Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Place to share custom user maps, scenarios and campaigns.

Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Postby Klonan » Wed Sep 21, 2016 6:58 pm

0.16 release on the mod portal:


https://mods.factorio.com/mod/factory-floor

Image
So i have been working on this for a while,
Here is a .zip
Old versions
factory-floor-0.1.0.zip
(61.87 KiB) Downloaded 166 times
User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
 
Posts: 3187
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm

Re: [0.14] Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Postby aubergine18 » Wed Sep 21, 2016 7:13 pm

Awesome win! This should be in mod portal IMHO. :)

> Other games try to clone factorio
> Simple Factorio mod replicates clone games
Better forum search for modders: Enclose your search term in quotes, eg. "font_color" or "custom-input" - it prevents the forum search from splitting on hypens and underscores, resulting in much more accurate results.
User avatar
aubergine18
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1264
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2016 8:51 pm

Re: [0.14] Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Postby Mooncat » Thu Sep 22, 2016 6:27 am

ETA on Google Play Store? :P
User avatar
Mooncat
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1161
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 4:55 pm

Re: [0.14] Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Postby Mooncat » Fri Sep 30, 2016 6:51 pm

Just watched some videos about Big Pharma on Youtube, then remembered I have downloaded this scenario. Did a quick test and quickly addicted to it.
Man, you beat the whole game by just some lua files and a blueprint! :lol:


Wish list:
- Better UI for buying items. Ideally we will have the same layout of the crafting menu, as it is what we are familiar with.
- Ability to buy lands, to expand the factory by costing money.
- Buy fluids!
- Improve the requester chests: currently, it requires you to have enough money for buying the whole requested item stack or the chest will simply stop buying items. It confused me for a few minutes until I figured out that I have to lower the item count so it can work properly.
- Fix for the loaders: ability to make a compressed express belt in front of it.


Some quick tips for players (but I may be wrong. Trust yourself if you find any difference to your experience. :P)
1) Very important: electricity costs you money!
2) Due to point 1, don't connect the electricity network before your factory is ready.
3) Due to point 1, you won't want machines to be idle because they still drain energy.
4) Selling low profit items like iron gear wheels may not be a good idea because you need to pay for the electricity. I haven't done math, but requesting iron plates and selling transport belts seems to be better than selling iron gear wheels for startup.
5) Don't buy too much or you won't have enough money for buying electricity and selling things.
6) You can't handcraft.
7) The UI for buying items is awkward at this moment, so you won't rely on it. And also due to the previous point, you will need to automate the production of transport belts, which is also why making and selling transport belts is a good idea, then, when technology is ready, inserters and assembling machines.
8) So, you will need to mass production electronic circuit, just like how you do in normal gameplay.
9) However, space is limited. You will need to build things as compacted as possible. Also that's why I have installed Factorissimo. Hopefully it will bring the game to another level, literally. :lol:
Edit: aw, I can't enter the factory of Factorissimo in god mode. :cry:
10) But still, the number of requester chests is limited. Don't block their paths!
11) After you automated the production of electronic circuit, make and sell laboratories! It is the moment you start earning big money.

Here is my setup for early stage:
Image
20161001021111_1.jpg
20161001021111_1.jpg (368.01 KiB) Viewed 8339 times


12) I haven't tried requesting copper wire directly. It may be a good idea due to fewer inserters and assembling machines needed, i.e. lower cost for electricity and less space.
User avatar
Mooncat
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1161
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 4:55 pm

Re: [0.14] Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Postby skycoder » Sat Oct 01, 2016 9:58 am

i have liked it very much. but:
1. i hoped found oil under concrete, but there was only water(may be it can be in random place, to make player, search it?)
2. when robots remove concrete under chests or accumulators it's failed with error
Code: Select all
Error MainLoop.cpp:766: Exception at tick 2514369: Error while running event on_tick (ID 0)
LuaEntity API call when LuaEntity was invalid.
stack traceback:
        ...orio_alpha_x64_0.14.1/temp/currently-playing/control.lua:126: in function 'electric_exchange'
        ...orio_alpha_x64_0.14.1/temp/currently-playing/control.lua:77: in function <...orio_alpha_x64_0.14.1/temp/currently-playing/control.lua:73>

