[Rseding91] [0.15.13] LuaCommand/LuaRemote bug

This subforum contains all the issues which we already resolved.
Post Reply
folk
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 5:00 pm
Contact:

[Rseding91] [0.15.13] LuaCommand/LuaRemote bug

Post by folk »

Hi,
I haven't investigated it fully, because frankly it's such a weird issue there is almost certainly something going on behind the scenes that is breaking it. I am 99% confident that this is a problem with the game engine, and not an issue with the individual mods.
Install these two mods:
https://mods.factorio.com/mods/ludsoe/moweather
https://mods.factorio.com/mods/folk/folk-shuttle

And you will get something like this error when you start a new game.
968.023 Error AppManager.cpp:421: __folk-shuttle__/control.lua:268 attempt to index a function value

Though the line number is probably different for the live version of folk-shuttle, this is not relevant. The relevant line in the code is something like:
require("lib-reset")(reset)

Now, unzip moweather 0.4.0, open control.lua, and comment out this line:
commands.add_command("dumpsettings","",function() game.write_file("MLCDump.txt", DumpScan(settings.runtime,0), false) end)
At control.lua, line 88

Start a new game, and the error is gone.
Last edited by folk on Tue May 23, 2017 4:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13171
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [0.15.12] LuaCommand/LuaRemote bug

Post by Rseding91 »

I get no such error when i load up the game with those 2 mods.

Is there something I need to do to make it happen beyond starting a new game?
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

folk
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 5:00 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.12] LuaCommand/LuaRemote bug

Post by folk »

That's weird, I get it immediately upon creation of a new game and it drops back to the new-game settings screen.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13171
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [0.15.12] LuaCommand/LuaRemote bug

Post by Rseding91 »

Please upload your mods. Maybe the ones off the mod portal aren't the same as the ones you're using.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

folk
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 5:00 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.12] LuaCommand/LuaRemote bug

Post by folk »


folk
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 5:00 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.12] LuaCommand/LuaRemote bug

Post by folk »

Rseding91 wrote:Please upload your mods. Maybe the ones off the mod portal aren't the same as the ones you're using.
They are, I just downloaded both mods from the portal and ran the game with those zips only before I captured the log I posted in the previous comment.

folk
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 5:00 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.12] LuaCommand/LuaRemote bug

Post by folk »

Ooookay, so I just cleared my mod folder so that only those two zips existed, and now there is no error.
That log was produced when all other mods were disabled.

folk
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 5:00 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.12] LuaCommand/LuaRemote bug

Post by folk »

It's this mod https://mods.factorio.com/mods/Optera/VehicleGrid
With only folk-shuttle + moweather existing in the mods folder, there is no error.
With those two + vehiclegrid either enabled OR NOT enabled, the error is there.
Last edited by folk on Fri May 19, 2017 10:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

folk
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 5:00 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.12] LuaCommand/LuaRemote bug

Post by folk »

Which means this is probably relevant:
info.json from folk-shuttle

Code: Select all

{
	"name": "folk-shuttle",
	"version": "0.1.12",
	"factorio_version": "0.15",
	"title": "Shuttle Train Lite",
	"author": "folk",
	"contact": "",
	"homepage": "https://forums.factorio.com/viewtopic.php?f=94&t=45554",
	"description": "A remake of the classic Shuttle Train by Simwir.",
	"license": "MIT",
	"dependencies": ["? VehicleGrid", "? FARL"]
}

folk
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 5:00 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.13] LuaCommand/LuaRemote bug

Post by folk »

Still present in 0.15.13

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13171
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [0.15.13] LuaCommand/LuaRemote bug

Post by Rseding91 »

I've found what's wrong but the fix will take some time to finish.

Disabled/inactive mods are effecting other mods sort order which in turn effects event order.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1352
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.13] LuaCommand/LuaRemote bug

Post by Choumiko »

Rseding91 wrote:Disabled/inactive mods are effecting other mods sort order which in turn effects event order.
That sounds nasty. I imagine there can be cases where it doesn't create an error but simply displays wierd behavior because of the changed order.

(Mostly posting so i can find this report easier :D)

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13171
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [Rseding91] [0.15.13] LuaCommand/LuaRemote bug

Post by Rseding91 »

Ok, I actually found 3 bugs with this report :P

All 3 are now fixed for the next version of 0.15.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

Post Reply

Return to “Resolved Problems and Bugs”