[MOD 0.15] Subterrain

Topics and discussion about specific mods
namek
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 5:14 pm
Contact:

[MOD 0.15] Subterrain

Post by namek »

Type: Mod
Name: Subterrain
Description: Adds a few tiers of underground belt/pipe that can go much farther than standard underground belts/pipes, and charges the player a number of belts/pipes based on the distance between the entrance and exit belt/pipe.
License: GNU GPLv3
Latest-Version: 0.4.1
Latest-Release: 2017-07-23
Tested-With-Factorio-Version: 0.15.x
Category: Alpha
Tags: Logistics
Download-Url: https://mods.factorio.com/mods/Gangsir/ ... /downloads
Website: https://bitbucket.com/Gangsir/subterrain

Description

Subterrain is a mod that adds a new spin on underground belts, subterranean belts. These belts are unique in that their specialized engineering allows them to travel a whopping 250 tiles underground. However, unlike standard issue underground belts that simply factor the length into the recipe, these belts cost the player belts based on distance, while the underground belt itself is cheap. This means no loss in efficiency by building short subterranean belts. The mod also adds pipes of a similar nature.

For more specialized documentation on the mod, see the wiki page of the github repository, here, and the readme of the repository.

I should note that this is my first mod. While this mod is unlikely to corrupt your save, it is always pertinent to keep backups in the event of issues, when installing any mod.
Screenshots
Downloads
Changelog



NOTE: This is not my MOD above, Author and current maintainer is Gangsir
But I have heavily modified it, below. And Rewritten control.lua file to work a bit different and removed 100 lines of redundant code.
You can still see bits of the same code, because I reused some algorithms.
I'm no modder, any revisions on the code are welcome.


[spoiler=Description of modified version]It no longer makes a wooden box. Belts and pipes goes back directly to your inventory.
All code after being destroyed was removed due to redundancy and probably will be sorted out when Official author of this MOD will appear.
It still uses icons of original author and changes he made to entities and prototypes. Author already made the changes.
[attachment=8]Subterrain_modified_0.0.1.zip[/attachment][/spoiler]

My own vision:
Is to replace default belts and pipes with these and remove all technology that original author added. (Modified version)
But I'll make many or easily customizable to satisfy most people.


Almost done, there is a bug though. If belts or pipes are built between already placed ones and connected to, then almost all amount of belts are lost, because logic returns belts between already connected ones and doesn't take into account (yet) that original belts were cut. Any ideas on how to accomplish it would be awesome
Subterrain_modified_0.2.0.zip
Updated to 0.15
(15.86 KiB) Downloaded 152 times
Changelog
Attachments
Subterrain_modified_0.1.1.zip
Fixed pipe bug
(16.06 KiB) Downloaded 148 times
Subterrain_modified_0.0.1.zip
Code was rewritten from 0.1.3 version (reuploaded, fixed filename)
(39.44 KiB) Downloaded 141 times
Last edited by namek on Sat Aug 12, 2017 12:13 pm, edited 30 times in total.
Diagonal Factorio
Can't download a mod from mods.factorio.com ? or want to mirror it somewhere else? I'll upload somewhere or directly send them to You.

Resistance.

User avatar
Philip017
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 356
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2016 11:21 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.14] Subterrain

Post by Philip017 »

not sure if this is the same mod as one posted on portal:
https://mods.factorio.com/mods/Gangsir/Subterrain
if it is suggest linking the portal to this forum topic for better discussion.

first, thanks for this very useful mod, it has cleared up my rather messy bus and made it look clean and well bare, lol

second i suggest that you make them upgrade from the previous so i am not left with a bunch of the previous when i upgrade
here is the modification i made to the recipe:

Code: Select all

      {
         type = "recipe",
         name = "subterranean-belt",
         enabled = false,
         energy_required = 1,
         ingredients =
            {
               {"iron-plate", 15},
               {"underground-belt", 2},
               {"iron-axe",1}
            },
         result_count = 2,
         result = "subterranean-belt",
         requester_paste_multiplier = 4
      },
      {
         type = "recipe",
         name = "fast-subterranean-belt",
         enabled = false,
         ingredients =
            {
               {"iron-gear-wheel", 20},
               {"subterranean-belt", 2},
               {"steel-axe",1}
            },
         result_count = 2,
         result = "fast-subterranean-belt",
         requester_paste_multiplier = 4
      },
      {
         type = "recipe",
         name = "express-subterranean-belt",
         category = "crafting-with-fluid",
         enabled = false,
         ingredients =
            {
               {"iron-gear-wheel", 40},
               {"fast-subterranean-belt", 2},
               {type="fluid", name="lubricant", amount=4},
               {"steel-axe",1}
            },
         result_count = 2,
         result = "express-subterranean-belt"
      },

namek
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 5:14 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.14] Subterrain

Post by namek »

Philip017 wrote:not sure if this is the same mod as one posted on portal:
https://mods.factorio.com/mods/Gangsir/Subterrain
if it is suggest linking the portal to this forum topic for better discussion.

first, thanks for this very useful mod, it has cleared up my rather messy bus and made it look clean and well bare, lol

second i suggest that you make them upgrade from the previous so i am not left with a bunch of the previous when i upgrade
here is the modification i made to the recipe:

Code: Select all

      {
         type = "recipe",
         name = "subterranean-belt",
         enabled = false,
         energy_required = 1,
         ingredients =
            {
               {"iron-plate", 15},
               {"underground-belt", 2},
               {"iron-axe",1}
            },
         result_count = 2,
         result = "subterranean-belt",
         requester_paste_multiplier = 4
      },
      {
         type = "recipe",
         name = "fast-subterranean-belt",
         enabled = false,
         ingredients =
            {
               {"iron-gear-wheel", 20},
               {"subterranean-belt", 2},
               {"steel-axe",1}
            },
         result_count = 2,
         result = "fast-subterranean-belt",
         requester_paste_multiplier = 4
      },
      {
         type = "recipe",
         name = "express-subterranean-belt",
         category = "crafting-with-fluid",
         enabled = false,
         ingredients =
            {
               {"iron-gear-wheel", 40},
               {"fast-subterranean-belt", 2},
               {type="fluid", name="lubricant", amount=4},
               {"steel-axe",1}
            },
         result_count = 2,
         result = "express-subterranean-belt"
      },
You are in the right place my friend. But I'm not creator of that mod, I don't have an access to change anything in Mod portal. All Credits go to the Author named Gangsir. Since I didn't like the mod itself, I've modified it and posted the modification here and original Mod as a credit to the real author.
Diagonal Factorio
Can't download a mod from mods.factorio.com ? or want to mirror it somewhere else? I'll upload somewhere or directly send them to You.

Resistance.

User avatar
Gangsir
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 4:50 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.14] Subterrain

Post by Gangsir »

Oh hey, I'm the mod creator of Subterrain. I didn't expect someone to do this (and giving me a heads up would have been nice), but it's all cool. :)

With your permission, I could merge in your fixes to my control scripting code, but I wish to keep the technologies and entities seperate from vanilla.
I'm an administrator over at the Factorio wiki. If you have any questions about the wiki, or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me. I'm on the subreddit (/r/factorio, /u/Gangsir) as well.

namek
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 5:14 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.14] Subterrain

Post by namek »

Gangsir wrote:Oh hey, I'm the mod creator of Subterrain. I didn't expect someone to do this (and giving me a heads up would have been nice), but it's all cool. :)

With your permission, I could merge in your fixes to my control scripting code, but I wish to keep the technologies and entities seperate from vanilla.
I apologize I haven't contacted you, I assumed that You no longer are into it and if I was wrong You'll find it here. You can use all my code as your own. But we have the same problem, if underground belts and pipes are cut using new underground belts and pipes logic fails for giving the right amount back. 0.1.0 version has the most optimized code, you can merge it using that. 0.0.1 was just to remove the boxes, didn't do much optimization and code isn't clean as you can see.

Also with your permission we can contact Moderators to give you first post in the thread and mine would be second for modified since it's still your idea.
Diagonal Factorio
Can't download a mod from mods.factorio.com ? or want to mirror it somewhere else? I'll upload somewhere or directly send them to You.

Resistance.

User avatar
Gangsir
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 4:50 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.14] Subterrain

Post by Gangsir »

namek wrote: But we have the same problem, if underground belts and pipes are cut using new underground belts and pipes logic fails for giving the right amount back.
Yeah, that's an issue that I could never find a clean solution to, because of how factorio's underground belt logic works. I guess it's fine though. Thanks for optimizing my code. I'll also fix recipes to use the previous tier, as many have complained.
I'm an administrator over at the Factorio wiki. If you have any questions about the wiki, or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me. I'm on the subreddit (/r/factorio, /u/Gangsir) as well.

User avatar
EstebanLB
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2013 3:00 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.14] Subterrain

Post by EstebanLB »

How come this feature is not in vanilla? Fixed cost underground belt and pipes makes no sense!!!