P.S. version 14.12, don't belive trace ;)
3. price menu should be removed, and it's function's moved to inventory, may be developers should help you and create some additional api )
skycoder
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 10:04 pm

Re: Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Postby Klonan » Mon Oct 30, 2017 3:12 pm

I have updated the scenario:
  • Should be MP compatible now - Each player gets their own factory area
  • Price list generator should be more mod compatible
  • Buying items with your character is simplified - Just use the character crafting GUI

factory-floor-0.1.0.zip
(61.87 KiB) Downloaded 66 times
User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
 
Posts: 3187
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm

Re: Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Postby Jap2.0 » Mon Oct 30, 2017 8:29 pm

Oh, this is cool! Unfortunately I won't be able to try it out for a few weeks.
There are 10 types of people: those who get this joke and those who don't.
Jap2.0
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1538
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:02 am

Re: Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Postby bergi9 » Wed Dec 20, 2017 3:04 pm

@Klonan : if you update this scenario for 0.16, please poke/pm me. For now this scenario is incompatible with 0.16: opening GUI crashs, tiles "out-of-map" causes unable to place player and impossible to make profit). Thanks in advance.
bergi9
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 7:54 am

Re: Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Postby GeoStyx » Fri Jan 26, 2018 11:46 pm

This is awesome! Can't wait to play it with some friends tonight.
GeoStyx
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Postby GeoStyx » Sat Jan 27, 2018 2:31 am

Can't host game :( `control.lua:321: attempt to index field '?' (a nil value)`
GeoStyx
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Postby Fumelfo » Sat Jan 27, 2018 2:42 pm

Really fun game mode !
But I'll admit, i abuse of the /c game.speed 50 (and it stills feel less cheaty than installing factorissimo, which would ruin the experience :D)
User avatar
Fumelfo
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 11:53 am

Re: Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Postby Gergely » Sat Jan 27, 2018 10:32 pm

How do you place loaders in your scenario that load into containers? How do you flip loaders in the map editor?
User avatar
Gergely
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 400
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 8:31 pm

Re: Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Postby Klonan » Sat Jan 27, 2018 10:42 pm

Gergely wrote:How do you place loaders in your scenario that load into containers? How do you flip loaders in the map editor?


I set them with script manually
User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
 
Posts: 3187
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm

Re: Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Postby GeoStyx » Sun Jan 28, 2018 3:09 am

Well this was fun :D Making over $5M profit with ~$10-15k expenses. Here's my build: Image

Next time I think we will be banning Kovarex (and probably logi bots) lol.
GeoStyx
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Postby GeoStyx » Sun Jan 28, 2018 3:11 am

Fumelfo wrote:Really fun game mode !
But I'll admit, i abuse of the /c game.speed 50 (and it stills feel less cheaty than installing factorissimo, which would ruin the experience :D)


Interesting, I never really found myself waiting around. Always something to work on.
GeoStyx
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Postby bergi9 » Mon Jan 29, 2018 5:59 pm

@Klonan Thanks for the update
Btw: Energy seems to be free? I had 20MW beacons running and no production or consumption, and the cash didn't change. Also the calculation on the GUI is wrong too.
bergi9
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 7:54 am

Re: Factory Floor - Input/Output Idle game

Postby flyingkumquat » Wed Feb 07, 2018 5:00 pm

Seems like selling your starter items gives a huge boost, maybe you should start with nothing instead?

From a second post:
GeoStyx wrote:Next time I think we will be banning Kovarex (and probably logi bots) lol.

No reason to ban Kovarex really -- it takes 240k (in U235 alone) just to get 1 running, which is only a profit of just over 5k/m (not including the cost and effect of speed modules).
Besides, making Power armor MK2 makes significantly more money than Kovarex.
flyingkumquat
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 4:40 am

Grass floor in 0.16.36 stable?

Postby McFrye » Sun Apr 15, 2018 12:19 pm

Is it normal that at the beginning all the floor is grass and the map isn't working as usual?
McFrye
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:36 pm


Return to Maps and Scenarios

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest