Page 1 of 1
[2.0.14] Bots jumping / snapping backwards on Aquilo
Posted: Sun Nov 10, 2024 3:53 pm
by morganc
When robots divert to charge at roboport on Aquilo they are jumping backwards. See video attachment.
Seems to be purely visual gameplay is working perfectly otherwise.
Worker robot speed 6 researched.
Using Factorio 2.0.16 experimental / Steam / Linux.
Re: [2.0.14] Bots jumping / snapping backwards on Aquilo
Posted: Tue Nov 19, 2024 7:10 pm
by Loewchen
Looks like this is just the point they are all running out of
power so the position is corrected retroactively, see
https://factorio.com/blog/post/fff-421.
Re: [2.0.14] Bots jumping / snapping backwards on Aquilo
Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2024 4:27 pm
by DarkShadow44
Seems like it, but shouldn't running out of power immediately update the position to avoid such jumps?
Re: [2.0.14] Bots jumping / snapping backwards on Aquilo
Posted: Sat Nov 23, 2024 5:51 pm
by robot256
DarkShadow44 wrote: Wed Nov 20, 2024 4:27 pm
Seems like it, but shouldn't running out of
power immediately update the position to avoid such jumps?
The performance optimization means that it doesn't actually check the
power level at every point. Seems like it's not checking for how much
power is left until after it tries to subtract how much it would have used and sees it was too much. They might have done it that way to avoid an extra step of predicting whether it will run out of
power before the next update point. It does seem like it might be worth the tradeoff to make the visuals better though
Re: [2.0.14] Bots jumping / snapping backwards on Aquilo
Posted: Sat Dec 07, 2024 9:23 am
by morganc
The performance optimization should take the remaining power into account?
Re: [2.0.14] Bots jumping / snapping backwards on Aquilo
Posted: Tue Dec 10, 2024 4:59 pm
by morganc
An easy fix is also to reduce the robo energy drain on Aquilo

Re: [2.0.14] Bots jumping / snapping backwards on Aquilo
Posted: Wed Mar 19, 2025 1:55 pm
by kovarex
robot256 wrote: Sat Nov 23, 2024 5:51 pm
DarkShadow44 wrote: Wed Nov 20, 2024 4:27 pm
Seems like it, but shouldn't running out of
power immediately update the position to avoid such jumps?
The performance optimization means that it doesn't actually check the
power level at every point. Seems like it's not checking for how much
power is left until after it tries to subtract how much it would have used and sees it was too much. They might have done it that way to avoid an extra step of predicting whether it will run out of
power before the next update point. It does seem like it might be worth the tradeoff to make the visuals better though
Exactly:
It just takes the current speed (based on it being currently out of
power or not), and using it as predictor for the next step (which is X amount of ticks). But when the next step is done, it actually calculates how far can it get based on the
power, so the "naive" prediction is not precise.
The prediction logic could be improved in the future, but it is not a critical bug to make it a priority.