User avatar
Philip017
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 356
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2016 11:21 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.14] Subterrain

Post by Philip017 »

EstebanLB wrote:How come this feature is not in vanilla? Fixed cost underground belt and pipes makes no sense!!!
oh i totally love this mod, it just makes so much sense, to me at least. but that is why we have mods!

now we just need to have mods be easily sync-able per server. instead of manual since it's introduction. it usually is too much hassle to download individual mods

User avatar
KroshkaRoo
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 8:46 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.14_0.15] Subterrain

Post by KroshkaRoo »

namek wrote: But I'll make many or easily customizable to satisfy most people. Not Compatible with 0.15 until 0.15 becomes stable, unless someone really needs it, I'll make it upon request.[/i]
Aaaammmm... This is the Request.
I mean, can you update your vision for 0.15?

User avatar
KroshkaRoo
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 8:46 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.14_0.15] Subterrain

Post by KroshkaRoo »

I killed some time for this. But!
This is it. What I would like to see in the game. Subterrain_modified_0.1.1 for Factorio 0.15: https://yadi.sk/d/kk2kspIW3KxP3t
Works perfect for my game.
All credits to namek and Gangsir

User avatar
EstebanLB
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2013 3:00 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.14_0.15] Subterrain

Post by EstebanLB »

KroshkaRoo wrote:I killed some time for this. But!
This is it. What I would like to see in the game. Subterrain_modified_0.1.1 for Factorio 0.15: https://yadi.sk/d/kk2kspIW3KxP3t
Works perfect for my game.
All credits to namek and Gangsir
Awesome! I'll test it later and send feedback if I find something
Thanks!

User avatar
KroshkaRoo
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 8:46 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.14_0.15] Subterrain

Post by KroshkaRoo »

It seems like I fix auto-build and auto-deconstruction of underground belts by drones or by BlueBuild. And now it shows how many more things are needed, if construction fails.
Subterrain_modified_0.2.2 for Factorio 0.15: https://yadi.sk/d/Z3T1YKGI3LRsSo
Works perfect for my game.
All credits to namek and Gangsir

jimmiles
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 7:26 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.14_0.15] Subterrain

Post by jimmiles »

The discussion here viewtopic.php?f=92&t=14781&p=300601&hil ... in#p300597 may help you chase down a bug.

Love the mod!
-Jim

User avatar
KroshkaRoo
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 8:46 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.14_0.15] Subterrain

Post by KroshkaRoo »

jimmiles wrote:The discussion here viewtopic.php?f=92&t=14781&p=300601&hil ... in#p300597 may help you chase down a bug.

Love the mod!
-Jim
My version works with upgrade planer fine too. Try it.
But they replace original underground belts. (But who do they need???)

namek
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 5:14 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.14_0.15] Subterrain

Post by namek »

EstebanLB wrote:
KroshkaRoo wrote:I killed some time for this. But!
This is it. What I would like to see in the game. Subterrain_modified_0.1.1 for Factorio 0.15: https://yadi.sk/d/kk2kspIW3KxP3t
Works perfect for my game.
All credits to namek and Gangsir
Awesome! I'll test it later and send feedback if I find something
Thanks!
Hello, yeah sorry, I'm very busy these days, soon I'll update it.

Edit: Done! Enjoy.
Diagonal Factorio
Can't download a mod from mods.factorio.com ? or want to mirror it somewhere else? I'll upload somewhere or directly send them to You.

Resistance.

User avatar
KroshkaRoo
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 8:46 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Subterrain

Post by KroshkaRoo »

Hello there!
Need update to 0.16.
I have a trouble with underground pipes. They not recognize correct second part.

Bilka
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 3127
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 9:20 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Subterrain

Post by Bilka »

KroshkaRoo wrote:Hello there!
Need update to 0.16.
I have a trouble with underground pipes. They not recognize correct second part.
I updated the mod because Gangsir gave me permission to do so: 55740
I'm an admin over at https://wiki.factorio.com. Feel free to contact me if there's anything wrong (or right) with it.

User avatar
KroshkaRoo
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 8:46 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Subterrain

Post by KroshkaRoo »

Here is my version of Subterrain_Modified by namek
Simply replaces standard underground belts and pipes with modified.
Subterrain_modified_0.3.2 for Factorio 0.16: https://yadi.sk/d/d9--Ak-93R5cj9
All credits to namek and Gangsir

namek
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 5:14 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Subterrain

Post by namek »

Sorry Guys, haven't even tried 0.16 yet. I always wait until version is finished, because lots of stuff continues too change over short period of time.
Diagonal Factorio
Can't download a mod from mods.factorio.com ? or want to mirror it somewhere else? I'll upload somewhere or directly send them to You.

Resistance.

User avatar
KroshkaRoo
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 8:46 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Subterrain

Post by KroshkaRoo »

Hello!
Here is my version of Subterrain_Modified by namek
Simply replaces standard underground belts and pipes with modified.
Subterrain_modified_0.4.0 for Factorio 0.17: https://yadi.sk/d/gSjCOjuUbSg0Dw
All credits to namek and Gangsir

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”