atlas bitmap (size 512X416). Probably not enough video memory."

I've got a MSI 970 GTX (Which has 4GB of VRAM).

As for mods, I'm running the exact same mods as I was on the latest 0.15 version (Minus things that are no longer needed like Offscreen effects, Water Fix, etc. And Alien Biomes which was causing it to fail on startup due to the 255 tile limit).

Not sure why this is happening, any help is appreciated

Log:
34.546 Initial atlas bitmap size is 16384
34.576 Created atlas bitmap 16384x16376 [none]
35.227 Created atlas bitmap 16384x16378 [none]
35.778 Created atlas bitmap 16384x13081 [none]
36.226 Created atlas bitmap 16384x11483 [shadow]
37.040 Created atlas bitmap 16384x2104 [decal]
37.427 Created atlas bitmap 8192x5580 [mipmap]
37.644 Created atlas bitmap 8192x800 [mipmap, smoke]
37.647 d3d_create_textures: Unable to create video texture.

37.647 Couldn't create atlas bitmap (size 8192x8188), will try again [linear-minification, mipmap, terrain]
37.665 Created atlas bitmap 4096x4096 [linear-minification, mipmap, terrain]
37.692 Created atlas bitmap 4096x3988 [linear-minification, mipmap, terrain]
37.693 d3d_create_textures: Unable to create video texture.

37.693 Couldn't create atlas bitmap (size 4096x4048), will try again [linear-minification, mipmap, terrain]
37.818 Created atlas bitmap 2048x1952 [linear-minification, mipmap, terrain]
37.835 Created atlas bitmap 2048x1632 [linear-minification, mipmap, terrain]
37.848 Created atlas bitmap 2048x2016 [linear-minification, mipmap, terrain]
37.848 d3d_create_textures: Unable to create video texture.

37.848 Couldn't create atlas bitmap (size 2048x2016), will try again [linear-minification, mipmap, terrain]
37.966 Created atlas bitmap 1024x816 [linear-minification, mipmap, terrain]
37.966 d3d_create_textures: Unable to create video texture.

37.966 Couldn't create atlas bitmap (size 1024x708), will try again [linear-minification, mipmap, terrain]
38.534 Created atlas bitmap 272x272 [linear-minification, mipmap, terrain]
38.534 d3d_create_textures: Unable to create video texture.

38.534 Couldn't create atlas bitmap (size 512x416), will try again [linear-minification, mipmap, terrain]
38.660 Custom inputs active: 18
38.674 Error Util.cpp:49: Couldn't create atlas bitmap (size 512X416).
Probably not enough video memory.

46.701 DSound: Stopping voice
46.701 DSound: Joining thread
46.703 DSound: Exit _dsound_update; tid=6936
46.703 DSound: Waiting for voice to stop ... signaled
46.703 DSound: Joined thread
46.703 DSound: Destroying thread
46.703 DSound: Thread destroyed
46.703 DSound: Releasing buffer
46.703 DSound: Voice stopped
46.703 DSound: Deallocating voice
46.703 DSound: Deallocated voice
46.864 Steam API shutdown.
46.910 Razer Chroma Controller un-initialized
46.910 Goodbye

Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 8285
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Error: Couldn't create atlas bitmap

Post by Loewchen »

Post the complete log.

Caia
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 6:53 am
Contact:

Re: Error: Couldn't create atlas bitmap

Post by Caia »

Here you go, it was complaining that it was too long so I had to chuck it on PB:
https://pastebin.com/v6eXqa36

EDIT: I should also say, I've updated both the Razer Synapse app, and my Nvidia drivers. Still getting the same problem.

posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 5201
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Error: Couldn't create atlas bitmap

Post by posila »

Code: Select all

34.546 Initial atlas bitmap size is 16384
34.576 Created atlas bitmap 16384x16376 [none]
35.227 Created atlas bitmap 16384x16378 [none]
35.778 Created atlas bitmap 16384x13081 [none]
36.226 Created atlas bitmap 16384x11483 [shadow]
37.040 Created atlas bitmap 16384x2104 [decal]
37.427 Created atlas bitmap 8192x5580 [mipmap]
37.644 Created atlas bitmap 8192x800 [mipmap, smoke]
37.647 d3d_create_textures: Unable to create video texture.
It allocates 3937 MB of VRAM before it fails to allocate more. It's quite possible poor old DirectX9 can't handle more than 4 GB of textures. Which seems to be the case in in Win10 1703 but was maybe fixed in 1709 update?

Caia
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 6:53 am
Contact:

Re: Error: Couldn't create atlas bitmap

Post by Caia »

posila wrote:--snip--
Huh, did not know this was an issue. Would I have to update via Windows Update then? The last time I needed something from it was when Halo Wars 2 came out. But it took about 2 days of pounding my head against the keyboard to actually get the updates to install...

posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 5201
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Error: Couldn't create atlas bitmap

Post by posila »

You can try to set --force-opengl in launch options in Factorio properties in Steam Library. Or set --graphics-quality=normal to use normal resolution sprites instead of high-res (this should have happened automatically though), or delete mods that add ton of graphics.

orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3911
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: Error: Couldn't create atlas bitmap

Post by orzelek »

It might help if you enable texture compression with no mods and then try again. I'm not sure what is the impact on visual quality.

If GPU-Z is to be believed then I seen Factorio go over 4GB VRAM usage on directx and it did not crash - usage listed was around 4.5-4.6GB.

Caia
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 6:53 am
Contact:

Re: Error: Couldn't create atlas bitmap

Post by Caia »

orzelek wrote:It might help if you enable texture compression with no mods and then try again. I'm not sure what is the impact on visual quality.

If GPU-Z is to be believed then I seen Factorio go over 4GB VRAM usage on directx and it did not crash - usage listed was around 4.5-4.6GB.
So enabling texture compression fixed it even with all my mods still loaded. In fact, it got rid of a strange light flickering that was happening, doubled my FPS (while zoomed out as far as possible, I honestly thought that happened for everyone xD), and keeps my FPS at 60 instead of dropping to 58 and back rapidly.

Are there any side effects from enabling it? I can't really tell without timing it but I feel like the loading times got a bit longer. But I can live with that.

Anyways, thank you very much for your help :)

posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 5201
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Error: Couldn't create atlas bitmap

Post by posila »

Caia wrote:Are there any side effects from enabling it? I can't really tell without timing it but I feel like the loading times got a bit longer. But I can live with that.
Yeah, longer loading times is one of the downsides. It may also increase CPU load in rendering because it breaks sprite batchng a little bit. But it shouldn't produce any visible compression artifacts.

Post Reply

Return to “Technical Help”